We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,086)
Filter reviews
2,086 results
Traveller rating
1,161
583
236
65
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,161
583
236
65
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla trattoriaclub roomhorizon loungethai restaurantother hotelsocean frontcocktail hourhotel is beautifulcanal villagethai hospitalityblack catangsana spapool villasea viewshuttle buslaguna phuketpatong beach
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 2,086 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

On arrival we were shown to reception but the staff sit behind desks and seem to be bothered when you ask to check in. Room was lovely (sea view). Grounds are very nice and plenty of sunbeds. Hotel is on the beach. Lots of restaurants along the beachfront. We ate at the Thai restaurant at the hotel and were disappointed, but lunch around the pool area was good. 7eleven and other restaurants are located just outside the hotel complex.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkiandben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon Michael ... A, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Nikkiandben L

Thank you for sharing your personal experiences during your recent stay. Your feedback is appreciated as it will assist us to continue improving our services.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and found our location excellent. Your positive comments of our lovely room is well received too. I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused by the staff at the reception and the food in our Thai Restaurant. I will follow up with the staff concerned.

Our resort after more than 30 years has developed it's own charm and personality. And we're fortunate to also have staff who try their best occasionally to offer unique and gracious Thai hospitality.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here with our children - the hotel is very nice, our adjoining rooms were ideal. We were particularly impressed with the Laguna restaurant, which we are in frequently as one of our kids wasn't well so didn't want to go far most days. The staff there were great, really friendly and very good service, and the food was always good. In particular, Sumontha was truly kind and looked after us and our poorly little girl. It felt like we were more than just customers.
The facilities are really good - great pool and open areas with direct access to the beach, and the Angsana Spa was lovely - a real treat for us all round. We were all sad to leave the Dusit Thani and will not forget the kindness of the team in a hurry.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Samara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon Michael ... A, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Samara F

Thank you for sharing your personal experiences during your recent stay. Your feedback is appreciated as it will assist us to continue improving our services.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our very nice hotel and found our staff friendly and service very good. Your positive comments of our Laguna Restaurant and its staff is well received too. Thanks so much!

Our resort after more than 30 years has developed it's own charm and personality. And we're fortunate to also have staff who try their best to offer unique and gracious Thai hospitality.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Our first stay in this luxury beachfront hotel was one year after the Tsunami, and we have since than stayed here almost every year.
We have invariably been pleased with the friendliness of the staff, and although the rooms are a bit “tired” and small, with the beautiful beach and garden in front of the hotel who needs a large room?

This year, for our stay in March 2018, we had booked the hotel well in advance. Like the previous years (we always stayed in this kind of a room) we had asked to reserve a room with a corner balcony. We had even taken the trouble to specify room type and room number.

To my surprise, we were informed that we had to pay 6000 THB extra, since the room was a higher class room than the one we had booked at hotels.com. This has never happened before!
In addition we were advised to help avoid such confusion by booking directly via the hotel. The latter we have not done since some 6 years, as the prices directly at Dusit Thani are at least 50% higher, more even if you use the loyalty discount system of hotels.com

As we had stayed at Dusit more than 10 times before, most of the time in this larger corner balcony room, and there had never been any mention of “higher class or higher price”, I responded as such. Imaginable, this approach by the reservation desk of Dusit did not feel good.

After a few more confusing mail exchanges with the reservations desk staff the “Director of revenue” stepped in and confirmed the booking of the large corner balcony room to us, without extra charge, and also confirmed that this room would be reserved for us.

So we assumed we were ready for another nice time in this quiet hotel.
Not so.
Upon check-in we were informed that our room was not reserved, instead we could get a room in the other wing (less quiet, with all the beach chairs closely in front of the rooms, plus a view on the Italian restaurant, rather than the beach and garden). To make a long story short, there was no way they could or would live up to their promises, again they were noting that the larger balcony room we had reserved was more expensive.
Again, the director of revenue stepped in, apologized, and explained why our room was not available, but guaranteed that it would be 4 days later, i.e. we would have to move rooms well into our vacation.
There was nothing else than to accept this. Finally, as a token of compensation, we were offered one set menu at the Hotel Thai or Italian restaurant, which we refused, simply, as we do not want a favor, just “get what we booked and paid for”.
This was our first bad experience with the hotel front desk, and it does have an impact on our ratings.

For those of you that consider this hotel. After our close to 15 vacations we spent there, here is a list with considerations to make:

1. The Bang Tao area of Phuket, 15 years ago, was a relatively quiet area, certainly by Phuket standards, and the hotel premises still are. However, over time gradually all space in the area is however being built full with towering buildings, all that was left of “nature” is effectively removed. I.e. buildings everywhere you look once you leave the hotel premises
2. Until 3 years ago there were quite a few smaller beach restaurants and bars at the beach, one these of which we frequented, as this was one of the few not giving in to “tourist food and taste” and offered excellent attractively priced and safe food. However, as per government decree all these restaurants have been wiped away (I guess in an attempt to legalize the use of the land/beach, as well as to support consumption at the hotels alongside the beach).
3. There are ample restaurants in the nearby villages, Cherntalay and Bang Tao, and my advice would be to visit these (possibly using TripAdvisor to guide you with your choice). The Dusit hotel restaurants are pricey and in my opinion, comparing with the other offers, no more than average.
4. The breakfast menu is quite good, with a choice of several Asian cuisines, as well as Western style.
5. I mentioned that the rooms generally are somewhat tired and need an overhaul. This was announced last year, and this year, indeed both rooms we were in were refurbished. This means it has received a fresh paint and new wall sockets with USB, and some of the wall decoration improved. Also some of the furniture is exchanged it seems. We have not been able to detect any other improvements. Noted that the new wall sockets exhibit some problems, as the adaptors we use fell out of several of these (irrespective of which adaptor and which pins, EU or US), whereas some others do function well. Quite possibly the sockets have been damaged by rough handling with the wrong adaptors by previous hotel guests/
6. Some of the staff are excellent, and they do not only present a Thai smile, but really go all the way. However, their number has been diminishing over the past years, and unfortunately we see a larger and growing fraction of staff that provide the obligatory or sometimes even marginal service. As an example, it was not uncommon in the first 4 days of our stay this year to find that the making up of the room was incomplete (towels not exchanged, water not replenished, bed turnover just skipped). Not all a disaster, but it shows. The stay in the second half of our vacation we did have the proper service by a different staff member, we knew well from previous stays. So it various by which of the staff does clean the rooms.
7. The overall premises are well maintained, the pool area is renovated and clean, with 2 life guards overlooking the pool all the time. On the beach and beach garden a comfortable beach chair and towels are available and the friendly staff help with umbrellas, which in this climate is a must.
8. As mentioned, the food at the hotel restaurants is a bit bland, for instance the Tom Kha Kai soup is a faint representation of what this wonderful soup can be. That is not how it should be for a 5 star hotel.
Overall this is a very nice hotel, with clean rooms, be it small, with friendly helpful staff, but also a number of real improvements points. Among those training of the reservation and room planning team, so as to avoid what they refer to as confusion, but definitely does not feel good, certainly not after some 15 visits.
I hope this helps you make up your mind.

Room Tip: The Seaview room have a great view, and advise is to ask for a corner balcony room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter3910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon Michael ... A, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Peter3910

Thank you for sharing your personal experiences during your recent stay. Your feedback is appreciated as it will assist us to continue improving our services.

We appreciate your feedback and are encouraged that you have been extremely loyal and supportive of our resort. Your comments on the changes and development in the Laguna area is well noted and unfortunately this happens in most areas. I would like to apologize for the issue with regards to your room choice and I have spoken to the Dept. concerned. Thanks so much for your feedback and comments and we value your sincerity in wanting us to improve.

Our resort after more than 30 years has developed it's own charm and personality. Last year we embarked on our most extensive refurbishment program and we have completed more than 60% of our rooms and most of our restaurants as well as the swimming pool. While we choose to maintain our authentic Thai setting, we have provided a fresh, vibrant, contemporary feel yet retaining our rich Thai heritage. Most of our returning guests enjoy and is well received.

And we're fortunate to also have staff who try their best to offer unique and gracious Thai hospitality. More than 60% of our staff are still here after 10 years and last year 9 loyal colleagues of who have been with us for 30 years have reached their retirement age and unfortunately are no longer with us.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The Dusit Thani Laguna is very good resort at laguna bangtao beach. Room is very nice, Thai modern style. Service is very good (front office and main restaurant service) pool is super relax with fun activities

Room Tip: Club Room is great
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chayot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon Michael ... A, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Chayot P

Thank you for sharing your personal experiences during your recent stay. Your feedback is appreciated as it will assist us to continue improving our services.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms very nice in modern Thai style. Your positive comments on our service in front office and food and beverage outlets is well received too. Thanks so much!

Our resort after more than 30 years has developed it's own charm and personality. And we're fortunate to also have staff who try their best to offer unique and gracious Thai hospitality.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We were revisiting the Dusit from 23. to 26. March. We are regulars since 2007 and were never disappointed. Excellent and preferred treatment makes you feel special and it comes natural. The upgrade with the pool is well done and there is more to come. It is needed but still it doesn't look dusty. The food offering in the various restaurants is good and the accommodation - we are always choosing the club room with sea view - is really good. The perfect break for clearing your mind, to relax and enjoy. The sandy beach if beautiful for long walks and never crowded. The people in general are nice and easy going, the way it should be. If you don't feel having dinner in the Hotel, then there are a few great restaurant just five minutes away. First choice would be the Siam Supper Club, which will never disappoint you. We are back mid-of April :-). Thank you, Peter

Room Tip: Club Rooms with Sea View is top
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sam1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon Michael ... A, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Sam1217

Thank you for sharing your personal experiences during your recent stay. Your feedback is appreciated as it will assist us to continue improving our services.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our club rooms overlooking the sea and found our resort and services excellent. Your positive comments on our food and beverage and beautiful beach is well received too. Thanks so much!

Our resort after more than 30 years has developed it's own charm and personality. And we're fortunate to also have staff who try their best to offer unique and gracious Thai hospitality.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back in mid-April and please do contact us if we can provide you with any additional assistance. See you soon!.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews