We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little cottage, excellent base for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey Green

The Beautiful Conservation village of New Abbey, voted best small scottish village 2012.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Beautiful Conservation village of New Abbey, voted best small scottish village 2012.
The beautiful listed Abbey Green Cottage, loctaed in the heart of the village cobbled square. Abbey Green Cottage, one of the prettiest cottages in the village.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
The Beautiful Conservation village of New Abbey, voted best small scottish village 2012.
The beautiful listed Abbey Green Cottage, loctaed in the heart of the village cobbled square.
Abbey Green Cottage, one of the prettiest cottages in the village.
Fantastic private sheltered sun trap, located in the garden, perfect for enjoying a glass of wine.
Abbey Green's cottage Garden, featuring the 700 year old historic Sweet Heart Abbey wall.
The Beautiful Historic village of New Abbey, featuring Sweet Heart Abbey.
Main Bedroom high spec bed, this bed can be split into two singles if required.
Wet room with power shower
Single Bedroom, furnished with a high quality Austen Nickel Bed.
Sandyhills Beach, just 15 minutes away, miles of golden sand to enjoy.
Sweatheart Abbey, New Abbey
The Abbey Arms, New Abbey, the cottage is located just a few steps away.
The Mill Pond, located 100m from the cottage, fantastic place to sit and watch the ducks
Shambellie walled gardens and walks starts in the square, New Abbey
Award winning, Abbey Tea Room, New Abbey, 1 minutes walk from the cottage.
The road into New Abbey, the cottage is just around the corner, just look at the back drop, beatiful
The walk up and around criffel starts in the square, New Abbey
The Corn Mill, this fantastic historic building is the view from the lounge of Abbey Green cottage.
Waterloo monument, the walk to this starts in the square, New Abbey.
Southerness Golf Championship Links course, designed by MacKenzie Ross, just 5 minutes away.es
Caerlaverock Castle, just a short drive from the cottage, i am sure you will agree it is unique.
Loch Kens Aqua Park
Single bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
New Abbey, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Steve C
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage, excellent base for exploring Dumfries & Galloway”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cottage is situated in the village of New Abbey within walking distance of the beautiful Sweetheart Abbey.

Abbey Green is very well equipped and comfortable and the owners seem to have thought of everything to help you enjoy your stay including a lovely cake to welcome us on arrival! It has a lovely garden which can be found down a path to the side of the cottage which would be ideal to sit in or have a bbq on warm, summer evenings if you are lucky enough with the weather. It also has wifi which came in handy as neither of us could get a phone signal in the village. Beds were comfortable and the wet room very good too.
An excellent week's stay despite the variable weather, we would definitely recommend the cottage and we hope to go back at a warmer time of year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne D
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best !!”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in this perfect cottage in 2016 and couldn't wait to return for an Easter break this year. We are just as impressed as we were during our last visit - this is a really beautiful cottage. The owners deserve lots of praise for their hard work and effort in making this the best accommodation we have ever stayed in during our many holidays in Scotland. Everything is perfect and we highly recommend that you stay in Abbey Green Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners are wonderful and show super attention to detail
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Very well equipped cottage set in a great location. Friendly and helpful neighbours. Sweetheart Abbey was a short walk away and the tearoom was delightful, serving amazing scones. Lovely quiet beaches nearby. Plenty to do in the area. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well equipped and cosy”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed to stay in this well maintained and equipped cottage for some nights. Everything was absolutely clean. We found a lot of useful and luxury equipment like WiFi, TV, video games, food waste disposer, an electric blind, etc... The beds were really comfortable.
The owner was very helpful and reacted quickly on questions we had during our stay.
This one was our favourite accomodation during our 2-weeks Scotland round-trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very good equipment
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaeron
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Gem”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is so lovely we booked it again less than 24hrs from our arrival. It is very well decorated with lovely furnishings, a very comfortable mattress, a wet room/ bathroom with power shower, a garden to sit out in when the weather is good and every thing you could possibly need for a great holiday break in Dumfries & Galloway. The cottage is just round the corner from the Abbey itself and the tea room next to the Abbey is excellent. There is a village shop just across the road which is well stocked and also licenced to sell alcohol. The Steamboat restaurant just 5mins drive away has a fantastic reputation. There are local taxis for those who wish to partake of a wee refreshment while overlooking the sea. There are beaches, walks, riding, kayaking, cycling trails, lovely boutique shops in the surrounding towns and 5miles away there is an Organic Farm Shop at Beeswing near Loch Arthur. Allan and Suzanne the owners of Green Cottage are very helpfull indeed. There was a scrumptious chocolate cake awaiting us on our arrival - yummy! I highly recommend Abbey Green.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location,ambiance, decor and cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing