We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a detention center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solanas Punta del Este
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Punta Ballena
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
234
Reviewed 26 November 2015

This was the worst place I have ever stayed
The "resort" is under heavy construction. There was only one restaurant and bar with limited hours of operation.
It costs $30 USD just to go somewhere to get a decent meal or see something of interest.....nothing is in walking distance
Giving Solanas the benefit of the doubt, if the new lagoon was completed it may have provided a very different feel.... but only marginally...they can't move the location
I understand this is the off season but they should shut down the site until they can provide a minimal standard of service.

Room Tip: Select the more modern Green area rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2015

This is NOT in Punta del Este. You must have a car to get around, even around the grounds itself. There are bus shuttles but not often, but can be called for. There are a lot of facilities for kids, and since I was there for a conference, I cannot comment on that.
The rooms are a bit dodgy and I would not be staying there for a long period of time. No English speaking TV channels on TV which had poor/fuzzy reception anyway. The curtains are either blackout or not…it should have thin curtains so that people from outside cannot look in when you want to leave the curtains open to have some light in. The beds were not comfortable, and the room smelt a but musty, but when you turn on the AC it is better. The mosquito netting on the windows mean that you can open the window, but not if you want to sleep in because the gardeners start work outside your room early.
All in all…it was NOT a resort, and you have to be desperate to stay in this place, or not think of it as a resort at all and come with VERY LOW expectations.

Room Tip: Rent a car to get around, and ask for a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Comfort_Seeker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia-Solanas, Dto. Atención al Huésped at Solanas Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2016

Dear Sergio:

Thank you for sharing your experience with the other members of the Trip Advisor Community.
Regarding your comments about our location, this specific fact is clearly pointed in several ways (Web Site / Vouchers / Travel Agencies / etc.) to avoid any misunderstood.

Our Maintenance Team work on a daily basis to keep our property and accommodations in the best conditions. We are deeply sorry if this Service didn´t fulfill your expectations
We receive your observations seriously to keep working in order to improve our Quality Service.

Looking forward to recieve you again in the near future.

Best regards..

Matilde Bell
Coordinadora de Atención al Huésped

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Solanas Club is a most relaxing experience for all seasons in a secluded pine forest.
We enjoyed its fully equipped apartment with 2 ample bathrooms, kitchenette,
terrace with an individual barbecue, maid service and all amenities.

We found it is ideal for families: outside and inside pools; spa, gym;
horse riding, bicycles, carts; tennis, paddle and volleyball courts; football field;
children and kinder playgrounds; restaurant; clubhouse; barbecue area for groups;
auditorium; permanent security, as well as many daily social activities.

Beyond the charming forest, there is a calm summer resort (Portezuelo),
panoramic Punta Ballena, and Lussich Arboretum. Glamorous Punta del Este
is only 13 kms. away and buses stop right at the resort´s entrance gates.

The closest beach, wide and peaceful, is within walking distance (5 blocks).
Solanas Club provides a free van ride to and from the beach, as well as free
beach facilities.

Room Tip: The resort has different housing areas. Solanas Royalmar is closer to its entrance and to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBergeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia-Solanas, Dto. Atención al Huésped at Solanas Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Dear Mrs.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the other members of the Trip Advisor Community.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Resort facilities and the Social Activities schedule as well.

We are looking forward to recieve you again in a near future.

Best regards.

MARIANA GONZÁLEZ
Encargada de Atención al Huésped

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Musty, durty, lots of flyes in the room. Run from this hotel Pictures are lies. Bedding disgusting. I left the hotel just before arrived, losting my money deposit. Worst hotel I have seen. Bad trained people for reservations and front desk.

Room Tip: There is no good place to stay there. Run from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia-Solanas, Dto. Atención al Huésped at Solanas Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2015

Dear Sergio:

Thank you for sharing your experience with the other members of the Trip Advisor Community.

By not having enough information on your Trip Advisor Profile, we cannot provide a personalized answer in this regard.

Our Housekeeping and Maintenance Team work on a daily basis to keep our property and accommodations in the best conditions. We are deeply sorry if this Service didn´t fulfill your expectations.

Our Cancellation Policy is clearly specified at the moment of making the reservation.

We receive your observations as a motivation to keep working in order to improve our Quality Service.

Best Regards.

MARIANA GONZÁLEZ
Encargada de Atención al Huésped

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

we stayed 11 days there,the room is nice size,with a kitchen ,lots of mosquitos,they are under repair,the area is nice but far from Punta Del Este,nice place to make a BBQ ,the bathroom is old ,the doors are very old

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monicapradosoalheiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia-Solanas, Dto. Atención al Huésped at Solanas Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Mónica:

Gracias por compartir su experiencia.
Nos gustaría aclararle que todas las características acerca de nuestro complejo, como lo son Ubicación, Habitaciones y Servicios brindados son correctamente informadas al momento de realizar la reserva, así como también, están disponibles en nuestro Sitio Web.
Las construcciones que menciona, se realizan con el ánimo de mejorar y ampliar las propuestas de servicios hacia nuestros huéspedes.
Lamentamos que las comodidades de nuestras habitaciones no hayan alcanzado sus expectativas y esperamos poder revertir esta situación en un futuro cercano.

Un cordial saludo.

NAIR CARABAJAL
Encargada Atención al Huésped

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Ballena hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort
0.8 km away
Hotel Puesta del Sol
Hotel Puesta del Sol
#9 of 9 in Punta Ballena
20 reviews
3.8 km away
Club Hotel Casapueblo
Club Hotel Casapueblo
#4 of 9 in Punta Ballena
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres
Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres
#1 of 9 in Punta Ballena
482 reviews
31.1 km away
Green Park Solanas
Green Park Solanas
#1 of 9 in Punta Ballena
147 reviews
0.7 km away
Lloret De Mar-Green Park Resort
Lloret De Mar-Green Park Resort
#8 of 9 in Punta Ballena
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solanas Punta del Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solanas Punta del Este

Address: Ruta Interbalnearia Km 118. 5 | Punta del Este, Punta Ballena, Maldonado 20003, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > Punta Ballena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Punta Ballena
Price Range: $177 - $670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solanas Punta del Este 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean Style apartments, surrounded by Forest, offer a wide range of facilities, such as: Tennis courts, Swimming Pool, Gym, Lake, Restaurant, Spa & convention center, as well as 300 apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Solanas Punta del Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solanas Vacation Club Hotel Punta Del Este
Solanas Vacation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing