We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner is a true artist Chef, he only serves fresh food”
Review of Oliva & Sal

Oliva & Sal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 20 - USD 50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Oliva & Sal combines different flavors able to grasp the particular personality of Punta Ballena. Homemade pasta, grilled meats, wood-fired preparations and flavors of the sea, blending in a sophisticated and cozy atmosphere, surrounded by art, nature and excellent service.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Yes, it is expensive, but all good restaurants are expensive in Punta. I've lived here 13 years and Oliva & Sal is by far the best in the neighborhood. Far-far much better than the big restaurant about a mile away closer to the big hill.

We order Ceviche, he only will serve it if the fish is fresh. It's incredible. If not that, then Shrimp Ceviche. If the parrilla is going, look out, incredible.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018

A night where we could enjoy the best from UY and Brazil all the same time. Regardless of the menu, the owner detected myself and wife were from Brazil and was very kick to offer an delicious dish with lagostinos rice but without the particular salsa from UY. The wine was fresh and in the end we were granted with an unforgetable jam session of brazilian songs supported by an argentian guitar player. Unbelievable. Prices seemed very appropriate for the food and the occasion, not the mention again the incredible attention we got from the owner and the staff.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ROAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Nothing to say about the food it was excellent, very tasty and well made, but apart from that the whole building was infested with flys all over the place and apart from that, it was too expensive for the experience, expect to pay 25 dollars per person for a restaurant full of flys, I wouldn’t come back again for the price and the flys

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank aguucampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

I truly don't understand why this place is not on top of the rankings. I had an AMAZING meal, fresh fish, perfectly cooked, crispy, tasty salad and a scrumptious dessert. I spent much less than in nearby Medio y Medio. Ambience is simple but nice, with a burning fireplace and all. I fully recommend this place.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank tomfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We have been coming to Oliva y Sal in the last years, even when we usually stay at the Punta it self.

We love the ambiance of the place, specially outdoors, and the kind assistance of all the staff there.

We had the always loved Croquetas de Siri and the Mollejas for starters, both of them fabulous.

For our daughters, we ordered the ravioli with filetto that are so 'home made fresh' so delicate that we had to have a bite as well. We had also the papardelle to share also home made feeling but just delicious.

We love this place when looking for home made food and ambiance, it is not fancy not looking for beautiful dish designs. Feels great going with the family, an even better on a nice weather night, absolutely worth the 15 min car ride from Punta.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliva & Sal also viewed

Punta Ballena, Maldonado
 
Punta Ballena, Maldonado
Punta Ballena, Maldonado
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta Ballena, Maldonado
 

Been to Oliva & Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing