We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Giant family home with everything you could wish...”
other travellers have booked this property
terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
terrace
living room dining area (kitchen) with a river view and an entry to the terrace with pool and BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
terrace
living room
dining area (kitchen) with a river view and an entry to the terrace with pool and BBQ
living room
cozy atmosphere
confolens
bbq area
terrace
children enjoy the pool
very relaxing
kitchen
Welcome in  !!!!
entry hall
powder room
chambre 4
chambre 3
bedroom 3 - twin
children's room
river view from children's  bedroom window
pink bathroom
blue bathroom
laundry room
laundry room
medieval city, Confolens
ruined castle 5 min drive away from the house
confolens
confolens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Confolens, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
jim_linco...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Giant family home with everything you could wish for”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

It's a giant 4 bed-roomed house with 3 bathrooms. The lounge is magnificent with it's wooden beams and space, and off-shot study area complete with printer. Wi-Fi is fast and easy to access. The TV is a giant with 3D and internet access. The kitchen is probably the area that needs a little work but not much as it has all the necessary appliances and every utensil you could dream of. There is even a separate laundry room upstairs complete with washing/drier and ironing board/iron. The dining room easily seats 8 people and overlooks the small pool, which although it could do with a makeover, is perfectly acceptable and an enjoyable area. The house is almost home from home as every room is furnished with accessories never found in rental properties. The hostess, who lives in the annex next door, is gracious and welcoming. As a family residence, it's one of the best in France. One huge advantage is the very short distance from the centre of Confolens although the supermarkets are a short drive away (as usual in France). I cannot point out any drawbacks with this property as long as you take it as it is - a family home, not a pristine modern shell, without character. It's absolutely wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thank you Janice from the heart for a such wonderful review. You are so lovely couple and l had a great pleasure to have you as a guests. Thank you for you present , it reminds me every day of you. Thank you for that little changement in the children's room...l keep the furniture your way and l like it. Wish you all the best and a lot of happiness. You are always welcome here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew e
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The best French holiday we've ever had.”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for 10 days and really wanted a relaxing holiday with enough for three active children to enjoy.

The house is absolutely beautiful. Big bedrooms and large windows with either views of the river or over the pool. We stayed during the Confolens folk festival and both the atmosphere and entertainment were brilliant with musicians from over 18 countries coming to the town.

The pool was the right size for all 5 of us to play in (though it could have fitted more) and, yes the wi-fi worked well which you do need for a modern family.The house also had shutters that gave shade from the sun - it was 34 degrees most days although we understand you can never plan for the weather.

The owner lives next door in a discrete hidden annexe and we found Madame Caro to be very helpful and information. She helped us navigate our way through the festival and was very generous.

Confolens came alive during the Festival but even afterwards it has great shops (Butcher/Baker/Grocer) The Supermarket is on the edge of town which we walked to. (20 mins)

The town has a stunning Medieval quarter and bridge and there's a lot to see and do.

We had an absolutely fantastic time staying in a real French home with beautiful rooms and furniture in every room. If I could I'd buy this house.

You might feel its a long drive down from a Northern port but with a combination of Peage Motorways its probably only 5 1/2 hours and well worth it especially if like us you get amazing weather. If you've got a dog I'd also recommend the Dog friendly Portsmouth/Le Harve crossing where Dogs can stay in cabins.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is absolutely beautiful.
Liked least: I wish we'd found it years ago.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Dear all of you, Thank you from the heart for your review. I was very happy to have you at my house. You are such a lovely family, l'd wish to see you again. Wish all of you a good luck and much happiness.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtenny10
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well-equipped house with a nice little pool, in a nice town.”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a very enjoyable stay in the house. There is parking area directly across from the house which is very convenient. It’s not too much to look at from the outside, but it’s full of character from the inside. It’s over 3 levels – entry hall and garage on the ground floor, living area and garden on 1st floor, bedrooms on the top floor. There is a lot going on in the house – and the kids enjoyed exploring it! It is very well equipped – from kitchen & laundry equipment, piano, office (with printer!) and loads of board games & books & DVD’s to keep the kids entertained. The smart TV is wonderful and the wifi is ideal. Most of the time was spend in the pool area. There were plenty of seats & loungers and there were loads of inflatables. There was no shortage of towels – a good thing as the kids were in and out of the pool all day, every day. With 3 WC’s, there is was never a queue for the bathroom. Confolens is a nice old town – with a selection of boulangeries and other shops a few minutes walk away. There are a few large supermarkets within 10 min drive (Lidl/Intermarche/Leader Price). There are not too many activities in the immediate surroundings for the young kids, but there are a few nice places in the vicinity – a highlight was the man-made lake (with lifegaurds and changing facilities) at Roumazieres. (We got lost trying to find it, but here are the Google co-ords if you’re interested: 45.8738, 0.5859). All-in-all, a nice place to stay, very reasonably priced, and Karolina is very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Dear David and the whole family, thank you so much for your review. I'm really happy you liked your stay in my house. You are very lovely people. Thanks again to chose Holiday home Caro's. Wish you all the best, Karolina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Hi Leanne, Thank you so much for your review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay at my house. You are really lovely lady, and it was a pleasure to meet you. Wish you all the best, Karolina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
snodmel
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastically appointed villa in the most beautiful medeavil town.”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Having the most amazing week. Rooms, pool, location and amenities all excellent. Kitchen full of everything you could need and more. Thank you so much

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for choosing my house. In my turn want to say, you are very pleasant people...Have a lot of pleasure to have you in my house. Enjoy your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing