We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic! Cave living at its very best!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cave house -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Benamaurel, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
hayabusa1
united kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Cave living at its very best!”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
5
people found this review helpful

Bernard & I booked this unique and beautiful cave house for two nights 2nd 3rd Jan, 2017.
We had friends Tanya & Nigel coming to stay with us from the uk for seven days from New Year's Eve. We wanted to surprise them with a short trip out to see some of the Spanish countryside and which would include couple of stay somewhere different to anywhere, any of us had stayed before.
On the recommendation of a friend here in Spain, We were told about this Spanish cave house.
Our journey was from Pilar de la Horadada, Alicante and included a stop off Mazzaron for refreshments, but was actually out of our way, then on to our Cave house in Benamaurel, Granada.
It took around 3hrs 30mins.. but would only have been around 2hrs 15mins, if we had driven directly there.
When we arrived arrived at Cuevasa Helena Holidays, Cave, we were greeted by Shirley & Mark who showed us into, what was to be our home for the next 2 nights.
It was nothing like you would ever have imagined.
The first thing we noticed was how lovely, bright and warm it was, then the glorious, blazing wood burner at the far end of the room and the incredible feeling of space. It wasn't dark, cold or damp, like you might think it a Cave could be?
This Cave is basically 3 long tunnels bored into the hillside. The first and main tunnel consists of the entrance hall leading to the dining area and then the lounge area, with the wood burner at the far end.
The second, is off this main tunnel & to the left, there are two really large but cosy, en suite bedrooms..
The third is off to the right and is the kitchen with breakfast room area, separate snug/drinks area, separate bathroom and the large 3rd bedroom...
We went into the cave via a stable door. There were our names & messages of welcome on little chalk boards in the entrance hall and a bottle of Cave & 4 glasses in an ice bucket in the dining area..
There was a lovely & tasteful decorated Christmas tree in the cosy lounge area and set into the wall, was an illuminated wine bottle holder made from solid rock ..
The bedrooms and bathrooms are all superb and tastefully done, lovely bed linen, fluffy robes & plenty of think lush towels available.
The kitchen is well equipped with everything you would need for your stay and an fun snug area with large a barrel table and stools to sit around while chatting over a glass of wine or beer. We were particularly grateful for the honesty bar with in the fridge.. cold wine, beer and soft drinks were available at a small cost, if you run out of your own drinks or if like ours were no longer chilled after our journey..
Something I must also add, the air in this Cave is amazing light, clean and fresh, like nothing I've experienced before.. I'm a terrible sleeper, but I had 2 of the best nights sleep I've had in absolutely years, also helped by the extremely comfortable bed. 'After around 10different beds in as many years' trying to get a comfortable nights sleep, I took the liberty of taking note of the make and model number of the bad I slept in, for further investigation..
The outside area is quite private from the owners cave, which is next door. There is a dining area outside the cave for dinner on those balmy summers evening and or breakfast in the morning..
There is a beautiful swimming pool with sun beds for the warmer weather and the views are stunning.
The assess to the cave is great & easy it's easy to find and close to the local town, but far enough out to feel the peace and tranquility of the surrounding country side.
It far surpassed anything you would imagine a Cave to be like.. This is a Cave, but with no expense spared when designed and built by the proud owners, Shirley & Mark. There are so many unique and individual touches to this home with attention to detail apparent everywhere.
Shirley & Mark are tremendous hosts and are on hand if you need anything or advise on local amenities, places to visit etc.
They might even show you their Cave if you ask nicely! Another truly beautiful home. 'Cave'.
Granada was only an hr away and well worth the visit.
We all left feeling like we'd had an amazing and unique experience.
Would We recommend it? Absolutely- should be on everyone's bucket list.
Was there anything we didn't like about it? No
Quite Simply Loved - everything about it!
Thank you for our wonderful short but very very memorable stay.
We shall return.
Julie,Bernard, Tanya & Nigel

And Just one more thing!
"I now want to live in a Cave - like this!"

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2017
Wow !!! Thank you very much for this beautiful review and taking the time to write this , we are so happy you all enjoyed your stay at Cuevas Helena we enjoyed meeting you all, and happy you had 2 nights good sleep in the cave .. We look forward to your return thank you once again Shirley & Mark .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaB217...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cave house in stunning location”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Less than ten minutes to all amenities and about an hour from the beautiful city of Granada ... what can I say fabulous cave house, beautifully furnished, no expense spared, real boutiquey feel. Shirley and Graham are wonderful hosts, although probably not the right word, they are there if you need them but you wouldn't know they were there either if that makes sense? Will definitely be visiting again, maybe summer so I can get in that Pool ... well done guys we loved it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Thank you for your kind comments on our Cave House we are so happy that you all enjoyed yourselves and loved our location as much as we do.
It would lovely if you came back to Cuevas Helena in the summer and enjoy our swimming pool. Mark said he is used to being called (Graham) lol as that's our surname thank you Tanya & Nigel :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariebugl...
San Cayetano, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful experience”
Reviewed 10 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We were very lucky to stay for 2 night in this wonderful Cave House, it was 5 star luxury, beautiful setting , with views to die for, well worth a visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review glad you all enjoyed your stay with us .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman P
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in October 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2018
Thank you Jacqueline & Fernand for this lovely review it was so nice to meet you both and we are pleased you choose to stay at Cuevas Helena for Fernand 90th Birthday we are glad you enjoyed the area we live in as much as we do and would be nice to have you return to Cuevas Helena in the future thank you once again Shirley & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing