We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
133
43
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
43
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering relaxing getaway hosts peter thought of everything electric blankets a lovely stay walk in shower lovely deck spent four nights small fee fully equipped kitchen winding lane fresh flowers cold weather queen anne wooded area place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We had a wonderful stay at Maple Grove. The Walkers were very much in touch before we arrived to arrange for an easy and smooth evening arrival. The chalet is tucked away in a beautiful wooded area. There is a sweet private braai area overlooking a forest and the cottage itself has EVERYTHING that a guest might need. Not to mention the best selection of pillows and fluffy towels that we've found away from home, in a long time! We had a great trip - hiking to the Madonna and Child Waterfall as well as Tor Doone. A very nice evening meal also at Nutswood Park with amazing ice cream for pudding. Altogether a lovely stay and we would very much recommend Maple Grove to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amelia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsay W, Owner at Maple Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Maple Grove. We hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Great place for two people,fully equipped,comfortable,friendly host.If you want to get away from the real world but still have all the comforts of home this is your spot.This is a farm/small holding in the middle of nowhere so is an ideal escape,take all your food etc as very limited supplies.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Derek & Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsay W, Owner at Maple Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you Derek for choosing to stay at Maple Grove. So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

It is way out of town and very quiet. The garden is part of an indigenous forest set on a 5-acre plot. That in itself was amazing enough but we saw birds in the garden that we seldom see anywhere else. The facilities are really charming (maybe not as private as some might like) but clean, airy and more than functional. Lyndsay and Peter are also very helpful in guiding you to get the most out of Hogsback. Please phone them before leaving because there are better and not so good roads to choose to Hogsback.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johanj689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsay W, Owner at Maple Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review us Johan. We loved having you stay with us and hope to see you again. Warm regards Peter and Lyndsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This is certainly one of the best places we have ever stayed! Absolutely everything you can think of has been catered for in these wonderful self-catering cottages.
The owners were fantastic, and have really gone above and beyond to ensure you have everything you need, not only in the cottages, but also in terms of information about Hogsback and all the activities on offer. Hogsback itself is so beautiful, and finding such a great place to stay was just the cherry on top. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NicolaMcNamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsay W, Owner at Maple Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you so much Nicola - this makes what we do so worthwhile.
We loved having you stay at Maple Grove and look forward to your next visit.
Many thanks
Lyndsay and Peter Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Very nice and comfortable stay. Fully equipped cabin and very cosy. Lyndsay and Peter was very friendly. The property has a beautiful walk.
Hogsback is a very unique destination and should be visited at least once.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 917kerenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsay W, Owner at Maple Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thanks so much Keren for your lovely review. We loved having you stay at Maple Grove and look forward to seeing you again when you are in our neck of the woods!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews