We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great find”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey Green

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
New Abbey, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

jam4teaLi...
lichfield
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This cottage felt warm and welcoming from the moment we opened the door. Small but space is used supremely well and all modern comforts, including a dishwasher tucked in the corner of the kitchen. Lovely and clean and comfortable, and plenty of storage for those of us incapable of packing light. There was a fantastic Victoria sponge left for us in the fridge with bottle of milk - really nice touch. Still eating cake at end of our 5 day stay and still delicious. Easy to find and a quiet location. Saw the bats flying around the Abbey one evening which was very atmospheric. Really enjoyed the cottage. Shame about the weather!

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlo R
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great place to stay, lovely little cottage. Great cake made for us too! Doors were a little creaky for our little one (8months) but otherwise can't fault it.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg P
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely ideal”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully presented cottage in a lovely village, an ideal base for exploring this region - both close-by and further afield. If you're feeling energetic I recommend going up to the Waterloo monument and then climbing the spiral staircase to the top of the monument itself - the awe inspiring panoramic view is reward for your effort. The cottage was very well equipped, including with a surprise home made cake in the fridge (delicious by the way, needed to climb up to the monument to try and burn it off!) and clearly great care and attention is taken to ensure that you have everything you will need. I think the range of information brochures, maps, guides etc has to be the most comprehensive I have ever encountered in such accommodation and helped me greatly to plan our activities during our stay.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrs franc...
1 review
“comfy cottage with all mod cons,perfect”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

nice little village with plenty to see nearby, weather dependent,town a short drive away with local bus available.abbey stunning!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
1 review
“Abbey Green - brilliant!”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Abbey Green. Allan and Susan had thought of everything a visitor might need and left a wealth of information about the cottage, the village and the surrounding countryside. The guides and maps were extremely helpful. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom great and the kitchen equiped with all we could want - including a wonderful home made cake. Thank you!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.