We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$209
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,592)
Filter reviews
2,592 results
Traveller rating
1,505
671
233
119
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,505
671
233
119
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chapel street spoonbill restaurant studio suite location is great room service mini bar yarra river across the road public transport spoonbills melbourne kitchenette prints tram pillows cbd cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,592 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2023 via mobile

It’s a really nice, clean modern hotel in a good location with a nice restaurant and great staff in all areas. There are plenty of other dining options within walking distance and the Prahran market is also very close by. Trams run outside the door and South Yarra station is only about 500 metres away.

Room tip: Parking is a bit tight numbers wise
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2023

Worst night sleep ever. Amazing hotel, just don’t stay in room 503. The noise was unbearable.

I have stayed at The Olsen at least a dozen times or more pre-Covid. And loved it.

Travelling for business on a Wednesday night I asked for a quiet room. We arrived late around 9pm, after flight delays. So maybe that was all that was left as I was told the hotel was full.

But I literally had no sleep. There was no sound proofing. Cars with V8 engines were driving up and down Chapel St all night and the windows literately reverberated. Managed to get tops 4 hours sleep before the trams started and motorcycles around 5.30am.

It’s a great hotel. But this was probably the worst night sleep I ever have had in a hotel. Check what room you are staying in first.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
Thank sophief981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2023 via mobile

Nice rooms
clean room
Great staff
lovely hotel, fantastic price,
easy check in and out
Fantastic location, close to transport and shops
Art work was interesting and well displayed
Bed was comfortable
Kitchenette could be better equiped .
I would stay again.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tanya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2023

Very comfortable bed and pillow. Good size room with everything you need. Excellent location and very good restaurant. Bonus for us was a window that could open letting fresh air into room. That makes it a bit noisy but great if you like fresh air.

Room tip: Public transport very close.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2023

comfortable bed, aircon, bedding and room layout. well positioned hotel.
pool warm but would do well with a spa which we were disappointed as booked thinking we saw a spa on hotel gallery images and nil available

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank freny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews