We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jwoodwat
Southbank, Australia

Queenstown Hidden Secret

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 July 2023
This Hotel and its staff are the best and the accomodation is so comfy homely and welcoming 150% satisfaction plus and recommend to all visiting Queenstown. Located just outside the Queenstown village closer to the ski fields and away from traffic congestion
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Appelman, General Manager at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile, responded to this review
Responded 31 July 2023
Kia Ora Jwoodwat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your fantastic experience with us! We are absolutely thrilled to read your glowing review and know that you had an exceptional stay at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile.

Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service and creating a warm and welcoming atmosphere for all our guests. It's wonderful to hear that you found our accommodations to be comfy, homely, and inviting. Your 150% satisfaction is the ultimate reward for our team's efforts, and we couldn't be happier.

Being situated just outside the hustle and bustle of Queenstown village has its perks, and we're delighted that you appreciated the tranquility and proximity to the ski fields.

We are incredibly grateful for your support and endorsement to fellow travelers. If your future plans bring you back to Queenstown, we would be overjoyed to welcome you once again and make your stay even more memorable.

Once again, thank you for choosing Sudima Queenstown Five Mile and for sharing your delightful feedback.

Kind regards,
Ali and The Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from Sudima Queenstown Five Mile
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$243
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Sudima Queenstown Five Mile
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Sudima Queenstown Five Mile
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
1.7 km from Sudima Queenstown Five Mile
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Sudima Queenstown Five Mile
  • Agoda.com
2.7 km from Sudima Queenstown Five Mile
Exterior
AU$255
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$255
1.4 km from Sudima Queenstown Five Mile
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Sudima Queenstown Five Mile Remarkable View King room
AU$176
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$176
0.0 km from Sudima Queenstown Five Mile
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$176
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$174
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Sudima Queenstown Five Mile
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
AU$286
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Doubletree
    AU$288
2.1 km from Sudima Queenstown Five Mile
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Frankton
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
25
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clean hotel podium restaurant great location supermarket beds queenstown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2023

Clean rooms, comfy beds, amazing customer service, great shower (rainfall + handheld), great heating/cooling solution, most rooms have a great if not amazing view, handy to the shopping precinct and lots of eatery options, close to the airport... Nothing bad to say at all!

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Larissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Appelman, General Manager at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2023

Kia Ora Larissa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your amazing feedback about your recent stay with us at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile.

We're thrilled to hear that you found our rooms to be fantastic and experienced exceptional service from our friendly staff. We're also pleased to know that our location was convenient for you, especially in relation to the airport and nearby businesses. It's always our goal to provide our guests with a convenient and accessible stay.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. We genuinely appreciate your feedback, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another outstanding stay in the future.

Kind regards,
Ali Appelman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2023 via mobile

Nice rooms, with comfy beds and a very nice shower. Could take a few leaves out of the hospitality handbook though.
When at 1pm you ate told your rooms are ready ahead of a 3pm check in, you are delighted after your 3:30am start from Melbourne. Followed by a $NZ40 surcharge for an early check in. It is the pettiness of squeezing a little more out of what we would consider overpriced Queenstown accommodation costs (>$NZ300 per night), not many places where you pay that kind of money in a shopping centre, outside of town experience. Please stop being so petty and why don’t the staff welcome you with a where are you from/how was your flight, as well as how was your stay, traditional welcome and departure greeting. It is all about making people feel welcome, and the small things do matter.

Room tip: Japanese next door is great & very convenient as a base with all the shops
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Downunder_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Appelman, General Manager at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2023

Kia Ora Downunder_123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable beds and nice shower. However, we apologize for any inconvenience caused by the early check-in fee. We understand your frustration with the additional charge, and we'll take your feedback into consideration as we evaluate our policies.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the hospitality experience. I sincerely agree that making all guests feel welcome and appreciated is crucial and is also part of our company values. I will work to improve our staff's approach to welcoming our guests.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Ali Appelman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2023

We stayed at the Sudima for 2 nights and were very comfortable. Room was spacious and clean. Loved our time there. It is a bit of a drive from Queenstown but we were prepared for that inconvenience. The hotel is in a shopping area so it was handy to go to the grocery store for snacks etc. There was a screen in the lobby if you wanted to look up area info. I would prefer to be able to ask someone.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank taber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Appelman, General Manager at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2023

Kia Ora Taber,
Thank you for taking the time in offering your feedback on your recent stay with us at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile. Feedback is important to us as it allows us to improve our service for future guests.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us especially our beautifully appointed rooms and convenient location. I will pass on your kind words to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sudima Five Mile soon.
Kind regards,
Ali Appelman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2023

“Sudima Queenstown Five Mile” -is in Queenstown, right? The name seems pretty clear.

It’s shown as being in “Queenstown Central” which is in central Queenstown, right? The name seems pretty clear on that point too. Close to the lake perhaps, looking towards the mountains, near the Queenstown bars and restaurants?

WRONG.
WRONG.

“Queenstown Central” is not in central Queenstown. It’s the name of a shopping centre outside of Frankton, next door to the airport, surrounded by massive carparks, supermarkets, K Mart etc and about 50m off the main State Highway 6A.

Hence the “Sudima Queenstown Five Mile”, despite the name, is 7.6 km from Queenstown according to Google maps (or a $50+ taxi ride away, as I can tell you from frequent experience) and about as far away from the experience or the convenience of staying in central Queenstown as you can get. Close to the lake perhaps, looking towards the mountains, near the Queenstown bars and restaurants – in your DREAMS.

Having booked in a hurry and taking at face value the name(s) described the reality, we were stuck at this hotel for three nights.

On arriving we were given an “underground carpark pass”, meaning that as an elderly couple we had to park 5-10 minutes’ walk away from the hotel in an isolated underground location, walking through deserted carparks late at night or early in the morning. (As we were checking out, we discovered that the receptionist could have simply noted our car registration number and for the duration of our stay we could have parked in the massive carpark immediately outside the hotel door.)

We were given Room 223 for our stay, which I found overlooked the massive nearby roundabout on the main State Highway 6A (meaning trucks would be audibly braking at all hours), with a view to K Mart, I went back to the desk and asked for a room away from the Highway.

We were moved to Room 214. On entering Room 214, I discovered a woman lying on the bed, semi-undressed, on the telephone. I quickly backed out of the room and went straight down to reception, where I was told, “that’s odd, someone mustn’t have updated the system”. I went back to Room 214, knocked on the door and apologised to the occupants, explaining what had happened.

All attempts to find another hotel to stay in were unsuccessful; there were no vacancies at such short notice. We stayed in Room 223, but tried to be out of the hotel as much as humanly possible.

I had booked restaurants in Queenstown – full degustation menus with matching wines, for every night we stayed - meaning I couldn’t drive, and we consequently were paying an extra $100-130+ per night to go to dinner and return to the ‘carpark-hotel’.

Had the room we stayed in been in a hotel located in central Queenstown then it would have been a pleasant experience, but what we experienced was simply awful.

Might the name of both the hotel and the shopping centre mislead people who are booking a stay in Queenstown? I will leave it to you to decide.

Room tip: Go somewhere else
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank brendanmkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Appelman, General Manager at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2023

Kia Ora Brendanmkavagh,
Thank you for taking the time in offering your feedback on your recent stay with us at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile. Feedback is important to us as it allows us to improve our service for future guests.
I was sorry to read we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we are conveniently located within the Five Mile shopping precinct in Frankton where we have shops on the doorsteps and amble parking. We apologies if this was not the location you were expecting for your time in Queenstown.
I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Queenstown.
Kind regards,
Ali Appelman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2023

Rooms are clean , comfortable and well appointed. In the centre of a large shopping complex and across from a supermarket.
Also close to restaurants and bars.
Shuttle bus available.
Parking and bike storage available.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Chrisandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Appelman, General Manager at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2023

Kia Ora Chrisandjoe,
Thank you for taking the time in offering your feedback on your recent stay with us at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile. Feedback is important to us as it allows us to improve our service for future guests.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us especially our beautifully appointed rooms and convenient location. I will pass on your kind words to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sudima Five Mile soon.
Kind regards,
Ali Appelman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews