We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Whale watching

Very friendly and obliging staff. There's no guarantee as there never is, but the staff together... read more

Reviewed 1 October 2018
ces c
via mobile
Amazing 35 miles from the arctic circle

A fantastic and exciting experience! In 3 hrs we saw 6 whales up close and personal. The ship was... read more

Reviewed 27 September 2018
TheCmdr
,
Washington DC
Read all 148 reviews
  
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
130
16
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
16
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching humpback whales hot chocolate tour leaving cinnamon buns warm clothes experienced captain nice trip an incredible experience small boat a lot of fun bad weather north sailing two hours private tour fjord crew
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We had a blast looking for humpback whales. It was really windy and cold that morning so we were worried we would be freezing on the boat but they gave us warm jumpers so bundle up in. This was great for our young kids ages 6,4, and 1 because the water isn’t rough in this area. There were lots of whales out and about so the kids were very entertained. They also gave out some hot chocolate towards the end of the tour. We ate at the little restaurant next door to the dock after and it was delicious.

Date of experience: June 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 389Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldur J, Ticket sale at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Mary

Thank you so much for the review, great to hear that you enjoyed the tour so muhc!

best regards
-Baldur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Nice old fishing boat, good personnel! Saw the whales, even the tale. We were lucky, we had almost private tour

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Susanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldur J, Ticket sale at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Susanna

Thank you for the review, i'm so glad you enjoyed the tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We visited Iceland in June 2018. Weather was nice and during this short trip we saw three whales 4-5 times during thier breathings. We recommend this trip for everyone.

Date of experience: June 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Inesaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrín Birna V, Ticket Office at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Inesaru,

Thank you so much for your review, I'm very glad that you enjoyed the tour!

Best regards,
Kata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Weather was great and it was the beginning of the season & we saw many whales! Had a lot of fun chasing them to get a better view! Crew was friendly & knowledgeable. Value for money & not crowded so it was a great experience!

Date of experience: June 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank fo0tprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrín Birna V, Ticket Office at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Footprints,

Thank you so much for your review, I'm very glad that you enjoyed the tour!

Best regards,
Kata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

I really enjoyed our small whale watching trip! We drove around 10 minutes and discovered a whale, which we followed for 90 minutes. The crew was super nice and the captain very experienced. In the end of the trip we also got some nice drinks. It was a very memorable experience and I can highly recommend North Sailing!

Date of experience: June 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank dariola2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrín Birna V, Ticket Office at Whale Watching Hjalteyri, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Dariola,

Thank you so much for your kind review, I'm very glad you enjoyed following the whale!

Best regards,
Kata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews