We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Whale watching

Very friendly and obliging staff. There's no guarantee as there never is, but the staff together... read more

Reviewed 1 October 2018
ces c
via mobile
Excellent whale watching from a traditional boat

We went on the afternoon trip and were very lucky with the weather, nearly flat calm and relatively... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2018
VVA
,
Durham
Read all 148 reviews
  
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
130
16
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
16
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching humpback whales hot chocolate tour leaving cinnamon buns warm clothes experienced captain nice trip an incredible experience small boat a lot of fun bad weather north sailing two hours private tour fjord crew
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We went on the afternoon trip and were very lucky with the weather, nearly flat calm and relatively warm. You are supplied with a thermal suit to wear which also acts as a lifejacket. Staff are very helpful, knowledgable and friendly. We had several sightings of a humpback whale over the two hour trip, some at very close quarters. The guide provided facts and information on the whale and it's behaviour throughout the trip. Hot chocolate and cinnamon buns were provided on the return journey. Based on our experiences we recommend this company to anyone looking for a whale watching trip.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank VVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Went on their whale watching trip 2 days ago.
Wow, they certainly deliver on whale sightings. We saw at least 10 and very a playful one, that stayed on the surface for a long time, even saw the whale jump out of the water.
The boat is very sturdy and the wet suits keep you dry and warm.
The boat had just left the dock when we had our first sighting.
We recommend doing this tour, they are professional very informative on whales.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank SinbadandFirstmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

This was the highlight of our two week honeymoon around Iceland!! Absolutely go! We went in September, and we saw at least three humpback whales and a minke whale. We originally tried to go on a tour in Husavik with North Sailing, but due to very rough waters, they highly recommended that we return the next day and go to Hjalteyri instead near Akureyri. We are so glad we did! The water was calm, the day was actually sunny, and we saw so many whales! There were only about 11 people on our boat as well. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, and gave a running commentary in English during the trip. When a whale was spotted, the captain of the ship got as close as possible and then turned off the engine so we could enjoy the sights and sounds of the whales. On the way back, they gave us delicious hot chocolate and cinnamon buns. We wore warm clothes because we were worried about being cold, but they gave us special warm, windproof suits to wear, so I actually ended up being hot because of the pleasant weather. At times I think we were fewer than 30 feet away from a whale. I’m fairly confident this will be the best whale watching experience of my life ever possible! :-)

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Kaymtravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrín Birna V, Ticket Office at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Dear KayMacTravel,

Thank you so much for this kind review, I'm very glad that you enjoyed our tour here in Hjalteyri!

Best regards,
Kata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We originally planned to depart from Husavik, but the staff firmly discouraged us from doing so due to very rough waters. We had pre-paid, and I was impressed by the options that they offered--go (and risk a miserable trip), try later in the afternoon, drive to calmer waters in Hjalteyri, or get a refund. It worked for us to go to Hjaltyri and we had a very pleasant and successful day. We had repeated, very close looks at 2 humpbacks and one distant view of 2 bottlenose--a rarer event.Tips: If you are in the front of the boat, and near the rail, you will be sprayed. They move the boat to try to optimize views for all people in the boat. If you can take cold winds and standing for the whole trip, your best view might be at the very top--you will need to be in the front of the line to secure a spot there. Its a long, and for us uneventful ride out to where whales are likely to be. If you would rather drive than travel by boat, you might look for a vendor farther north. The staff were great--organized, friendly, informative, and they serve good cocoa!

Date of experience: June 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrín Birna V, Ticket Office at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Dear Katleen L,

Thank you so much for your kind review, I'm very glad you decided to join us here in Hjalteyri and that you were able to enjoy the tour!

Best regards,
Kata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Hjalteyri whale watching offers an nice trip with small groups and excellent english speaking guide, we saw a humpbackwhale, drank hot coco with a cinnamonroll, all equipment to stay dry and warm was taken care of. All together a nice experience.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Antoinette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrín Birna V, Ticket Office at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Antoinette W,

Thank you so much for your review, I'm so glad that you enjoyed the tour!

Best regards,
Kata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews