We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Gluten Free Hight Tea”

Gatehouse Tea Rooms
Ranked #15 of 544 Restaurants in Parramatta
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Gatehouse Tea Rooms is the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of busy city life and relax. Indulge in the finest quality High Tea or a light snack in one of the oldest High Tea venues in Australia. This stunning building, built in 1887 is a significant part of the colonial history of Parramatta and in 2007 was granted World Heritage Listing by UNESCO. We specialise in High Tea and are a popular option for Baby Showers, Hen’s parties, birthdays, engagements or when you are looking to do something a little bit special. Creating a classy yet down to earth environment and an exceptional experience every time is why we exist. So whether you are a sweet tooth or prefer the savoury delights, we have the perfect High Tea for you.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Had the best GF High Tea I've had all the cakes, sandwiches and little heart shapes pancakes were delicious. My friends had the Classic High Tea and one had the Savoury High Tea everyone enjoyed their food immensely. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Tea Rooms are beautiful. Great location.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank merrywood74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We discovered this gem last week and wow what a great experience, the service the food the setting was all great, we must return again. The high tea set was perfect and the orange tea was devine

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 380,800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Service was 100% satisfactory .Food was fresh and light.This is one of those little special tea house cafes.WE loved this place they sell beautiful scones ,muffins and cakes and a few small light meals .Slightly expensive .We had children with us and they were treated with respect and meals slightly amended to suit them without any fuss.I have to say there wasn't a crumb left on anyone's plate and there was 7 of us.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The staff actually seemed to enjoy working at this historic Parramatta venue. Perhaps they were on drugs or something !!! I'm not a HIGH TEA fan but my 84 year old Mother in Law and my wife loved it. A dead tree branch came down from above and almost killed us all but that was included in the price. Best to eat inside if the wind is up. This place is definitely worth a visit if you are in Parramatta.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrewboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We popped in on spec recently, for breakfast. The service was very attentive, the food pretty good and the coffee excellent. Great spot, highly recommend it.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackfrost14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gatehouse Tea Rooms also viewed

Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 
North Parramatta, Parramatta
 
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Gatehouse Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing