We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
59
45
13
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
45
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews viewing platform sugar gliders night viewing atherton tablelands close range a slight musty smell short drive bedroom lodge abundant bird life fantastic spot brush turkey bush turkeys self contained accommodation beautiful lake every evening plenty of hot water fantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

An amazing opportunity to see sugar gliders and striped possum close up from a comfortable viewing shelter.

Incredible hosts who expanded our booking at short notice. Cooked
up a feast of salad and steak bought locally at Yungaburra which we ate on the veranda accompanied by brush turkeys. The rifle birds put on a flirtatious display and the whip birds serenaded us.

We headed down to the hide around 8pm but became pessimistic briefly as steady drizzle washed down the trees, but at just after 930 it was central station with flying sugar gliders and a curious striped possum.

Absolutely brilliant!

Earlier we did attempt to see platypus but instead found leaping leeches. Did not put us off!

Bed comfortable, cabin warm and clean. Bonus was a small load of laundry attended by our host!

Thank you!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank JaneMark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Lots to like with the animal life, particularly with the possums at night. If you are here for the accommodation and
amenities, you will be very disappointed. It needs a lot more love and attention but with the prices charged, it would be hard to
invest any money so they are trapped.
Old rooms, poor fittings, bad cooking utensils, not much to like but to make it worse, when they gave me the key to
our room, it was obvious it hadn’t been serviced for days and they didn’t even know it.
Some rooms have wifi, others don’t so if this is important, be sure to ask.
Well located, close to Lake Eacham and Yungaburra, it’s ok for a short visit if you can accept the basic accommodation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Beautifull location in rainforest,abundant bird life and marsupials special viewing areas,wildlife all around all lodges. Rustic feel and clean lodge accomodation whit all you need for a comfortable stay. Exceptional helpful and friendy staff.Best experience in Tabelands ever.Hope to visit next year again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Heinz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

We spent 1 night at this lodge and wished we spent much longer.The lodge has excellent rainforest extending from the carpark and has been very well managed. We saw many excellent marsupials and birds at close range.Highly recommended. The night viewing wildlife platform was phenomenal , with Sugar Gliders floating in from above.At breakfast Victorias Riflebirds ( a Bird of Paradise) and Spotted Catbirds joined us!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Barnes2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. The good points are it's rainforest location, the size of the rooms, information provided and the gliders viewing area. However as others have said with a little tlc it could be much better. We had problems with no hot water which was an issue when going on an early tour. It appeared this happens frequently but was quickly fixed once reported. The rooms do have a strange odour, which I don't think the airfresheners helped. I appreciate that a dampness will occur in this type of environment but have stayed in similar areas which don't have this issue. It was very cold when we visited despite the small portable heater. Also questioned on check out about payment despite this being taken by the same person 2 days earlier, which was disappointing.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ATraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews