We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
15
0
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
0
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful weekend every afternoon friendly animals farm stay fire pit straw house highland cattle bnb cows stanthorpe property hosts sleep accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2020

Straw House B & B was a special find and just the escape we needed. Hosts Anna & Tony were warm and welcoming but not intrusive, the accommodation was cosy and spotlessly clean and the farm so beautiful and peaceful. And we had the most sensational omelette, with farm fresh eggs, I have tried for a long time. Thank you so much we hope to be back soon Edwina and Ralph

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EdwinaC594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2020

Really easy to get to and a very comfortable stay. Despite arriving early we were greeted with coffee and homemade pastries. Room was large and warm at night. Really friendly dogs to keep us company in a truely picturesque setting.

Great value and would come back again.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Morgan_99988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here one night recently in room 1 on our way to Toowoomba.
The accommodation is right on the highway. It looks like it's a quiet country property in the photos. Our Gps didn't recognise straw house lane which is a service road just off the hwy. If you miss this turn you'll be driving another 40 klms to Warwick before you can turn around. The sign for The Straw House is on the service road not on highway before the turnoff.
Fortunately we stopped at a winery down the road before we booked in. We were told about the service road by the lady at the winery. If it wasn't for her we would have missed it and driven to Warwick. When we left the straw house our Gps told us we were on Siviter road not straw house lane.
Instructions to access this property need to be provided on booking confirmation.
The property is nice and has a lovely dam. We didn't get to view this very well because there was a couple pashing by the dam till dusk.
Our room was nice. The sofa was surprisingly comfortable. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nice. There was a basic showerhead with low pressure. There was a continental breakfast with real milk, juice, toast cereals and a lovely platter of fruit each.
There is a lovely electric fire for cool nights.
There was some noise from trucks at night. The noise wasn't consistant. We were able to get a good night sleep.
The worst is the block out curtains. There is a blockout curtain in the window however there is just a venetian blind on the window by the door. The door itself is the worst. There is a small thin window in the door. It needs a curtain because the sun comes through there in the morning like a piercing light and hits you in the eye. This really needs to be addressed. That's what would stop us coming back plus a bit pricey.

Otherwise this is a comfortable different type of accommodation.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

I had high expectations from the other reviews and site but it was barely adequate. Fireplace is a heater, fresh local produce was mouldy fruit, which they put back in the fridge after i'd removed it. plywood walls could do with a coat of paint, a wardrobe maybe? some forks for the fruit platter? (when it was replaced) coffee plunger not in room till next day. All in all it just missed on every level. Not what i was expecting or hoping for, and way overpriced for what you get. Also housekeeping was late in the day (4.30) which was inconvenient since we'd been out all day long,

Room tip: There are only two and it's alongside the Mt Lindsay Highway so quite noisy.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Nestled amongst hills & trees is this great little straw-bale constructed BnB. I arrived quite late & parked undercover right near the room. Fast wifi, HDTV, local info brochures & heating will keep you entertained inside, outside you can explore the farm starting from the fish filled dam walking up the hill to the apple orchard with various sites on the way. Breakfast was fresh local produce, coffee, cereals & other nibblies. The bathroom is fab; with lots of lovely solar hot water & the products for use are of high quality. A very lovely little BnB!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews