We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super Cottage. Stunning Location. Great...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stone Cottage Skye

The house and  location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house and  location
Front door Porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The house and  location
Front door
Porch
Lounge with woodburner
Lounge books and glass wall
Barn bedroom
Barn bedroom - this is a superking double bed or can be 2 single beds as well
Barn Bedroom
Wet room and back door
Atrium kitchen
The view from the dining table
'Floating' staircase
Floating staircase
Glass floating staircase. Looking out from the main bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
Upstairs ensuite toilet and basin
View from the house once a month. Moon rise over the Sleat peninsular opposite.
Picture window at night
House and barn from the garden
House at night
Blaven - the closest mountain to Glasnakille
View from the house on a misty day
Blaven in September sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Elgol, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jarmans
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Cottage. Stunning Location. Great facilities.”
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We booked for a family of four (2 Adults and 2 Kiddies) - with the aim of having family time, with some peace and quiet. Elgol is just down the road and is a gorgeous with boat trips out to sea, next to the Cuillen Moutain range. Julian (landlord) has been a pleasure to deal with and there is a great selection of books, DVDs and games to help when the rain comes in. Great holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2018
Many thanks Gareth and Chris, for such a positive review. You'd be welcome back any time. Thanks for being such a pleasure to deal with and for taking good care of the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seancL341...
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highland bolt hole ”
Reviewed 30 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A place to get away from it all. Julian has converted an old stone cottage into something modern and spectacular. A great place for a relaxing holiday. You can visit by public transport if you wanted to. Modern features include high levels of insulation coupled with under floor heating. A real gem of a place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2018
Hello Sean, thanks for a great review - I'm so happy you were able to get to Stone Cottage Skye using public transport. Thanks for taking good care of the place.

Best wishes,

Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaM638
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed 30 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

What a place to get away from it all. Almost opposite the spar cave. Close to Elgol and the best view in Britain. This house has all the comforts you need. A stunning creation and restoration of an old stone cottage brought right up to date. Stunning vistas, warm and comfortable. Lovely bath and fantastic wet room to wash away the pains of a long days walking. High levels of modern insulation and a cosy wood burner means this is a place to visit all year round. Lovely comfortable double beds. We had a great week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2018
Thanks for such a lovely review Thea. I'm really pleased you had such a great break. And you had amazing weather as well. Welcome back anytime.

Best wishes,

Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spongecak...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute Heaven”
Reviewed 28 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The trip from Bradford to Elgol is a passing places road and and the first time driving the road we were a bit anxious and the 1500m on to Glasnakille is even trickier. However after we had driven it each day, it was not a problem and the Stone Cottage is absolutely worth it. We felt at home as soon as we came in the door because it was so warm and welcoming. It has been renovated well but has not lost the character and charm of the original cottage and the view from the front of the house is spectacular. Elgol has some interesting features including the boat trip to Loch Couisk, not to be missed! The weather on this particular day was absolutely superb and the scenery is beyond description. Spa Cave is also located almost opposite the cottage and Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cave is a walk around the headland. Two days of our stay were wet and quite cold and we lit the fire at night for a cosy ambience. Everything you could need - washing machine, dish washer, excellent stove, pantry stocked with basics, king size comfortable beds, washing machine liquid... is provided.
Stone Cottage is a haven for travellers and the Isle of Skye is a must do on any trip to Scotland.

Thank you Julian for all the blood, sweat and tears that must have gone into restoring this lovely place. I will watch with interest what you do with your garden - lots of potential.

joy burns

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Thanks Joy, for the great review and for looking after the cottage so well.

I'm really pleased that you all had a wonderful stay - looks like you did a lot during your stay.

You'd be very welcome if you ever decided to return to the 'misty isle'.

Best wishes,

Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja F
Frankfurt
2 reviews
“The perfect highland getaway”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Stonecottage. The house is perfectly located with fantastic views on the sea from nearly every window. It is very well equipped with every you need for your stay. The house shows a great design combining old stone walls with modern interior, a cozy fire place and comfortable heating system. Stonecottage is the perfect getaway from it all to relax and slow down. For us it was a wonderful place to explore the beautiful Isle of Skye.
Thanks a lot.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2018
Hello Anja,

I'm so sorry, I thought I'd responded at the time. Thank you so much for your kind words. You'd be welcome back any time - thanks for taking good care of the cottage.

Best wishes,

Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing