We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Company”

Whale Watching Hjalteyri
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Hjalteyri
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hjalteyri is a well kept secret in the heart of North Iceland, only a 15 minute drive from Akureyri. Step aboard our traditional oak boat, Knorrinn, and enjoy a quiet sailing in the calm seas of Eyjafjorður, This tour gives you the unique opportunity to get in touch with the great wildlife of the North, including whales and seabirds, all under the guidance and expertise of our most qualified crew.
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We originally planned to depart from Husavik, but the staff firmly discouraged us from doing so due to very rough waters. We had pre-paid, and I was impressed by the options that they offered--go (and risk a miserable trip), try later in the afternoon, drive to calmer waters in Hjalteyri, or get a refund. It worked for us to go to Hjaltyri and we had a very pleasant and successful day. We had repeated, very close looks at 2 humpbacks and one distant view of 2 bottlenose--a rarer event.Tips: If you are in the front of the boat, and near the rail, you will be sprayed. They move the boat to try to optimize views for all people in the boat. If you can take cold winds and standing for the whole trip, your best view might be at the very top--you will need to be in the front of the line to secure a spot there. Its a long, and for us uneventful ride out to where whales are likely to be. If you would rather drive than travel by boat, you might look for a vendor farther north. The staff were great--organized, friendly, informative, and they serve good cocoa!

Date of experience: June 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrín Birna V, Ticket Office at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Dear Katleen L,

Thank you so much for your kind review, I'm very glad you decided to join us here in Hjalteyri and that you were able to enjoy the tour!

Best regards,
Kata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"whale watching"
in 35 reviews
"humpback whales"
in 14 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 10 reviews
"tour leaving"
in 2 reviews
"cinnamon buns"
in 6 reviews
"warm clothes"
in 4 reviews
"experienced captain"
in 2 reviews
"nice trip"
in 3 reviews
"an incredible experience"
in 2 reviews
"small boat"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 2 reviews
"bad weather"
in 2 reviews
"north sailing"
in 4 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"private tour"
in 2 reviews
"fjord"
in 12 reviews
"crew"
in 19 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Hjalteyri whale watching offers an nice trip with small groups and excellent english speaking guide, we saw a humpbackwhale, drank hot coco with a cinnamonroll, all equipment to stay dry and warm was taken care of. All together a nice experience.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Antoinette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrín Birna V, Ticket Office at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Antoinette W,

Thank you so much for your review, I'm so glad that you enjoyed the tour!

Best regards,
Kata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018


Everything was great, an unforgettable adventure! We saw 4 whales very close! The best excursion in Iceland. The weather was bad, very windy, but the company gave out a special costume, so it was not cold.

Date of experience: June 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank makretskayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldur J, Ticket sale at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear makretskayan

Thank you for the review, glad you enjoyed the tour even though the weather was bad!

best regards
-Baldur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Since May is apparently not the best whale watching season I guess we should have been thankful we saw one at all if only the back and flukes. That said, the company we went with was great. The boat was stable, the crew was very knowledgeable and welcoming and the rest of the experience was wonderful. I would choose them again, but pick a time of year when you are more likely to see more whales!

Date of experience: May 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldur J, Ticket sale at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Hi Colleen!

Thank you for the review, I hope you enjoyed the trip!

best regards
-Baldur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We initially booked the whale watching at Husavik and due to bad weather condition we were informed to change to this location to catch the whales. We were disappointed at first as our itineraries got to change but they guaranteed that the whale watching would continued as the weather over at Hjalteyri was much better compared to Husavik. We were very lucky to catch not only one but 3 whales in total. I like the fact that North sailing had another option for us and they were quick to inform customers on the changes as weather in Iceland is pretty unpredictable. Even though our itineraries had to make minor changes but whale watching was something that shouldn't be missed in Iceland. We also enjoyed the hot chocolate and buns at the end of the tour. It was an amazing experience and we would recommend North Sailing to all.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank aprilphang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldur J, Ticket sale at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Hi aprilphang!

Thank you for the review, I am glad that you enjoyed our tour even though there were some changes.

best regards

-Baldur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whale Watching Hjalteyri also viewed

 
Akureyri, Northeast Region
 

Been to Whale Watching Hjalteyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing