We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastisc place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Ferndale Studio Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ferndale Studio Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Ferndale Studio Cottage
Above the village - Stunning views over the Nith Valley
Local scenery - River Nith
Local scenery - The Lowther Hills
Local scenery - The Enterkin Valley
View from the Roman Fort, Durisdeer
Walks in the woods around Drumlanrig
Local scenery - The Lowther Hills
Local scenery - Morton Castle
The stunning Queensberry Marbles inside Durisdeer Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Magpierun...
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastisc place to stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I have had a lovely 3 night stay in this small but perfect wee cottage. It had everything I needed for a relaxing stay. The village is lovely and not too far away for exploring the rest of the area. I loved the peace and quiet. The garden was lovely for eating breakfast in the sun. Nice walk up the hills nearby to spot red kites. I will have to return I the Autumn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Difficult to get shower the right temperature
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We loved Ferndale Studio, the perfect retreat. We used it as a base for some exciting days on the Southern Upland Way, but would have been happy to spend more time at home enjoying the beautiful village. The cottage is small and lovely. Only one thing mysteriously missing, no wineglasses to toast our short holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole 'feel' of the cottage
Liked least: The severe fence in the garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewbV7...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go and enjoy the quiet and views”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I would need a dictionary to come up with enough superlatives to describe the holiday we have just had. From the comfy bed, warm welcome, art work and location Ferndale has been the best holiday my wife and I have had for a while.

Inside you will find a small selection of books, local magazines, maps and wildlife guides with tourist brochures and if it rains DVDs to watch.

You will find the water is great (local spring) but a bottle was provided if you are concerned and the small kitchen unit has a good selection of pots and pans and a handy fridge built in so no need to take anything if you do not want to eat out.

Looking at the map it seems a long way away from anywhere but do not be worried - a short trip to Thornhill gives you more than enough shops for daily needs and we found it only took a short drive to see enough scenery to make us very very happy. Even if you do not want to drive, a two minute walk puts you on a great country path between the hills.

Internet connection is possible for basic mail / web sites but not streaming - the village is trying to get a better service but you are on holiday so leave the phone and computer behind and chill out :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lack of traffic and local views
Liked least: Dogs are allowed though trip advisor says not.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen V
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven in a busy world”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Ferndale Studio Cottage is a great place for a couple to stay who want to get away from it all without having to drive too far. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need and more. A short walk up the road and you are in the hills, and very rarely do you even hear a car go past. The little village of Durisdeer is very picturesque and all adds to a very calming environment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the modern interior to an old cottage.
Liked least: Very low water pressure so it took a while to have a shower.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurfm
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect escape from city life”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I chose Ferndale Cottage on a random whim after initially planning on going abroad. The last time I went to Scotland was around 15 years ago and as my partner has never been to Scotland our decision was finally settled.
Ferndale is a lovely cottage with a twist of modern and quirky elements situated within the tranquility of the Scottish hills.

Although there is a microwave and a couple of hobs, there is no oven and the nearest shop is a good 10 minute drive so I would advise that you prepare yourself before arrival.

I will definitely recommend to others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing