We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,124)
Filter reviews
2,124 results
Traveller rating
733
896
315
120
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
896
315
120
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach frontfishbeachfront roomsoupspool barrex resortsbeach vendorsisland tourst georgesmain restauranta la carte restauranthotel groundsair canadaaquarium restaurantbeautiful islandexecutive chefthree star
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,124 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

You can almost walk to this hotel from the airport...it's that close!
Check in was good as we arrived late at night so we expected the rooms to be ready, which they were. Service on arrival was very good!
The room itself was tiled, maybe due to the fact that it was on the beachfront.
The a/c in the room never worked, it just blew air.
Power in the rooms are predominantly provided via 220V plugs. There is only one 110V double outlet in the room and it's not near the beds.
The location and grounds are gorgeous. It's right on the beach with a pool on an upper deck overlooking the waves.
There is also a pond on the grounds, very lovely, though I'm not sure that this was the reason for the amount of mosquitoes we encountered. Just walk with repellant I guess.
Food was decent but a bit pricey. There's also a Punjabi restaurant just a few steps from the hotel if you want to try something else. Their food is amazing!
All in all, not bad.

Room Tip: Get a higher room closer to the lobby for peace and quiet...as well as carpet to avoid the wet and sandy feel you'll get from tiles.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gndgm, General Manager at Grenadian by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Richard D,

Warm Carnival greetings!

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience here on Trip Advisor as it was our pleasure hosting you. Sorry to read your a/c unit as that should be an easy resolution. I will try and find out your room number to have someone check for the next guest.

"All in all", the Grenadian by rex resorts is a wonderful place to vacation and stay. See you the next time.

Regards,
Christopher Forbes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

I have been a frequent visitor with my family to the Rex for over 10 years however our recent visit will probably be our last
As someone of Grenadian parentage i am fully aware that at this time of year( carnival) the island is busier and noisier than normal. Although the variety of food and entertainment have always left a lot to be desired, the fact that the hotel is reasonably priced when compared to other hotels in the Grand Anse area has meant that we have been repeat visitors for some time.
The Rex has a new manager and he decided that it would be a good idea to rent out a section of the lawn area to a music promoter Waggy T, to have a pre carnival event starting at 9pm and finishing at 3.35am. We like many families staying at the hotel had no interest in going but were informed that children would not be permitted to the event in any case. Quite what we were supposed to do with our kids if we did want to attend the event is a mystery as no provision had been made. We were subjected to ear splitting noise until 3.35am and our concerns were met with a shrug of the shoulder and we were told that this is what it's like in Grenada at this time of year. Yes it's busier and noisier but after paying thousands of GB Pounds and US dollars, guests should not have been subjected to this. We were also told that those that wished to go along would have to stump up EC300 dollars, this after having paid in excess of £5000 for an all inclusive holiday at the hotel.
The short term financial gain for the hotel i believe will be met with long term loss as many guests that we spoke to have like us decided the arrogance shown by the management was an affront to loyal and first time visitors alike.
Personally, as someone of Grenadian parentage, i found the whole debacle embarrassing and smacked of second rate management, if you have had the good fortune to travel to other destinations around the globe, Grenada is light years behind in terms of hospitalality and the Rex has done little to alter that perception.
Lastly, i would like to commemd hard working staff members; Desline, Ralph and John amomg others who unfortunately have to work under a clueless management team.
Lost customer

Ben

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
6  Thank mrben300465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gndgm, General Manager at Grenadian by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Ben,,

Thank you for staying at the Grenadian and we sincerely apologize for any and all inconveniences you and your family may have experienced while vacationing with us. We are saddened that you have decided to not return to the Rex Grenadian even though we tried not to inconvenience you all by complimentary upgrading you to a Seaview guest room away from the noise.

As for the comment on looking after the children at those hours, we apologize that this was an issue for you and your family as the resort does provide babysitting services for an additional fee and it should be pre-arranged with the Reception at least 24hrs beforehand. Resort management and security have had to respond to various guest rooms calls where parents left their loved ones unsupervised while patronizing various off-property Carnival events this past week and weekend.

As for the comment on Grenada's hospitality, from my personal experienced of having lived and worked in 15 countries, Grenada is in my top three in service, friendliness, geographical diversity, safety, and cleanliness. The mentioned employees are wonderful individuals whom have worked at the Rex Grenadian for average of over 20yrs each; and are a true representations of this wonderful island. Thank you for recognizing/mentioning of them. They are the ones who create the wonderful resort experience as well as fond memories of the Spice Island of Grenada.

Again, thank you for staying with us, and we sincerely hope you will change your mind in the future.

Kind regards,
Christopher Forbes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

If we had been informed on arrival that our room would not be ready for a further 2 hrs we would not have sat around waiting but gone exploring. The communication, welcome & attitude of the staff was lacking. The food was expensive & lacked imagination & local flavour. The room however was spacious and the bed was comfortable for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank poseidonsailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gndgm, General Manager at Grenadian by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear poseidonsailors,

We apologize for the tardiness of the having your guest room ready on time upon your check-in. Glad to read that even though late, the room was "spacious and clean and beds comfortable for a good night's sleep". That is part of our overall goal.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you once again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Chris Forbes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Great BA flight took us to this stunning island, the transfer took less than 5 minutes in a taxi. On arrival, the receptionist was friendly and welcoming and we were assisted to our room by the always smiling John. Yes there are a great deal of steps involved, maybe upgrade to a beachfront room if you have any difficulty with stairs. But the grounds are very lovely, the lake with a bridge over it has some amazing iguanas, birds, lizards and is very well kept, as is the beach.
Our room was large, and yes , the furniture is dated as is the bathroom. However the A/C was possibly the best we have come across, the beds were large and very comfortable and the view from the balcony was stunning, with amazing sunsets. The shower was good, although it takes a little getting used to the settings, but not a problem at all. So what more do you need in your room?

Two days in, and we were startled by shouting, whooping and what sounded like hundreds of voices. Indeed there were hundreds of voices, as 200 students from the University of the West Indies arrived . The noise that carried on until the early hours had us wanting to fly home! We were looking forward to a restful break. I asked if we could move rooms, however they were spread throughout the hotel for 2 weeks, so no where would have been particularly quiet. The manger Chris was really helpful trying to assist us, but after a few days the students seemed to calm down, they were mostly extremely polite and friendly.
The restaurant seemed to struggle with the sheer volume of guests, so dinner for the students was planned for 18.30, thus enabling other guests to have a nice calm dinner. Much has been said in previous reviews about the food in general.The food is good, do not expect a huge selection, this is not a huge mass produced all inclusive similar to Mexico or D Republic. It is not American or European based so please do not expect that...you are in the Caribbean. The fish was very good, there was usually chicken, which was well cooked , especially on the BBQ night, soup, vegetables and rice. Desserts were a little bit hit and miss, sometimes a tasty home made pudding, but sometimes rather dry cake. Ask for the ice cream it is wonderful. Afternoon tea was not really enticing, cheese spread sandwiches and dry cake, but the courtyard setting was so pretty. Drinks were good, maybe the cocktail menu could be slightly extended.
Breakfast was changed to the A La Carte restaurant for All inclusive guests, then moved again to the poolside restaurant, great setting, however there was no cereal there and the toaster was not working, so we walked back to the main restaurant with all the students, at least we got our breakfast. None of this was really important though, we just trundled along as there is no rush, everything is done at a calm pace.
The notice board showed daily Welcome meetings to give info about the hotel. We waited in reception at the time shown on the poster, we had to ask at reception who, after a phone call, told us someone would bee along in 15 mins. The chat itself , to be honest was not particularly welcoming. Neither were guest relations who have quite limited working hours in their office in the lobby area. We asked about a trip on their poster showing turtle watching, Charmian told us she would make enquiries for us , but never got back to us with info. We booked a snorkelling trip with her, but this was cancelled on the morning of the trip after we had waited for 30 mins. We did eventually go near the end of our stay, it was fantastic, I have reviewed this separately. We also booked a tour of the island with her, but we had no confirmation of the tour, I had to drop a note under the door of her office to chase it up. Therefore I would suggest booking excursions on line before arrival. We so enjoyed a Saturday morning in St Georges, we caught the local bus from the hotel driveway, and returned from the bus station.
The pool is fine, small but relaxing with stunning views. The sunbeds were in good condition, but some of the matresses were torn, not a major concern though as the towels provided are on top. We needed shade and as sun parasols can blow over onto the beach below, we tried to stay under one of the canopied day beds, the covers were clean and refreshed daily. The bar was a great place to enjoy the beautiful views, the service was very good.

This brings me to mention the service in general...it is first class. From the cleaning staff, to the bar tenders, reception, gardeners, restaurant staff, some who are very young but so keen to assist and are so friendly. The ladies in the shops are very welcoming without being pushy. We bought some lovely keepsakes.
The beach is possibly one of the best we have ever come across, the lack of motorised water sports make it a safe haven for swimming. The sea was warm , clean and with many fish. It was safe to walk along the beautiful beach and you could always find a really quiet spot to relax. We walked to the nearby Aquarium restaurant for the famed Sunday afternoon with live band and found it a let down. Very pretentious, drinks were poor quality and staff quite obnoxious. We stayed 10 mins and were so glad to return to the friendly haven which is the Rex. We enjoyed a cool drink at the beach side bar with polite, friendly staff.
All in all , this is a fantastic place. Maybe it seems that I have been less than positive about a few aspects, but I have tried to be honest and factual. Yes, it is dated as many have previously said, but for value for money, it cannot be beaten. Please remember this is a 3* resort with an all inclusive "option" it is not a 24 hour non stop resort. It is laid back, relaxing, beautiful, friendly, and the island is great for exploring. Without doubt it has the friendliest, nicest staff. We have stayed at many 5* hotels which do not have the charm of the Rex.
The general manager is making huge improvements, but these will take time. Accept that this is a 3* hotel and embrace the great service, relaxation and true Caribbean spirit in the most amazing setting, and above all enjoy your stay here....we certainly did. Our thanks to ALL the staff .

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have great views, away from reception, but there are lots of steps.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank franklynalouishus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gndgm, General Manager at Grenadian by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear franklynalouishus,

Warm greetings from the Grenadian!

Want to thank you for your patience during the UWI group last month. Once the excitement wore off, everyone calmed down and all had fun. Truly appreciate your detailed account of your stay with us as it was our pleasure hosting you both.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Regards,
Chris Forbes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Went here for a 2 week holiday. Just out of season. Hotel was in a perfect position. Lovely beach close to airport but no aeroplane noise.
Arrived at anticipated time but room was not ready. An hours wait after a long flight is not ideal. Offered a late book out to compensate so guess the problem will recur!!
Main restaurant was disappointing. Buffet style but little imagination and not a lot of variety. Very little service from the staff and food that had run out not quickly replaced.
Pool shallow and not ideal for swimming.
Beach beautiful but water sports centre not that encouraging or helpful. Little to see when snorkelling off the beach.
Entertainment not imaginative and sometimes did not happen.
Some nearby restaurants offered much better food

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gndgm, General Manager at Grenadian by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Malcolm B,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Rex Grenadian. sorry that we did not meet all your vacation expectations, however from what you have mentioned, you did a lot while here (snorkeling, relaxing on the beach, swimming in the pool, dining off-property". It seems you had some good times.

WE loved having you and we hope that you will once again join us in the near future to experience our future changes.

Warm regards,
Chris Forbes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews