We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Coruisk House

Coruisk House
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Elgol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 45 - USD 130
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We source top quality ingredients from Skye. Our shell-fish come from Elgol harbour and our game and speciality meats from top quality suppliers on the island. Our food is simply and elegantly prepared and served in our informal and cosy restaurant. We have an excellent and carefully chosen wine list, having visited some of the vineyards from which we source our wine. We have a range of single malts to provide an aperatif or a flourish to end your meal at Coruisk House. Reservations for lunch and dinner are always required 24 hours in advance
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We attended a wedding party here and the evening meal we enjoyed was faultless. The attention to detail was first class.

We didn’t stay as we rented a cottage further down in the village of Elgol.

Elogol itself is such a special place. We have brought home such very happy memories.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Caz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2018

Just returned from a few days on Skye and this was much the best place both location
and accommodation . Coruisk House is a special place ...Clare is a wonderful front of house and husband Iain is a very talented chef . Every meal was a delight and it truly
deserves recognition for the food it serves . After 3 nights of wonderful dining we travelled on to Kinloch Lodge ... oh how we missed Coruisk ... we realised even more so
the skills of Ian . Kinloch was a disappointment after our fine dining in Coruisk House .
Ian's cooking is light and skilful , everything complimenting the flavours rather than drowning them . Everyone at Kinloch Lodge contributes to its warmth and comfort ...
it's a bit of Provence on Skye in style .... and I have to say , all our fellow guests were
people you wanted to spend time time with ! Don't miss out on the Misty Isles trip to
Loch Coruisk ... magical .... and the lobster sandwiches from the local cafe / shop were
pretty good too Go if you can .....

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

A small family gathering of 8 were beautifully accommodated by Clare and Iain at Coruisk House on their last evening of the season. They were happy to oblige our food preferences of scallops and venison. The restaurant was beautifully furnished, warm and inviting. The meal was not rushed and started with Clare's own home-made bread. The first choice of white wine to go with the scallops was not available but Clare's recommendation was spot on to go with double-dived Sconser scallops with a mint beurre blanc. Local Skye venison then followed, beautifully tender and delightfully presented. A lovely meal, beautifully served and could not be faulted.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grahjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Before we book a place we normally look at the TA reviews including any negatives ones. Before booking here we did the same and can honestly say that we did not recognise the place described in the poor reviews. From the moment you enter and the warm welcome this place is a gem. The location near to the end of a 15 mile single track road might not be for everyone but, for us, it actually enhanced the whole stay. This is a small boutique hotel with only very few rooms - ours was well appointed and very comfortable. Dinner is a must with short menu of wonderful choices based upon mainly locally sourced produce (I believe the menu changes most nights, though we only stayed one night); breakfast was equally divine also with home made breads. Clare, the owner along with her husband, was lovely to chat with about their story and the locality. Whilst there, go down to Elgol harbour the start/finish point for sea trips and a landing port for local fisherman

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GOMS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I visited Coruisk House for 3 nights and had a phenomenal time whilst there.

Our Room - we booked into the cream iron room, the room was spotlessly clean, sumptuously furnished and very comfortable, from the bed we had a view over the fields and hills. The quality of the room was clearly important to Claire and Iain (owners) and this was evident in the high quality furnishings and linens. It was easily the best night sleep we've had in a long time helped by the peaceful setting. The homemade tablet was a nice touch in the room.

The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels.

Breakfast - the quality of the food was exceptional with all requests catered for. The breakfast was a cut above standard hotel breakfast and all the dishes were fresh and expertly prepared.

Dinner - we had dinner within the restaurant on 2 nights. On both occasions we were impressed with the choices available and the very high standard of the food prepared. The approach was laid back and dinner was never a rushed affair. The seafood and meat choices were varied each night and Claire's wine knowledge ensured we always had something complimentary to go with or meal. Before and after dinner Christine ensured our glasses were always full and was on hand if we needed anything.

Overall experience - we had an fantastic time at Coruisk. Claire and Iain clearly take great pleasure in their business and this shows in all aspects of their service. Claire's knowledge of Skye was helpful and both Claire and Iain have a genuine interest in their guests. The restaurant and lounge are homely and it truly felt like a home from home.

We would highly recommend a trip to Elgol and when we have the chance to return we will certainly stay at Coruisk again.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coruisk House also viewed

 
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Coruisk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing