We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
2
3
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
3
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinle lakesagarpagodavillageaccommodationmarketboat
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This is a tiny lodge at the southern end of Inle lake little visited by the masses. Best access is by boat and even then the approach to the property has "interesting" issues depending on the season. there a only a couple of bungalows, which are well equipped and comfortable for an overnight stay in this lovely area. even the WiFi is very acceptable by Myanmars low standards.
Food is good although some of the staff are a little difficult to communicate with. Local beer and wine is available. Breakfast is great too.
If you need your 5* comfort, this is not for you, if you can accept a homely atmosphere, good food and friendly people in a village setting you'll b e more than happy, we were.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

This is a delightful boutique hotel in southern Inle that provides access to an authentic rural Burmese village. And the hotel with traditionally carved wood interiors is far removed from the soulless identical tourist traps that have over-commercialised the northern part of Inle 20 miles north.
Little Lodge sits in the heart of Samkar, a rural lakeside village that plays host to the 5-day market that rotates around 5 villages on the southern lake. The market is a treat for the eyes where traders of Shan, Pa-o and Intha origin, often in traditional headdress intermingle. Little Lodge sits along the lakeside and the views from its open air restaurant over the lake are as much a feast as the country-style food it serves (the eggplant salad and avocado salads are especially good and generously sized). The best rooms are the wood-panelled bungalows with verandahs overlooking the garden where chickens really are free range as they scratch around the vegetable patch shaded by banana trees.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We had chosen to stay 3 nights at Samkar Little Lodge in the southern part of Inle Lakes. The boat trip down to Samkar was unbelievable serene and highly recommendable, and Samkar itself was a nice little rural spot. The hotel was nice, in particular the upper terrace and the garden as well as the rooms/bungalows towards the garden – we had a nice room towards the garden and enjoyed the afternoon sun from our little terrace. The rooms on the opposite side of the house had very little light/sun and the generator was on that side, hence we were happy not to stay there.

The restaurant served surprisingly great Myanmar food and as it was my friend’s birthday while we stayed there I had asked if they could find a birthday cake for her, which they did and which we happily shared with the other guests and staff – really nice of the staff to organise it!

Though we understand it was a rural setting, we still felt the cleaning of the place and in particular of the rooms could have been better. Furthermore, the place offered little privacy as you can hear everything being said in the rooms next door and upstairs and given how easy sounds travel in the place it didn’t provide the tranquil place we had expected, but we still enjoyed our stay and relaxed in the pretty surroundings.

The staff were very sweet and accommodating, but unfortunately, no one really spoke English, which made it very difficult to get any advice on what to do and what to see in the area – and there was no written information material available at least at that time. We made a bit of research ourselves and found that there were the most wonderful pagodas on the other side of the lake as well as a small Sake distillery, which we went to visit and which I can highly recommend. The staff helped us organise a boat to visit the place. We would also have loved to cycle around in the rural area, but unfortunately there were no bicycles available at the place, but it would make a great addition to the place.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We boated across the lake from That Kaung Pagoda to here. This guest house is really the only available accommodation in the village of Samkar aka Sagar. It consists of six rooms near the reception desk and two bungalows. Our family of four was in the two bungalows and our guide stayed in one of the rooms. There are no TVs or phones in the rooms and bungalows, but other than that, we had everything we needed in our bungalows. They were bright and clean with hardwood floors and there were two beds with mosquito netting in each of the bungalows. Each bungalow had a bathroom and a small veranda. There was free wifi, but we found that we only got signal by the reception area. We ate dinner and breakfast there and both meals were fine, although there was only powdered milk available for tea and coffee. The owner spoke limited English but she was really kind. One of our twins went off to explore and ended up joining in a soccer game that the local kids were playing nearby. Our other twin was fascinated with the neighbour's pig that kept poking his head through the fence. There is not a lot around this lodge, but we thought that that was the beauty of it. In the morning we biked with our guide to the nearby market (about 5 minutes away) and that was really fascinating. This is a real local market, selling fresh produce, including meat from freshly slaughtered animals. After our visit to the market, we spent about five hours biking to the town of Nampan. NOTE: Take earplugs if you're planning to stay. We were awoken about 3:30 by roosters that crowed continually for hours. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, but with earplugs!

Room Tip: Book one of the bungalows
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nojoNbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

In this case rating (from 1 to 5) is nonsense, because this is the only accomodation in Samkar, a beautiful real rural village in the southern part of Inle lake in Myanmar. This means no tourist, but also some discomfort. Straw walls of the room make you feel like there's no walls, different types of noisy roosters, pigs and dogs woke me up at 4:30. An unconfortable experience that I really enjoyed. Good breakfast on the terrace and then departure.
Villages on stilts and farmers and fishermen, a world apart of other times where the river is useful for making the laundry, washing themselves and the dishes,

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank guduains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews