We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, relaxing stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Swallows' Flight is a newly converted Granary barn set in a Victorian farm courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swallows' Flight is a newly converted Granary barn set in a Victorian farm courtyard
The interior of the barn is welcoming and cosy with many stunning original features Old Coleridge Farmhouse set in the heart of one thousand acres of glorious Devon farmand
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Swallows' Flight is a newly converted Granary barn set in a Victorian farm courtyard
The interior of the barn is welcoming and cosy with many stunning original features
Old Coleridge Farmhouse set in the heart of one thousand acres of glorious Devon farmand
Number One Swallows' Flight barn is attached to a historic farmhouse yet entirely self contained
The kitchen area has an oven, cooker, fridge, microwave and slimline dishwasher, toaster and kettle.
Luxurious kingsize bed with White Company bedlinen
Relax in the roll top bath....
The separate Granary barn has a washing machine, freezer, dining area & shower wet room - shared use
Roof top hot tub - perfect for a relaxing soak or watching the stars at night.
Five acres of gardens and grounds to explore
Historic courtyard with steps leading up to Swallows' Flight and Airstream caravan
Set in the heart of one thousand acres of rolling Devon farmland
Views from the gardens towards Start Point, Swallows' Flight is situated one mile from the coast.
It's those little things which make a difference....
Plenty of places to sit and relax with a drink...we have barbecues and fire pits for guests to use.
In winter, wood burner and underfloor heating makes for a cosy stay - logs provided at no extra cost
There is also a utility area with washing machine and freezer for guests to use
Croquet lawn in the courtyard
Mill Bay at nearby Salcombe - lovely safe sandy beach for buckets and spades
Dartmouth is twenty minutes drive away - a historic maritime town with many good shops and eateries
The coastal path can be accessed just over a mile from Swallow's Flight - stunning scenery and walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chillington, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gary041
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, relaxing stay.”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just returned from 4 nights at Swallow,s Flight barn. It was brilliant. On arrival we were a bit late but we had a text telling us what to do if there was no one there to great us. We were then shown around and made to feel so welcome. The barn is excellent and we also had sole use of the hot tub and everything else as the Airstream was not occupied.
Great location, great accommodation, amazing hosts who are so friendly but also give you your own space. Would recommend the Swallows flight without a doubt.
Thank you for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natCheste...
chester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing winter break”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

After our wedding at the end of November we packed up the car and drove down to Devon for 6 days for our "mini honeymoon" - we couldn't have picked a better destination than swallows flight. We had a wonderful time. The barn was lovely and cozy and we were greeted with some lovely local biscuits and a bottle of fizz, which we enjoyed in the hot tub. The hosts were very warm and friendly, and we had the perfect mix of privacy and also help and advice if we needed it.

The local area is beautiful, even on a grey windy day, and we enjoyed many of the fantastic local restaurants. The towns of Dartmouth, Totnes, kingsbridge and salcome were lovely even at this time of year, with all the Christmas decorations up. We even had a few windswept picnics on the beautiful local beaches! In summer it must be spectacular.

We would love to return and would recommend to anyone. The homemade sloe gin didn't last long on our return home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin...
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect barn conversion for a country break”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have just returned home from a perfect little weekend break. We arrived tired after a long drive but the welcome from Lucy made us feel very welcome. The family were very accommodating all weekend. We have a 6 month old and the eldest daughter was happy to watch him whilst he slept, so we could enjoy the lovely Hot Tub they have. The barn itself has been converted to the highest quality and was a great base for us to come back to after exploring the local area. Couldn't recommend enough and would love to go back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alibrod
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a fabulous place! We stayed in their airstream trailer for our mini-moon and it was faultless. The caravan was wonderfully restored and decorated and stayed warm despite the wind. Their hospitality is awesome and we received the loveliest welcome and send off. The hot tub was great and the location is amazing - lots of great places within walking distance. Couldn't recommend higher, would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
We love to host honeymoons both in our converted barn as well as our vintage Airstream caravan. How lovely to start married life with a relaxing and romantic break in the Devon countryside - think walks on the beach, candlelit suppers, champagne in the hot tub, time alone together in a beautiful place, and you'll picture what Swallows' Flight offers. We enjoyed welcoming Mr & Mrs Hill to South Devon for their honeymoon, and wish them a long and happy marriage together - what a lovely couple, their cheerfulness is infectious!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M
1 review
“Gorgeous accommodation, fabulous location!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our family of 4 (including a 5 and a 1 yr old) stayed in the barn for 1 week, it was a great base for exploring the local area and just as nice to spend time there as well, using the grounds, hot tub and BBQ. The barn was so nicely styled and easily accommodated a travel cot we bought with us. We were given a highchair to use.
My older son slept comfortably on a snuggle sac provided as well.
If you like the countryside, you'll love this place! We even had a great view of nesting swallows outside the window.
We also appreciated the crabbing kit for the children, sole gin and biscuits and a leaving bag containing bottled water.
I couldn't recommend No 1 more, would love to stay again in the future!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall styling and thoughtful touches to decor and comfort!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing