We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good accommodation and wonderful trip”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey Green

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
New Abbey, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coastal51...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely cottage, lovely village, helpful people, ie ladies in the shop, waitresses in the tearoom, all first class, The cottage itself is well maintained by the owner, the garden and furniture really relaxing. Overall everything first class.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willymcgh...
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
“Modern and Cozy, Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We recently stayed at the Abbey Green for one full week in May/June 2017. We travelled to New Abbey for a wedding, but we also spent multiple days touring about the local area doing sightseeing and historic tours. The Green has been here for a very long time as the historic photos inside will show you, but the interior is anything but antique. The kitchen and bathroom have been extensively upgraded with very modern appliances and fixtures making a smaller space very efficient and welcoming. The bed and bedding was so comfortable, we slept amazing all week. Despite being close the the road, we barely heard any sounds and noise was not an issue for us. Located in the centre of town, it is a very short walk to all the local amenities including the shop, pub, cafe, and the 2 historic sites (Sweetheart Abbey and the Corn Mill). This was an excellent place to spend time in, we had room for several travelling friends to come and socialize with us, and the garden out back was a beautiful space to relax and enjoy the outdoors. There was a great collection of maps, directions, leaflets etc and our host gave us lots of information and tips before we arrived that were so thoughtful and helpful for us.
We hope to return to New Abbey in the future, and the Abbey Green will be our first choice of places to stay.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wainwrigh...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Had our first stay at the cottage over a few days to visit family who live in the village. We were absolutely delighted with the premises, spotlessly clean, warm, cosy and a real home from home feel.
The beds were comfortable, the decoration and maintenance to a high standard and everything you could need for a great break in this lovely part of the world.... especially the Victoria sponge cake!
There is so much to do and see in the area whether you are a family or a couple like us just needing a base for a family visit. The village is small but interesting with some great walks on the doorstep.
We would have no hesitation recommending the cottage to anyone and will absolutely be booking it again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valeriebr...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Splendid i wanted for nothing”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My main reason for the visit was to see my family who live in the village. We went on a lovely walk from Rockcliffe through the woods to another beach which I believe stared with a K. I also went to Moffat on my own, had a lovely meal in the hotel there. Also did some shopping in Moffat mill which is well worth a visit and went with my daughter to Castle Douglas. Which has some shops which you don't see else where. The cottage was wonderful every amenity you could want. The cake which the owners left for me was delicious and my only wish was that it was smaller. Even though I shared it I still threw some away, perhaps when there is only one visitor you could scale it down.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.