We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner”

Karijini Eco Retreat Restaurant
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 January 2020 via mobile

We arrived later in the day as we were staying at the Eco Retreat and decided on our meals then so the chef had time to make the right amount of food. There were not many people staying at the resort as it was rainy season so dinner was served at 6 pm with the rest of the travelers. Servers were pleasant and chatty and meals were surprisingly good for being so remote. Breakfast the next morning was basic continental and did the job.

Date of visit: January 2020
3  Thank JanineP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda H, Marketing Director at Karijini Eco Retreat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Hi JanineP40,
Thanks so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and that you found our servers chatty and friendly. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2019

The dining area is open to the elements and on a cold evening, the patio heaters are only mildly helpful. Our first meal was superb, our second was good and the third was bad - poorly cooked tough, gristly meat. For the prices charged, and the reputation of the place, I really expected a lot better

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda H, Marketing Director at Karijini Eco Retreat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Hi Stephen D,
We are disappointed to hear that you experienced inconsistencies with the meals you selected from our menu. It is such a pity the meat was gristly and that you also found the prices to be too high for what you received. We are pleased however, that your first meal was superb though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2019

I was sitting with my family for lunch and took a little longer than they did to decide what to eat. When I eventually ordered 10 minutes later I was told the kitchen had closed. Unacceptable - at least I should have been advised that it was closing. Because it was the only place to eat we also went to dinner the next night to celebrate a special occasion - my lamb was overcooked and dry making it inedible - the restaurant is outside and due to the wind it was eventually covered in red dust.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Jessebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda H, Sales & Marketing Director at Karijini Eco Retreat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Hi Jessebel

We sincerely apologise for the order situation at lunch - this most certainly is unacceptable, and our Manager has addressed this with the staff - this should not have happened - we are so sorry that the Manager was not made aware at the time to be able to rectify this. In relation to your birthday dinner, there was a major dust storm at the time and the staff did offer to move your table inside which was declined - and unfortunately the dust can be a menace. Once you moved inside (albeit a little crowded) we did try to make your evening a positive one by singing Happy Birthday and decorating your dessert - we are sorry that you did not feel the evening was a pleasant one. We do wish you happy times ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2019

We tried Crocodile and Kangaroo - Kangaroo was a standout. The burgers the next night were good too and a bit more economical.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank TKPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda H, Marketing Director at Karijini Eco Retreat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2019

Hi Anthony K,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your kangaroo :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

In a most remote and climatically demanding place in the Australian outback, this restaurant consistently produced food of the highest of standards and which was served by exceptionally competent and genuinely friendly staff. This combination of experiences put to shame many a self-proclaimed up-market capital city dining venue. Very well done to the entire crew who so professionally looked after us: many thanks for adding so much to the enjoyment of visiting this superb part of Australia.

Date of visit: September 2019
3  Thank lappelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda H, Marketing Director at Karijini Eco Retreat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2019

Hi lappelbe,
Wow, thanks so much for your amazing review of our restaurant. We are truly delighted that you had such a fantastic experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Karijini Eco Retreat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.