We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rhino Residency Resort
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
301 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Very average, but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Rhino Residence, as part of a group trip through Nepal, (not the Rhino Lodge – there seems to be some confusion there) and were quite satisfied even if the hotel it not up to the highest standards. When arriving, after hours on the bumpy road from Kathmandu, the hotel seems like heaven. However, after a while you realize it is not a luxury resort as advertised and it certainly does not meet the expectations created by the reviews I read before arriving.
The best thing about the hotel is the location. For although it does not offer any views of the river, it is close to the river, about 2-3 minutes on foot, which means you can easily go out at night for shopping or a drink or a meal. The village has a surprisingly active nightlife, which is good since the hotel-bar closes down very very early.
There are about 5-6 rooms to each concrete lodge-building, spread in a circle. The rooms are relatively large, but have a very tired look and are not very comfortable. Two separate beds, no complimentary water bottles. No telephone, no blow drier (though we were given one on request). Complimentary hot water bottle, however, each night in bed, which was perfect, since it got really cold. Can’t remember whether there was an A/C installed, but I know that we did not have the option of using it. No safe, no mini fridge. And certainly no own fishpond to each room, as the site declares.
Bathroom: No complimentary toiletries at all. Appears dirty. Plus, top-part of window has no glass, so consequently:
1) You hear each and every sound from all the other bathrooms (there is something like an atrium in the middle of the lodge.
2) The room gets icy-cold at night, even if you close the bathroom door.
Frequent power-outages, and while the hotel has a generator, taking a shower is not always possible as the generator supports only basic functions.
At some point, after 11 pm, even the generator stopped working, which meant we could not recharge cell phone and camera batteries.
Breakfast: self-service, but little choice.
Other meals: self-service, little choice.
Pool: small, needed cleaning
Free wi-fi, but very slow

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

What a pleasure to arrive here - after driving along bumpy roads, through a major festival which made us late. However - the hotel had waited to serve us a late lunch - so a good start. The food was very acceptable and the service (self) good. The room was spacious and there was hot water - although slow in filling the bath - it was possible. The beds were comfortable and clean. The elephant safari in the early morning was a definite high, we saw rhino, bear, deer and monkey and loved every minute. The dugout canoe ride was also very enjoyable - with much bird spotting, as well as croc and ghariel. Walking around was comfortable. Air conditioning worked - although there were a few power outs - when the generator cut in - and the AC was off. 3 nights there was just right.

Room Tip: The rooms were arranged in hexagons - with bathrooms on the inside - so you could hear other people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_c_piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

After a 6 day trek we wanted to get out of overcast Pokhara so our trekking company booked us into the Rhino Residency Resort for 2 nights. After a sometimes bumpy car ride we got caught up in the local town fair which probably added over an hour to our journey, arriving after 2pm. We were told a little about the hotel and the planned activities before then being served a pleasant lunch with very good portions. All other meals were self serve with limited choice but nice enough and plenty of it. We were asked on arrival if we had any special dietary needs and they can certainly cope with vegetarians, not sure what they would do for someone with more complex needs ie coeliac.
Activities included were ox cart ride, local village visit, elephant breeding center, elephant ride, elephant bathing (you can go in the water with them if you want), jungle walk, canoe ride, slide show about the park and cultural dancing.
The setting of the hotel was lovely with pretty gardens and a great place for ornithologists. They have a pool that looks like something out of an English stately home and some sitting areas dotted around the grounds - just watch out for the mosquitoes. Mossie killers are provided in the rooms.
Our room was clean and the twin beds were very comfortable. Amazingly we had a bath which was great after the trek to relax in. All rooms have A/C and satellite TV . When the power goes they have a generator to take over.
If you do not wish to take part in an activity tell your guide as the staff are very persistent in hammering on your door to ensure you don't miss out!
On our elephant ride / jungle walk / canoe ride we saw a couple of rhino, a couple of deer, a Sloth bear, monkeys, crocodiles and birds.
If you're hoping to see a tiger I don't think they are in this area of the park but if it is dry I believe you can take a jeep trip further into the park to look for tigers.
It's about $300/per person for 3 days / 2 nights stay here including the activities and meals, not sure if you could get it as room only.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed here in May 2010 for one night. Arranged the elephant ride/elephant shower via the staff at the desk. Hotel was clean and AIR CONDITIONED! Our first place with A/C during our two weeks in Nepal, so it was wonderful! Pool is nice, considering few places had pools in Nepal. Some cheesy fake animal decorating on the grounds, but well maintained grounds otherwise. Restaurant was okay. Nothing really fancy. Nice and close to riverside, which was great in the evening to watch the sun set and see the elephants baths happening. I thought the Chitwan area was quite beautfiul. Elephant shower was definately one the highlights for me on this trip.Hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineKid80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauraha
0.4 km away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#2 of 11 in Sauraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 11 in Sauraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Sauraha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sapana Village Lodge
Sapana Village Lodge
#1 of 26 in Sauraha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
2.1 km away
Green Park Chitwan
Green Park Chitwan
#1 of 15 in Chitwan National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.4 km away
Baghmara Wildlife Resort
Baghmara Wildlife Resort
#8 of 11 in Sauraha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhino Residency Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhino Residency Resort

Property: The Rhino Residency Resort
Address: Sauraha Road, Sauraha 32909, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Sauraha
Price range (per night): $59 - $67
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rhino Residency Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rhino Residency Resort, an exciting combination of luxury and wildlife adventure in Chitwan National Park, which started its operation from January 2000. The RRR with its ideal location at Sauraha, a minute's walk away from the Chitwan National Park, can be reached by four hours picturesque drive from Kathmandu. The C.N.P. known the over for being one of the most, well-managed parks in Asia, is home for more than 550 varied species of birds, the Great Asian one-horned rhinoceros, the Bengal tiger, the leopard, the sloth bear besides deer, monkeys, crocodiles and other small mammals. Our resort offers you three guest blocks, each comprising of 08 air-conditioned and well-furnished rooms with attached baths with 24 hours hot and cold water supply. Each room has a veranda. Our restaurant serves Indian, Chinese, Nepalese and Continental cuisine and our bar boasts of the world's best beverages. In the midst of the serenity of our beautiful garden, lies a swimming pool surrounded by thatched umbrella shades and hammock. Our well-trained staff is always at your service, ever ready to offer you the best in services and hospitality. We offer you nature walks, briefing about elephants, bathing with them and elephant ride safari. Slide show presentations, tharu cultural dance programmes, village tours, jungle excursions, jungle drives, bird watching tours and other wildlife related and cultural activities besides the use of our other facilities like our swimming pool, badminton court, tennis court, library, mini museum, conference room (for 40 people) and more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Rhino Residency Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing