We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely property in an ideal location.”

Review of The Grooms House

The Grooms House in fantastic countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grooms House in fantastic countryside
Sitting room with French doors to private patio Private Garden, Patio and Summer House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The Grooms House in fantastic countryside
Sitting room with French doors to private patio
Private Garden, Patio and Summer House
Kitchen - fully equipped with spacious dining area
Upstairs view over The River Avon
View from your private patio & garden over the River Avon
Double bedroom - large, light and airy
Alternative view of bedroom
Bath with Shower
Bathroom view with wash basin
Peaceful Setting - BBQ, Sunloungers, Summer House
View of Malverns across surrounding farmland
View over Bredon Hill across surrounding farmland
One of countless pretty walks on the doorstep
Wander down & sit by the river or charter our boat
Nearby pub down River - The Fleet, Twyning
The Swan Pub: local,traditional with great beers & food
The Oak - Our best gourmet pub 10 mins away
The Jockey - one of our local favorites - fun landlord
A guest recently described this place as a hidden gem!
View from the rear of the house
Tewkesbury where The Avon meets The Severn
Nearby Eckington Bridge New Year 2010
Local award winning farmshop and tea rooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Strensham, Worcestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracey C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely property in an ideal location.”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely short break at The Groom's House in October. The cottage was clean and well decorated and the perfect size for a couple. Parking was easy, right next to the cottage, and the grounds are peaceful and well maintained, with lovely views and near the river.

The location is ideal, enabling easy access to Worcestershire and Gloucestershire. We were in the area to attend the Cheltenham Literature Festival, but also visited Gloucester and some of the smaller towns.

There are also plenty of pubs and restaurants locally, as well as a farm shop. A visit the local church, by the property entrance, is also highly recommended.

The directions provided were most helpful, and I would not hesitate to recommend The Groom's House to anyone looking to visit the Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Thank you Tracy - it was a pleasure to have you both stay - hope to see you again. Rosemary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing break in a cosy cottage”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at the Grooms cottage. We received a warm welcome from Rosemary the owner. The cottage is set in a peaceful location with lovely views to the river and hills beyond. The bedroom was light and airy with a very comfortable bed.The kitchen was well equipped and the lounge had a large seating area which was nice to come back to after a day out walking. We went on several river walks in the area and enjoyed a trip to Tewkesbury . We also enjoyed a visit to the nearby picturesque market town of Pershore with its elegant Georgian architecture.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The quiet peaceful location
Liked least: The property was not within walking distance to restaurants/pubs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asr_hh
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Picture perfect Cotswolds experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in the Grooms House for about 2 weeks and absolutely loved it. It is equipped with everything you need, Rosemary was a great host and the view is absolutely fantastic. I would absolutely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
It's great to welcome guests from all over the world and whatever happens in politics we continue to appreciate and welcome our EU visitors
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bry46
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Little Piece Of Heaven.......”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

If it's peace, quiet and tranquility that you are after then The Groom's House at The Old Rectory Strensham is the place for you.
My husband and I recently spent 3 days( definitely not long enough ) at this wee gem of a place and could not have been happier. The location, the well equipped comfortable cottage and the most delightful helpful owners all make for the perfect package.
My one regret is that unfortunately we live on the other side of the world and can't make this gorgeous little haven a regular getaway!!!
ps A trip to the Revill's Farm Shop and Café is an absolute must.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acwNederl...
Nederland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First the positive points: the cottage is situated in an amazing spot, its neighbours being St. John's Church which is no longer regularly used (key near the cottage) and the owners' house, part of which they also rent out. Rosemary, one of the owners, is à very nice lady who left à bunch of flowers for our arrival. The cottage, however, was not very clean when we arrived. The windows had not been cleaned for some time, drawer handles and cutlery were sticky. We actually saw à rat next to our car in the dusk, but then again it is near to the river Avon. Mixed blessings for us here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
This review contradicts all those before and feedback since, which runs into many hundreds of very happy holiday guests. It’s one of those things running a holiday home business; there are those that you just can’t please who make a hobby out of picking fault, who knows why. We absolutely refute the claims made in this review. Even before arrival this particular lady made a complaint about us not being able to meet her in person on arrival (she was ‘fazed’ apparently, even though this was a rare occasion for us)…not a good start. Even though we made provision for another family member to stay behind to meet her we rather anticipated a problematic guest, one just knows from the outset! Nothing was said while staying about any of the remarks made even though we take great care to check in person that everyone is happy during their stay, as was the case with this particular lady. Cleanliness is next to Godliness and we work very hard on both. As regards the rat; well in 15 years we’ve never seen one outside the cottage. In fact we have 2 active working cats on the premises. Having said that some town folk confuse large mice with rats. Even so this is open countryside and she failed to mention that from the same spot one can see other wildlife with greater frequency: deer, rabbits, hares, moles, badgers, hawks, owls and foxes. If you want to live in a sanitised box in the city this is not for you, but it is a peaceful, quaint, cosy, very clean period cottage in idyllic surroundings and 99.9% of people love it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing