We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Feb 2012 - Lovely resort, highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Racha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Racha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feb 2012 - Lovely resort, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at The Racha for a week in Feb 2012 for our honeymoon, we were not disappoined by the beautiful pictures on their website or by the reviews. The resort was lovey, staff really helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. We had a lovely sunset beach dinner and a really great one on one cooking lesson with the exec sous chef. The pools were stunning and we loved the quiet garden pool as well as the main infinity pool. Overall, we had a brilliant week and would highly recommend the resort.

Room Tip: If you are getting a deluxe room then ask for one near the garden pool. You won't get a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HG4212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    197
    53
    34
    13
See reviews for
147
591
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Can't fault anything! Truly first class accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcphersonmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

A wonderful 3 nights were spent on this wonderful Island at this beautiful clean hotel, our room was first class as was the service.We only wished that we had booked to stay for longer.We hired bikes to get around the Island but this was'nt necessary as it only takes a short while to get from one side of the island to the other. The snorkelling was the best we have ever seen in Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We searched Racha Island from Jc.Tour Phuket, but we asked TripAdvisor before booked. We are very happy with Racha Island. The beach on Racha is very nice, The Sea water is very clear and very good for snorkeling. We recommend the KonKae beach for snorkeling and we recommend Siam Bay for Swimming. Patok Beach is nice but too many people on the beach. However, if you have a chance to having holiday in Phuket, Racha Island should be the best destination for snorkeling.
Jenny.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Namo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We loved The Racha. Other members of my family had been in the past and had highly recommended the hotel and island and it didn't disappoint. If you are looking for (relatively) affordable luxury, delicious food, friendly staff, a comfortable room, and all in an amazing beach / island setting, then The Racha is for you.
We were dropped off at The Racha office on Phuket by the driver of our previous hotel (Koh Yao Yai Village - see my review) and I have to say that the initial welcome wasn't overly warm - more business-like, as another reviewer said. Due to a supply problem after the Bangkok floods it is no longer possible to choose your scent for your room, which was a bit of a disappointment, However, one of the members of staff showed us to a nice restaurant on the water where we had a delicious Thai lunch before getting the Racha boat to Racha Yai.

Arriving at the island was an amazing experience - the view that greets you is simply beautiful. As check-in was done in the office on Phuket, we were shown very quickly to our room (despite the fact that about 6 couples were arriving simultaneously). This meant we were by the pool 15 minutes after arriving on the island.

The Deluxe room was extremely comfortable with the highlight (for me) being the beautiful outdoor shower. However, I have 2 issues with the room. The first is that one evening, when I was sitting up in bed reading, I got a smell of burning. This turned out to be my (long) hair burning on the spot lights above the bed (which we kept turned off after that). My second issue is that it is not possible to sleep with a window open so air-co is the only option. We found the air-co a little cold and noisy.

One of the best things about staying the The Racha is the food. Breakfast is literally a feast and the other meals are equally delicious. Prices are reasonable (cheaper than Europe).
The staff at The Racha are also wonderful ; friendly and helpful, they seem genuinely interested in making sure you enjoy your holiday.

As many other reviewers have mentioned, the beach in front of The Racha is very busy with day trippers between 10am and 3pm. What many don't mention is that a very quiet, pretty beach called Siam Bay is less than a 10-minute walk away. We paid 200 bhat for a 2-person lounger on this beach and had the place (and the water) practically to ourselves - bliss!

If you have been saving your pennies and want some luxury in beautiful surroundings, go to The Racha! I'd love to be back there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ykemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
41.7 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
60.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
41.6 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 317 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
42.0 km away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
48.0 km away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 93 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Property: The Racha
Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price range (per night): $298 - $771
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing