We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
35
36
27
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
36
27
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub lounge area other guests stream cosy revamp luxury winter supper couch heater
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

What a disappointment awaited when we entered the Hogsback Inn grounds. The road leading up to the Inn is difficult to negotiate, no specific indications for parking are present and the grounds and gardens are significantly neglected. Once inside the Inn, greater disappointment awaited us. The reception area is old, neglected and filthy to say the least and the carpets have not been washed or cleaned for a very long time. In addition to this, the paint on the walls is peeling and the facia boards are falling off. One gets the sense that no care goes into the maintenance of the buildings and grounds. In all fairness notices were posted on the walls that maintenance was in progress but it is clear that these notices are old and no signs of maintenance in progress could be found.
Once in our room, we were without water for a number of hours and the water at the basins in the bathroom leaked all over the floor which resulted in a danger of slipping when entering the bathroom. Although the bedding appeared clean, it is very old and thinly washed and the cushions are hard and knobbly.
Although the food received at the Inn was tasty, I am unsure about the quality and cleanliness of the kitchen. The service was poor and it took a long time to receive our meals. At breakfast one morning, my husband had to kick away the food on the carpet from the previous night as it had not been cleaned away. The sad thing about this experience was that we paid R900 per person per night and breakfast was not even included!
We left with a deep sense of sadness as we could see what spectacular potential this Inn has - the setting is beautiful and central but it appears that the management really does not care about the hotel or the guests that pay a lot of money to visit their facility.

Room Tip: Most rooms that we viewed we poor and the entrance to every room is dirty and neglected.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 819guestp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryGraeme, Owner at The Hogsback Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Good Morning,

We sincerely apologise for your disappointment and do understand your unhappiness. My brother and I have recently taken over management of the hotel and are doing everything we can to bring her back to her former glory. We have recently replaced the linen throughout the hotel, are in the process of having all the carpets cleaned and although the kitchen is one of state-of-the-art, the menu has been redone and we are very excited about the changes that have been implemented. We look forward to having you visit again and trust you will find the changes in great contrast to your previous visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Although the scenery on the approach to the village and to the Inn is really nice, the inn itself leaves a lot to be desired. The bed sheets were dirty and had obviously not been changed since the previous guest. This is disgusting and simply not acceptable from ANY lodging establishment. The food was also not particularly good.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AnthonyB4921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The Hogsback inn in particular was one of the highlights of our trip. peaceful, spacious, comfortable with friendly eager staff. fantastic food and great wine! We will definitely be back again. thankyou to Greame and his team!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andrewbZ791SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Hogsback Inn must probable be the oldest establishment around started in 1880.
After they did not check their mail from bookings the manager did not know we were coming. Luckily they had an extra room. Room 4: the chimney needs cleaning as the whole room smells of fire. That makes it difficult to breath at night.
Beds are comfortable and clean. Thus little gem SERIOUSLY NEEDS A FACE LIFT! it got stuck in 1990 and paint are falling off walls - hopefully when all is done and attention to detail are also in place this place would be one not to miss. Till then, a bit pricy for what they offer.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CharneyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

We loved it there, and it is a must do. However, cleanliness is not on the top of their to do list. Will go back after renovations. The rooms need new carpeting and the showers need adjustment.

The overall feeling was awesome and gypsy-like really down to earth and simple beauty...

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank douglascC2107LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews