We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful and very special house in spectacular...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stone Cottage Skye

The house and  location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house and  location
Front door Porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The house and  location
Front door
Porch
Lounge with woodburner
Lounge books and glass wall
Barn bedroom
Barn bedroom - this is a superking double bed or can be 2 single beds as well
Barn Bedroom
Wet room and back door
Atrium kitchen
The view from the dining table
'Floating' staircase
Floating staircase
Glass floating staircase. Looking out from the main bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
Upstairs ensuite toilet and basin
View from the house once a month. Moon rise over the Sleat peninsular opposite.
Picture window at night
House and barn from the garden
House at night
Blaven - the closest mountain to Glasnakille
View from the house on a misty day
Blaven in September sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Elgol, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Resort719...
Halle (Saale), Germany
2 reviews
“A beautiful and very special house in spectacular nature”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This traditional stone cottage modernly built, combines marvelously old and new.
In the house is everything you need. It owns a very large, comfortable kitchen, a stove and large bright rooms.

A house with artistic, individual touch with a fantastic location overlooking the Atlantic.Great compliment for the construction and furnishing of this house.

Also a huge selection of films, music and books with many interesting subjects and an excellent music taste ;)

Thanks for this lovely stay!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Hello Petra,

I'm so glad that you had an enjoyable time and thank you so much for leaving the house so clean and tidy before leaving.

I'm glad you appreciated the artistic vibe of the place and my music - its not to everyone's taste I suspect, but glad you liked it.

Thanks for being such an excellent guest and of course you would be welcome back at any time.

Best wishes,

Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GwynW
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Traditional Stone Cottage with Modern Interior - A Great Getaway From it All”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We were fortunate enough to stay at Stone Cottage for a week during September 2016.
We flew to Inverness and hired a car from the airport which was the easiest and the best option for us - be warned you may have to queue at the airport for your car keys. A lovely drive alongside Loch Ness - mostly flat roads with great views. The bridge to Skye was much shorter than expected, a great engineering feat nonetheless.
A couple of miles off the bridge and you come to the village of Broadford which has a great Co-op for bread, milk etc before you turn off for the road to Elgol.
We were fortunate that it was daylight when making this trip for the first time to Stone Cottage - you climb for 10-15miles to reach the cottage and what a drive that is, Spectacular views with many "passing" places to pull in and admire what is on offer. Considering most of the road is single track, the road surface is great - no pot holes. You do have to pull in to let others pass or allow livestock to cross, but this is all part of the charm.
Stone Cottage did not disappoint. Traditional on the outside with all modern amenities on the inside. Everything you can think of has been considered. The house was clean and warm. There was no wi-fi but the owner informed us that this is planned. We did manage to get a signal just outside the front door, but weren't really bothered as this was a get away from it all type of holiday. The lounge has a great log burner, good supply of vinyl and books too, perfect for the rainy day. The view from the table in the open plan well equipped kitchen constantly changed and sheep roam freely outside. The beds were extremely comfortable and obviously very good quality. I don't usually sleep well on my first night away, no problems here - slept like a log.
You get to know the road to Broadford well as this is the only road to and from the cottage. The views again looked different with every trip out of Elgol. There is a village hall a mile or so from the cottage where you can get essentials - the people are friendly and helpful.
Everywhere is easy to get to as roads are not congested. If you visit Portree, try the fish and chips on the harbour, so fresh you can taste the sea.
The weather was perfect, and in fact was much better than expected. No midges (we had been warned) and only one day of rain over the whole week.
Can wholeheartedly recommend Stone Cottage - a great getaway from it all kind of place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and brilliant quality beds
Liked least: The one day of rain which couldn't be controlled
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Hello Gwyn,

I'm so pleased that you and your family had such a great break. Many thanks for such a detailed and useful review. I appreciate the kind words and I'm really pleased that you had such a nice time staying in the cottage.

Best wishes,

Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful stone cottage overlooking the sea.”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was such a joy to stay in. It was chilly and sometimes rainy during our stay, and our teenage kids loved having a place to lounge about in front of the fire. We listened to records and watched movies and also got outdoors. The cottage is near some fantastic hiking trails, and the scenery is breathtaking. We loved seeing and hearing the sheep that freely range outside. Just a note of interest: in order to reach the cottage, you must drive out at least 10 miles on a windy, one-lane road (with pull-outs) and sheep and cattle ranging on and off road. We did not mind the drive, as it is gorgeous. The cottage itself was awesome! The owner had rebuilt an old ruined cottage and finished it with a modern look on the inside.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
I'm really pleased that you had such a great time in the cottage and appreciated the many delights that this part of Skye offers. I think its the most beautiful part of the island but I am probably biased!

Thank you Tonya.

Best wishes,

Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin V
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A rare treat of a retreat”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

After meandering our way through the highlands to the once infamous bridge that links Skye to the mainland and then a little further still, we arrived at the lovely 'Stone Cottage' nestled in to an embankment with stunning views across Loch a' Ghlinne to the isles of Rum and Eigg.

Upon entering you are greeted by the sight of a cosy living area, complete with a large wood-burner (personal favourite feature) and shelves of books, Vinyls, Cd's and DVD's, which were of an eclectic range to suit all tastes on those rainy days in (of which there were surprisingly few!).

The kitchen is modern with everything you require to cook up a storm and the dining table is situated in front of a giant window allowing you to feast on the view as well as your own culinary concoctions. Adjacent to the kitchen is the cottages wet room, with a rain effect shower and WC, everything was clean and well presented (always a plus).

The master bedroom is ensuite with a WC and sink. This room also takes full advantage of the incredible afore-mentioned views across Loch a' Ghlinne which is quite something to wake up to in any type of weather (it's possible we experienced at least three of the four seasons during our stay!)

The second bedroom is also adjacent to the kitchen (opposite side to the wet room) it was well presented and cosy, with everything you need for a good nights sleep.

In terms of local amenities, there aren't really any - a cute little village shop/tea room in Elgol where you can also catch a boat tour around the 'Misty Isles' that takes you past colonies and rafts of sea lions. For Grocery shopping, you're closest port of call is Broadford which has a coop and a few nice restaurants - this is about a 30 minute drive from Elgol, it's a beautiful drive but I would highly recommend planning ahead and picking up food on the way through, nothing worse than trekking half an hour (albeit a good looking half an hour) just for milk!

As holiday cottages go, this is perfect for anyone looking to escape the daily grind. You have to walk about a hundred paces down the road from the house to get what mobile phone reception it's possible to get, there is no wifi or telephone in the house - personally I loved this - and you are away from a majority of civilisation (although from what we saw of the local community, they were lovely and welcoming)

In the immediate vicinity you have a short walk to Bonnie Prince Charlie's cave and an even shorter walk down to the 'Spar Caves' - accessible at low tide or by scrambling around the cliff edge. a 45 minute drive will take you over to Portree or if you cut left on the same road at Sligachan just after you cross the bridge (towards Carbost) you will find signposts to the famous fairy pools, which are a river swimming experience like no other - just immense.

All in all 'Stone Cottage' was a brilliant way to experience what Skye has to offer and a great place to come back to and get cosy after a long days trekking/climbing/swimming/chasing sea lions. (the wood burner also has 'hot stones' in front of it to take up stairs and warm your bed up at the end of the day - nice.) Julian is extremely pleasant and easy to deal with, providing clear instructions on how to get the house running when you get there.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and isolation paired with a beautiful cosy house
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Thanks Robin, I loved reading your revivew.

Glad you had a great time - you're welcome to return anytime!

Best wishes,

Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulixem
Bonn, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
I'm so glad that you had such a great time at the cottage. Thanks for taking the time to write a review Martin. You're welcome back at any time.

Best wishes,

Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing