We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Services!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Casanova Lucca
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balbano
Reviewed 15 August 2017

The experience is always positive and relaxing. The rooms are always immaculate and provide a comfortable quiet stay. Great location for a stroll and also a perfect place for a good swim. I recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sketchy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

We received confirmation of our reservation on May24th. We had made our original booking last October and paid a deposit. On arrival at the Hotel on 15th June we discovered it was closed. Windows shuttered, gates padlocked and swimming pool green. It must have been closed for some time yet the owners did not have the courtesy to advise and any attempt to contact them in Italy or the UK has failed. We warned Tourist Information in Lucca where of course we had to find last minute accommodation.
Simply appalling way to treat guests.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CB1720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCasanova, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Casanova Lucca, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear guest,
The old management of the hotel is definitely closed.

Villa Casanova is now re-opened and our management awaits for you with pleasure.

Kindest Regards.

Sabrina Fabiano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

I am giving this two stars only because a rating was required in order to review. I didn't have the opportunity to experience the hotel because We were also canceled one day prior to our arrival due to a power outage caused by a change in the service provider. It was unfortunate timing wise, but clearly out of the hotel's control. The woman who contacted us was very professional . She gave us recommendations in the area and told us they would make it up by honoring our original reservation for free the next time we are back in Italy. We ended up going on to Portofino instead of staying in Lucca, but will hopefully be back soon to give it another review !

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jlori1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

They cancelled our reservation (booked through Exp..ia) two days before we were supposed to show up, when we were already in Italy. This was the second hotel booked for this trip through E..edia where we were cancelled. We made other arrangements, which turned out to be better. Needless to say, we will not be using the service again nor considering staying at this hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel
Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LSG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

The location is great. It's a big villa located on a beautiful spot on a short driving distance from Lucca, Pisa and the coast.
The room was great, spacious and clean.

The staff is friendly but the service is not the level you'd expect of a 5 star location. For example we didn't get any drinking water in the room, no turndown service, no hair conditioner, no new shampoo etc.
The atmosphere is more like a B&B. The welcome for example was not like you normally expect in a hotel. There was none, we were directly guided to our room, no explanation, no welcome drink.

During our last day there was suddenly an English couple (instead of the Italian couple which served us normally). They were using the bar and served us. The same night (until very late in the morning) the English couple (staff?) had a loud party with a few people on the terrace until very late in the morning. They ruined our night while they knew we had to get up early for our trip home. It felt strange, we had never experienced something like this before.

The food is by far not what you hope for. After two attempts we decided to eat in Lucca for the rest of our stay. For us the driving distance was OK.

It is potentially a very nice location and the people are friendly. It only needs a more professional approach.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank a3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balbano
8.5 km away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#14 of 47 in Lucca
381 reviews
9.4 km away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#2 of 47 in Lucca
646 reviews
8.7 km away
Resort Dei Limoni
Resort Dei Limoni
#33 of 47 in Lucca
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#18 of 47 in Lucca
360 reviews
9.6 km away
San Luca Palace Hotel
10.6 km away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Balbano

Been to Villa Casanova Lucca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Casanova Lucca

Address: Via di Casanova 1600, 55100 Balbano, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca > Balbano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balbano
Price Range: $158 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Casanova Lucca 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Casanova is the result of a complete renovation of an 18th-century Tuscan farmhouse set in 360 acres of mixed woodland just ten minutes from Lucca. Newly reopened in December 2009, Villa Casanova is now a distinctive and relaxed, luxury boutique hotel with incredibly spacious suites, magnificent terraces and infinity swimming pool. The valley of Lucca and the tower of Castello Nozzano can be viewed from the hotel and the area is ideal for walking, cycling and exploring the historical walled town of Lucca, home to Puccini. It's also a perfect location to just relax with a book and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere. Numerous festivals take place throughout the year. The world famous Puccini Festival takes place at the open-air theatre at Torre del Lago, a few Kilometres from the hotel. Villa Casanova has its own chapel. The original owners were the Balbani family who later gave their name to the locality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Villa Casanova Lucca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Villa Casanova Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing