We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
128
23
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
23
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorwegian wafflesfriendly hostsguest housea lovely staypool areacool downscandinavian designrelaxing atmosphereolive tastingyogurthomemade breadcharming placelovely villagerooms are spaciousthe location is perfectcountry feelscrumptious breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017

My daughter and I stayed at Shiraz Estate Guest House in late November of this year (2017) and were extremely pleased with the experience. Kristine and Thor went out of their way to make sure our needs were met. I had requested twin beds and the room was modified accordingly prior to our arrival. The room was spacious, clean, and well appointed. Kristine's parents had purchased the property a few years ago and completely remodeled the main house, adding the pool and gazebo to match. I loved the mix of Cape Dutch architecture and Scandinavian interior touches (both Thor and Kristine are Norwegian). If you have time, check out the photo album of before and after pictures. Breakfast, including heart-shaped waffles, was served on the back terrace and was simple and tasty, with a touch of Norwegian goat cheese as a bonus! I would definitely recommend this guest house and will return if I am ever in Riebeek Kasteel again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LisaMoo1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristineFG, Leder  at Shiraz Estate Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Lisa,
Thank you so much for your warm words. I´m so happy to read that you appreciated what we do and enjoyed your stay so much! We look forward to welcoming you both back if you ever return to RK. Sunny regards, Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

We felt so welcome from the minute we booked our accommodation at Shiraz Estate.
We were two couples travelling together and the room we got was enough space for all four of us and was nicely decorated.
There was a lovely pool at the guest house which was highly appreciated of us, because when we visited is was above 40 degrees!
The breakfast was a 3 steps with a fantastic fruit salad, egg (prepared as desired) and a waffle, norweigan style. The best breakfast we've had on our trip!

The guest house is located within walking distance (10-15min) to the beautiful city center of Riebeek Kastel with nice bars, restaurants and wine shops.

Next time we go to Swartland (because there is still much to see, and wine yards to visit)
we will definitely stay at Shiraz Estate Guest house!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annaswes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristineFG, Leder  at Shiraz Estate Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Hi Anna, Thank you so much for the excellent review! I´m so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We look forward to welcoming you all back on day! Sunny regards, Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

We were in Riebeek the hottest day this year but the pool and aircon in the room made our stay extremely pleasant. The breakfast is interesting with waffles and caramel goats cheese. Also thanks to Kristine superb friendly hospitality.
Andre & Tracey

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre-Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristineFG, Leder  at Shiraz Estate Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Andre &Tracey, Thank you for the lovely review. I´m so glad we could offer you to cool down in the heat! It was lovely to host you. Warm regards, Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

This was our first stop after leaving Cape Town airport and we were made to feel very welcome by Kristine.
Shiraz Estate was so quiet and relaxing.
We had a room upstairs looking towards the mountain. Very simple and spotlessly clean.
The pool (bore hole water) was a welcome relief in the heat. 40 degrees plus.
Kristine served a delicious breakfast.
Would highly recommend for a stay in the lovely village of Riebeek Kasteel.

Room Tip: Upstairs for the view.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristineFG, Leder  at Shiraz Estate Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Anne, Thank you for taking time to review us. I´m so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! I hope you enjoyed the rest of you visit around South Africa. Sunny regards, Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

The stuff were very friend on arrival. They make us feel at ease & at home. The place was always neat. They were very informative of everything to do in the are. The breakfast waffles were delicious!! I world recommend this place to anyone. I cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 656quintons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristineFG, Manager at Shiraz Estate Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Hi Quinton, Thank you for taking time to review us. It was lovely to host you and your wife for your 4 night anniversary getaway! We look forward to welcoming you back next year:) Wish you a lovely festive season! Sunny regards, Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews