We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, clean and convenient”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey Green

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
New Abbey, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Colin P
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and convenient”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second short stay at this property and we enjoyed it even more than the first - helped by some fabulous weather which enable us to make good use of the secluded garden. This cottage is in a very convenient location with every facility that one could want. Good walking and many interesting locations but near enough to Dumfries for major shopping. We would stay here again, without hesitation, should the occasion arise.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill S
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a picturesque village”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The location is perfect- a very picturesque village and the cottage is located right in the middle of the square.
Beautiful ruined abbey, fabulous tea room serving snacks, light lunches and gorgeous cakes and the corn mill is well worth a visit.
Abbey Green cottage is a beautiful little place, nicely furnished to a very high standard and very well equipped. There was nothing we could fault, the beds were so comfy and the furnishings all new. A lovely touch was the fabulous cake we found in the fridge- Thankyou.
This cottage lived up to its picture postcard description as did the village of New Abbey.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZappaMuff...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC! Beautiful cottage. Perfect start to the New Year 2017”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I stayed in Abbey Green for a few days over Hogmanay and it was the best self catering accommodation EVER! The host left us a gorgeous Victoria sponge too which was so lovely. The cottage is gorgeous! The beds are comfy and the fire in the living room was lovely as it was winter when we stayed. The area was great for walks, I recommend walking up to the Waterloo Monument but it is not for people with mobility issues, lots of steep steps but amazing views. We absolutely loved our stay here and can not wait to go back!

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coastal51...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely cottage, lovely village, helpful people, ie ladies in the shop, waitresses in the tearoom, all first class, The cottage itself is well maintained by the owner, the garden and furniture really relaxing. Overall everything first class.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.