We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dovecote Is Gorgeous”
Review of Upper Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Upper Court
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed in the Dovecote over the October half term week. It is a wonderful place. Perfect for a couple. The ground floor contains the kitchen-diner and living area, the first floor is the bedroom and the bathroom is on the second floor. Best bed (4 poster), mattress and bed linen. The place is small, which makes it perfect for a romantic getaway.

It is right on the banks of the mill stream and lake. There are other cottages/apartments/flats on the property but we felt it was very private and secluded. Great for walks in the area. Can definitely recommend the short walk to Kemerton Lake - local conservation area with hides looking out over the water.

Also perfect for touring this wonderfully picturesque part of the Cotswolds.

We were very sad to have to cut short our trip (unavoidable circumstances). We were there for 4 out of 7 days but we felt we got our money's worth. This is one of those places one would not mind going back to - even if it is just for a weekend.

The only criticism: it would be really awesome if a welcome pack with the basic necessities like coffee, tea, milk, sugar, salt, pepper, oil, etc. awaits you when you arrive.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoleseyReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Upper Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

We are frequent stayers in Upper Court Cotages. The housekeeping is of the highest standard as is the decor. The setting of the cottages ir magical - particularly the Dovecote - and the Herfords are never failing in their welcome and hospitality. It renews ones faith in the hospitality industry to visit places like this!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grove_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We were lucky enough to stay in the Dovecot at Upper Court as part of a long-weekend birthday celebration - and what a treat. The accomodation is clean, comfortable and has all imaginable amenities for a lovely self-catered holiday. The grounds of the house are wonderful, blending effortlessley with the stunning surrounding countryside giving a beautifully peaceful escape from the horros of the modern world! We were able to spend time in the main house with other guests which also showed the most magnificent quality of accomodation. There is a small but perfectly enjoyable pool, a games room, and even rowing on the lake for those inclined to take to the water! The owners were extremely charming and helpful, and on hand to ensure all folk thouroughly enjoyed their stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IainEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We discovered Upper Court, the beautiful surrounds and lovely cottages, when searching for a wedding venue that would accommodate 30+ guests onsite. What a find! It was the only spot we visited and immediately fell in love with the grounds, the lovely rustic cottages, and the delightful owners Diana and Bill.

Four of us stayed for a long weekend over Easter 2011 in the Stables cottage and enjoyed this lovely two bedroom cottage with separate ensuite bathrooms, especially the bedroom in the eaves with a clever wetroom shower ensuite, and the well equipped kitchen. The outside table was a lovely spot for breakfast. All the cottages have been tastefully decorated by Diana in what I'd describe as "shabby chic", with comfortable homely furniture and interesting antiques and knick-knacks.

As a wedding venue, we simply couldn't have asked for anything better. Our guests are still raving about it! We booked out all the cottages onsite for our wedding weekend (Fri-Sun nights), which allowed us to host a welcome BBQ on the Friday night (thanks to all the BBQs onsite that we were allowed use of). On Saturday, following our wedding ceremony at St Benet's catholic church in the village we had a lovely afternoon tea drinks reception on the croquet lawns, where guests enjoyed tea and cake and a game or two of croquet. This was followed by a dinner reception in the amazing marquee set up on the lawn with views over the lake (complete with swans bobbing serenely in the twinkling lights from the marquee!). Having the cottages for family to stay in onsite meant that everyone could enjoy catching up over the course of a whole weekend and share dinners/breakfasts together. The table in the Coach House cottage is big enough to host breakfast and dinner buffets for 30+ people easily!

Some of us stayed onsite for the whole week before the wedding, just enjoying the comfortable surrounds of the cottages and being able to cook for ourselves. We self-catered and found the cottage kitchens to be well equipped. All your necessary shopping/grocery requirements can be easily met in Tewkesbury, only 10 minutes drive away.

The Dove Cote is just the sweetest little cottage where my bridesmaids and I got ready for the wedding and which was our honeymoon cottage as well. It is a beautifully laid out cottage with a four-poster bed and fantastic bath/shower at the top of the cottage.

All in all, I cannot recommend Upper Court highly enough for a week or weekend away with family and friends, or for an amazing relaxed wedding venue where you can do entirely your own thing without fussy wedding planners or dictated suppliers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Just had the loveliest weekend in one of the self-catering cottages there with 10 other girls - gorgeous setting, easy to get to from London, amazingly comfy beds with crisp white cotton... Sunny on the Saturday so went for a walk up beautiful Breedon Hill with picnic and Pimms... then sat round the pool with more Pimms in the afternoon followed by drinks in front of the lake with all the wild flowers, as we watched the sun go down. We used James, the recommended chef, for the evening meal - he cooked up a feast and we all sat round the old oak table in the cottage. He was great with the FOUR gluten free diary free girls too. Sunday it rained but that didn't matter as we had more Pimms (!) and a pottery workshop all morning - we all made a massive plate for the hen, and cups that we painted and signed. And we tried our hand at throwing pots at the wheel. We then did some print making on ready made frames so we all have a memory of the weekend to hang on the wall. Two of the Herford children - now in their 30s I think - run these group art and pottery workshops that you can do for just a few hours, which meant we didn't get bored. We thought ahead and got Ocado to deliver supplies on the Friday night, and James turned up with home made bread every morning and cakes for tea. The perfect hen weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArabellaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemerton
7.7 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
8.5 km away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
4.6 km away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 1 in Kemerton
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Court

Address: Church Lane | Tewkesbury, Kemerton GL20 7HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Kemerton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kemerton
Price Range: $134 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Upper Court 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five self-catering holiday cottages set in the beautiful grounds of Upper Court in the Cotswolds. Perfect for family celebrations, hen parties, weddings or a romantic break for 2. Located at the foot of Bredon Hill boasting an all-weather tennis court, outdoor swimming pool.4 Miles from Tewkesbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Upper Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upper Court Hotel Kemerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing