We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
104
13
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
13
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely pooltuscan landscapestar hotelrooms are beautifulvilla casanovafantastic hotelfantastic staypoolsideluccagiovannitownscenturypathsturndown
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We received confirmation of our reservation on May24th. We had made our original booking last October and paid a deposit. On arrival at the Hotel on 15th June we discovered it was closed. Windows shuttered, gates padlocked and swimming pool green. It must have been closed for some time yet the owners did not have the courtesy to advise and any attempt to contact them in Italy or the UK has failed. We warned Tourist Information in Lucca where of course we had to find last minute accommodation.
Simply appalling way to treat guests.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CB1720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCasanova, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Casanova Lucca, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear guest,
The old management of the hotel is definitely closed.

Villa Casanova is now re-opened and our management awaits for you with pleasure.

Kindest Regards.

Sabrina Fabiano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

I am giving this two stars only because a rating was required in order to review. I didn't have the opportunity to experience the hotel because We were also canceled one day prior to our arrival due to a power outage caused by a change in the service provider. It was unfortunate timing wise, but clearly out of the hotel's control. The woman who contacted us was very professional . She gave us recommendations in the area and told us they would make it up by honoring our original reservation for free the next time we are back in Italy. We ended up going on to Portofino instead of staying in Lucca, but will hopefully be back soon to give it another review !

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jlori1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

They cancelled our reservation (booked through Exp..ia) two days before we were supposed to show up, when we were already in Italy. This was the second hotel booked for this trip through E..edia where we were cancelled. We made other arrangements, which turned out to be better. Needless to say, we will not be using the service again nor considering staying at this hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel
Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank LSG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

The location is great. It's a big villa located on a beautiful spot on a short driving distance from Lucca, Pisa and the coast.
The room was great, spacious and clean.

The staff is friendly but the service is not the level you'd expect of a 5 star location. For example we didn't get any drinking water in the room, no turndown service, no hair conditioner, no new shampoo etc.
The atmosphere is more like a B&B. The welcome for example was not like you normally expect in a hotel. There was none, we were directly guided to our room, no explanation, no welcome drink.

During our last day there was suddenly an English couple (instead of the Italian couple which served us normally). They were using the bar and served us. The same night (until very late in the morning) the English couple (staff?) had a loud party with a few people on the terrace until very late in the morning. They ruined our night while they knew we had to get up early for our trip home. It felt strange, we had never experienced something like this before.

The food is by far not what you hope for. After two attempts we decided to eat in Lucca for the rest of our stay. For us the driving distance was OK.

It is potentially a very nice location and the people are friendly. It only needs a more professional approach.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank a3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

A gem tucked away a bit - only a bit - off the Tuscan highlights trail. Ten minutes west of Lucca you will find this small, gracious hotel with very clean, comfortable, well appointed suites in a expertly restored country villa with a lovely pool and deck overlooking an historic town. We used it for a two-night recovery from trans-Atlantic fight into Pisa and the jumping off point for Tuscan travels. We could of easily stayed longer. The staff is so welcoming and so relaxed it is like being with family; actually much better because they are knowledgeable and helpful. "Use the blue-line parking". "You will need coins, take these" from my pocket. The food is good; breakfast exactly what you expect, diner better than many restaurant meals, while limited by the small nature of the property. Villa Casanova is a perfect place to relax and enjoy easy access to Lucca and Pisa and avoid the crowded tourist hotels and hustle.

Room Tip: All the rooms are generous, clean and very comfortable. Try to get a view over the valley and a balcony, but all are great.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews