We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing experience with Saleh and his family”
other travellers have booked this property
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
128 reviews
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area
family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
trekking and camel-riding are easy options from the camp
the setting is as natural and tranquil and protected as you can imagine
the bedouin symbol of hospitality is the coffee pot
We have just (late 2013) installed new showers and wash basins, at the desert camp
Wadi Rum is famous for its spectacular rock bridges
there's 4x4 transport from the camp in Rum village to the camp in the heart of the desert
Lawrence's spring where he washed and rested after the capture of Aqaba
And we're keen to introduce new ideas, when they can blend in without doing damage!!
Saleh Musa, his wife and family run the bedouin tent like a special guest house, plus they run tours
to the south of Rum, on the Saudi border is Jordan's highest mountain
preparing for a day's safari -- safe adventure for all ages
we have developed a unique 'behind the veil' tour for women only, to learn bedouin skills
a branch of the Hijaz railway runs close to Wadi Rum, cutting through virgin desert
climb up then roll down the blood orange sand-dunes of Rum
ancient inscriptions in many caves and canyons, believed to date from the Nabateans who build Petra
imagine waking up to this view
or settling down to sleep after the perfect, peaceful sunset
and, most important!!, two new, European-style loo/WC/toilet/lavatory, in a nearby stone building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wadi Rum Village, Wadi Rum, Al Aqabah Governorate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 128 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
bluegalgi...
Durham, NC
1 review
“Amazing experience with Saleh and his family”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Saleh is authentic, honest, and cares about his guests. He offered to organize our transport from Petra to Wadi Rum, and when I told him I'd already booked with the van, Saleh called the van driver to make sure he knew where to take us. Saleh also got our Wadi Rum entry tickets in advance so we didn't have to, because all the tour guides trying for your business there can be a bit pushy. We were taken by the van directly to Saleh's house, where we drank tea and talked about our day. We were taken on our tour by Mousa, Saleh's nephew, who was great and took us to more sites then we can remember. We rode in the back of a pickup truck that had benches built in, which for us was more desirable then sitting in the backseat of a suv. Dinner that evening in the camp, cooked by Saleh's lovely wife Alia, was easily the most delicious meal we had on our entire Jordan trip. The camp is smaller and more intimate. I originally chose it because I'd read about large, impersonal camps, and we wanted to be able to choose our experiences for the day, as well as interact with the family. We would like to return and have a longer stay, and we would DEFINITELY recommend Saleh and his tours to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience was even better then described and easy, Saleh handled everything for us very well.
Liked least: It was really all wonderful!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y0sik0
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bedouin life experience”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed 3 nights and 4 days at the Saleh's Camp and it became the most memorable part of our visit of Jordan.

We had a brief experience of the Bedouin's life of not so long time ago.

Saleh's camp is a small family operated camp. Our visit was the end of the off season (The end of Feb.) so for 2days, we are the only the gusts, we had a lot of time to talk and ask questions about the Bedouin's life.

Sale's wife Alia, cooks dinner for us every day! She is a great cook, of course.
I got a chance to help her in the kitchen and learnt some of the Bedoin's dishes.
Alia is the wonderful part of this camp experience. She is a kind and warm-hearted lady. She braided my hair with the Bedouin way and played the drum for us in the night.

In the day time, Saleh took us to the scenic places of Wadi Rum by his truck and show us the places he played when he was a child. (His truck have a roof top so it made a nice shade from the desert sun.)

We got a Camel ride. Saleh's cousin took us more than an hour of the Camel ride to the dunes. It was the first Camel ride for us and was very enjoyable.

In the night, we gathered around the fire with a lot of tea.
Enjoyed stars.

I took a lot of pictures but Alia's picture. Just to respect the Bedouin women's way. I got a lot of memories of her without any pictures.

Bring the flash light and binocular.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Saleh and his wife Alia's personal care.
Liked least: Good-bye was sad...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan F
Dacre, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful Time in the Desert”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I received a recommendation from a neighbor to book with Saleh for our visit to Wadi Rum. I now owe my neighbor a big thanks since it turned out to be a great recommendation. Saleh and Ateq were both great hosts and we loved our time in Wadi Rum. Ateq gave us a very extensive tour of Wadi Rum and it certainly seemed like we were getting to see and do things that other companies were not showing their guests. We had a great evening spent at the camp with Saleh and Ateq. We had a lot of fun trying to learn Arabic from Ateq. I think he did as much laughing at our attempts as we did laughing at ourselves. I would highly recommend that any visitors that visit Wadi Rum contact Saleh! We would love to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari V
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Desert wonderland”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent New Year's Eve with Saleh and his family and had an amazing time! We contacted Saleh through his website the day before going to Wadi Rum and he was very helpful. He arranged the transport from Petra and met us next morning in Rum. We had a great desert experience and loved to ride around in the jeep! The bedouin camp was really charming and surprisingly comfortable. We spent the evening around a bonfire and ate some of the best food we had on our entire Jordan trip. Saleh had arranged fireworks, which was an amazing sight over the empty desert. If you're going to Wadi Rum, this is really a safe bet!
Mari and Lasse

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fahmi K
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth to spend more than one night”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I've spent here for a night. I had a great experience to stay with Saleh's family. Alia who is Saleh's wife is a good chef. She cooked for me a very delicious Bedouin traditional foods. And the campsite is not far anyway from Wadi Rum small town(10mins by jeep) if you are about to catch up the bus to go to Petra at 9am. The surrounding was so breathtaking and peaceful. The campsite also good for the sunset spot in Wadi Rum.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
many thanks for this review. . . you seem very happy, please let us know what else we need to do for you to give us 5-stars next time, best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing