We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“People make a place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“People make a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I had booked a 2 night stay for 10 people for a 70th birthday on the Dinner Bed and Breakfast package for last weekend so was nervous of taking the responsibility. We had lake view balcony rooms which were fabulous and we were all allocated as requested next to each other which was great. A few hiccups at the beginning made me think that maybe a mistake had been made, however then I happened to bump into a manager called Dom and explained the few problems that I had. He immediately took my mobile number went away for half an hour and solved the lot. Everything then went as smoothly as it could have. Every member of staff that we encountered were fantastic and helpful and could not do enough to please. This year we have been fortunate enough to stay in several five star rated hotels but I can honestly say this was the easiest. You do not feel that they are trying to squeeze every penny out of you and are generous with extras which is so refreshing. Plenty of communal areas for meeting up with the rest of your party and both restaurants that we tried had good menu's and excellent service. Well done and thank you Dom!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerewegoagainLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom and Stephen J, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Not only were we delighted for our guests to stay with us but we are very happy that their celebartion was a success.

Our Front of House Team alongside Concierge and ourselves as Guest Relations Managers are always available to help and assist where possible throughout your stay.

We hope that many more guests will enjoy our wide range of services including great accommodation, food, service and locations and enjoy themslevs enough to feel at home at The Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager (s)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    861
    494
    178
    110
See reviews for
457
1,061
36
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

I was lucky and got a spacious lake view room. Beautiful. Plenty Tea, coffee, milk etc in room not rationed like many hotels. Staff helpful and attentive. Conference venue is in separate part of the hotel, so convenient for delegates but not intrusive for guests.
Pool and facilities first class, again staff very friendly and helpful.
I didn't see the many attractions of the water park but walked around the adjacent lake, nice !

Room Tip: Go for Lake View if you can. Believe some noise if facing the road but I was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notrevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom and Stephen J, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
It is pleasing to learn that our guest enjoyed their visit to The Cotswold water Park Four Pillars Hotel. We thank them for their kind comments regading our staff as feedback and commendations for their efforts as mentioned here can be shared with our team and goes a long way towards keeping their spirits high.

We are very fortunate to have such a location and our guests are able to choose from an amazing range of Cotswolds outdoor activities and watersports, including wake boarding, sailing, horse riding, cycling, fishing or simply strolling around our very own Lake 6 walk.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager (s)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
589 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Booked in for sunday lunch with family and had a lovely time with view over lake. 7 of us booked in ranging from 2 - 85!! Hotel and restaurant all in very good condition, lovely view of the lake and nice relaxing set up to catch up over a coffee. Lunch was a carvery - good soup and salad, usual meats and pudding. Food was ok - salad the best bit, roast potatoes a bit tough. It was fine in terms of the overall set up and we loved the hotel itself - great for families. I'd definitely recommend and will go back in due course. Love the location and great being by the water. Good coffee

Room Tip: Get a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom and Stephen J, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
We are very grateful for the favurable review left by our guests.

Our Sunday Carvery is very popular with both guests of the hotel and people from the local area and passing visitors.

We offer three courses each Sunday (excluding key calendar dates) but do recommend that reservations are made in advance to avoid dissapointment.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager (s)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Had something to eat in the lounge bar top rated food service was outstanding martyn on the bar was outstanding making sure we were all ok will be coming bck again thanks martyn

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simoncox89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom and Stephen J, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
We are very grateful to our guests for their positive review and delighted that they enjoyed their dining experience in our popular and busy Bar Lounge.

Each member of our team works hard to provide a service to our guests and we are pleased that outstanding service was provided by Bars Team Leader Martyn and will share the feedback mentioned here with him and the bars team.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My partner and I stayed for 1 night on the bank holiday. The hotel itself has a very nice out look over the lake and I would recommend upgrading to a lake view room as this is what sells the hotel. Our room was on the 2nd floor with a nice large balcony with views over the lake. The room was very clean and the bottles of wine went down very well.
Once arrived and settled in we decided to go for a late lunch at the Boat House pub. My Sandwich was nice however both of our chips were cold along with my partners Brie and Cranberry Ciabatta.
After lunch we went for a walk around the lake and headed to the hotel bar for a drink. We finally found a table that was clear of previous peoples glasses and dirty plates which I found rather annoying. Drinks are priced accordingly with the 4 stars status and was served by very friendly staff.
After a sneaky afternoon sleep back in our room we went back down and had dinner in the hotel bar. The food was very good and the staff very friendly however once again there was dirty plates and glasses stacked on various tables around us. It took 45 mins for a member of staff to actually get round to clearing them (or should I say part clearing before being distracted and stopped to do something else).
We both slept well but was woken in the morning by the continuous noise of doors closing from various doors along our corridor and the floor below. It seems odd that the doors do not allow you to close them with the handed from outside the room but can only be pulled closed. I found this rather annoying. You can also hear people in the rooms either side whether it be their conversations or bladder movements in their bathrooms. It is a shame that when they spent the millions of pounds building the hotel they didnt sound proof the rooms enough.
Again breakfast was very good and we had this in our room, check out was also efficient.

To sum the hotel up; The staff are all very friendly but Food and Beverage staff are not very pro-active when clearing tables. The hotel is very large and busy so I would not recommend staying if you are planning a quiet weekend away.
I would not stay again as it is so large and corporate for my idea of a country cotswold hotel but clearly has a place in the market which it does well.

Room Tip: Upgrade to lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAEDLE1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom and Stephen J, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
We are pleased that our guests were happy with check-in and the breakfast facilities and were happy with their room and upgrade package.

We are sorry to learn that our guests encountered problems with service in our popular and busy bar lounge and have recently addressed any issues so that each member of our team is responsible for separate areas of service to ensure that our guests are always being cared for and the tables are cleared without delay during busy periods.

It saddens us to learn that these guests would not choose to stay with us again, preferring perhaps a smaller more intimate hotel, however, we hope that they will try some of the other hotels in our group that may be more tailored to their taste.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager (s)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
30.2 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
25.1 km away
Cheltenham Park Hotel
Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
28.5 km away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
37.9 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
27.4 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Property: De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price range (per night): $138 - $323
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park South Cerney, Cotswolds - Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing