We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best room ever”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The first hotel of our honeymoon couldnt be better.
We stayed in the Villa, with a great room and perfect private pool.
Great breakfast, very nice and cool outside swimming pool, extremely attencious staff.
Dont go to Phi Phi Islands on the weekends (to crowd).
Very nice, modern, private hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliaTMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Signature NataliaTMC, thank you for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa to celebrate your honeymoon and it’s so great to hear you had such a wondrous time in your SALA Signature Pool Villa. We are truly blessed with our great team! Thank you again and may we just add our congratulations once again and wish you a lifetime of happiness. All the best The SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    348
    102
    23
    24
See reviews for
214
1,043
38
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I want this review to be constructive for the staff as well as any potential future visitors. The location is excellent if you want a relaxing holiday. The villas are well kept and it is great to have your own pool (if you are staying in the pool villa). The main thing that needs to improve is the service you receive. Let be more specific:

1. From day one our lights did not work in the pool and around the pool. We asked for them to be fixed. After several hours they were fixed for all of an hour and then even more lights went out. I know it's a little thing but it is important when you are paying the kind of prices charged by Sala. By the wAy...the lights in Villa 37 are still not working even after 5 days.

2. On checking in they ask you what time you would like your room serviced, etc. great idea. Except it was never stuck to. We requested 11 and on one of the days it was 3! (And this was after I had to phone them.

3. Also on check in you are asked which pillows you would like, soap, etc. again lovely touch BUT yet again never delivered. I know management will respond with you should have phoned ...but to be honest I got sick of phoning! I am supposed to be on holiday after all.

4. The biggest problem is the lack of understanding of some staff. I asked for a beer at lunch one day and was told no... Even though the bar is at the end of restaurant!!

On the food front ...I would recommend the food but again this is let down by the service. E.g. No plates given even though the food had been delivered to the table.

I enjoyed the stay but feel the place is let down by the service. If you are willing to negotiate every aspect of your stay then go ahead and book...personally I would think twice which is shame because the place deserves better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Kevin, firstly thank you for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa for your holiday and for taking the time to write such a positive, extensive and constructive review of your stay. Our team has discussed your review in quite some detail and we feel quite disappointed to have not only let you both down, but ourselves too on some key issues which we aim to learn from and eradicate moving forward. The common denominating factor throughout your points is the lack of or incorrect communication. I do not wish to count all of your points with a reason or excuse as that is not what you want to hear now you’re back in England. However we do wish to apologise sincerely for want of some better words oversights and lack of follow-up; from the electrical issues in your villa which by all counts were due to them tripping the circuit which we’ve fixed, to the breakdown and no follow-up on you SALA Signature Services through our front office and on the occasion of your unacceptably late daily maid service on one of the days. Communication and understanding can always be a challenge when abroad with numerous different accents and nationalities and staff speaking their second or in some cases their third language with English. That aside we do continue to make good progress through our in-house dedicated native English teacher from England and our commitment to departmental skills and knowledge service training which we do take very seriously with both individual and departmental monthly training targets. It’s good to hear you enjoyed our cuisine and although you did experience some challenges we do hope overall you left us with some fond memories and fully relaxed. Thank you again and rest assured we will learn from this and hope you’ll return in the future to experience the improvements. Our very best regards The SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penang
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a splendid and happy trip in SALA phuket. It's an unplanned last minute decision trip for our holiday.Carmen& I book the resort 2 days prior our trip via online.After the 3 nights stay& experiences,we would definitely return to SALA in the future.We had a rough time when we arrive at the airport because of some technical issue at the visa reg&taxi arrangement. However, once we reach the resort,we were welcome immediately by a staff,Tan at the lobby when we reach the hotel with welcoming ginger drinks& lemon grass fragrant hand towel. It was a pleasure for us as she help us in check in and show us until our room with detail explanation of the room facilities and hotel activities.This is a first time experience as we had been to a few highly rated hotel&resort but none of them had this warmth hospitality. The room was superb as my partner enjoyed the outdoor rain shower & bathtab.The room was comfortable and relaxing.
We had our dinner at the hotel for the Thai culture theme. The prices is acceptable and the food were delicious.The restaurant staff came to our table& introduce the dishes during our dinner. We also enjoy the cultural dance show during our dinner. We had our second night Ala cart dinner at the restaurant and the food is fresh and delicious.
The breakfast:they serve ala-cart menu mixed with buffet food.must try the SALA pancake& waffle, & the ribs.the buffet area is clean and well organised.
What impress us most is their sincerity,hospitality and management.The hotel surprised us with a chocolate Birthday cake to our room because my partner's birthday drops during the period of our stay.It's really make us feel warmth&happy with their wishes.Not only the cake,but their hard work in all the small&fine details to make the guest feel comfortable.We had a jug of lemon tea after a long swim in the pool. we were always welcome with smiles&greeting wherever we go in resort. The staff change our room aromatherapy candle every night plus compliment with a fresh herbal health drinks.
THE massage and SPA is also a must try experience.We enjoy watching the unbelievable sunset at the beach and the breeze .
the only disadvantage is the resort located far from town/shopping center/restaurant. need to arrange fr TAXi as most of the place of interest are 10-45 minutes from hotel. We spend most of the time in the hotel as our main purpose for the trip were to relax. However, i would recommend traveler/couple to hop on a taxi& try the nearest local food/town for shopping,which we might do it in our next future trip. Advice traveler to arrange with hotel for pick up&transfer to airport and the places of visit as we experience communication difficulty in the airport.there are also plenty of tour comp at airport&hotel for trip& activies

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackson_kong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Signature jackson_kong, thank you for choosing to stay at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for your comprehensive and positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your 3 nights in one of our pool villas. Regards our team we are very proud of our them for their continuous high praise and we shall most certainly share your compliments with them especially Khun Tan. We’re very glad you enjoyed the chocolate birthday cake and it certainly sounds like you had a very memorable and enjoyable birthday together. We hope to see you return to SALA in the not too distant future and hope you’ll let us know when you do wish to return. Our best regards The SALA Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had such a wonderful 1st time experience 8 months ago that we decided to return to Sala. Sadly, we were disappointed this time round even though the hotel was kind enough to upgrade us for free as returning guests.

I am not sure if it is because it was low season and that the hotel did not have a full staff capacity. However, I felt the villa we were at was not given a thorough clean. There were lizard poo on the surface of the basin counter. The dead leaves in the pool were not picked up. The bath tub was dusty ... Such details should not be overlooked.

Good thing they had very attentive waiters in both the restaurants and by the poolside.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagdalineY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Signature MagdalineY, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and writing a review on SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for returning to us for the second time. It is however to read with great disappointment your comments and appreciate you did not enjoy your stay anywhere near as much as you did the first time around in October 2012. It’s sometimes difficult during the wet season with the weather to keep the pools and outdoor bathrooms in pristine condition at all times but that aside we appreciate you felt we could have done better. We have discussed your review with our team and will look to improve these areas as we constantly strive to better ourselves and look to exceed our guest’s expectations, which in your case we did not. Our food & beverage team continually receives great comments and it’s great to hear your positive review of them. We’re so glad you appreciated your villa upgrade upon arrival and hope you will consider us for a third return visit so as to show you both that this experience was a glitch in our usually exceptional standards of cleanliness and true SALA Thai hospitality. Our best regards The SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songkhla, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here July 26th - 28th.

First off -- it's far from the city. If you don't have a car, and plan to hit the populated/popular areas, you are in for a shock if you don't have wheels. However, if your plan is to get away from it all and enjoy an isolated strip of pristine beach -- the Sala is the place for you.

There are bicycles for your use (first come, first served basis) by the main pool side. With these, you can cycle over to Turtle Village which is next to the J.W. Marriott. Here, you can pick up your (slightly overpriced) groceries, have an ice cream at Swensens, shop for jewelry, art, kitschy touristy souvenirs, have some international style grub, and even get that Jim Thompson shawl you had your eye on but didn't get because you thought you had enough time to shop for it in Bangkok.

Breakfast at the hotel is excellent. You get a menu with detailed descriptions of the individual dishes available. The pancakes were excellent, and the pulled pork english muffins come highly recommended. While your mains are made-to-order, there is a tidy buffet spread of cereals, breads, cheeses, fruits, and juices also available to supplement your meal.

The grounds are very well kept. The lawns are trimmed, the blooming plants are beautiful, the pathways are clear, and the spa enjoys a very packed schedule. Prepare to make a booking the moment you arrive, or you'll miss out completely. If you think you're being slaughtered over a massage, there is also a hut just beyond the boundary of the hotel grounds which gives you a Thai massage/reflexology/etc at THB400.

We stayed in a SALA villa. My husband, baby, and I occupied one villa, and we are unashamed to admit we spent a lot of time in the villa pool. It is very clean, and the pumps work to keep our water supply fresh. Baby did NOT develop a rash, which further proves it's safe to swim in.

The room is a bit dim. Not very surprising since the walls are painted charcoal. The room configuration leaves enough space for an extra bed (we had a crib assembled for our use upon arrival) but it's not hugely spacious.

The outdoor shower and tub are nice. The shower's for good weather, and the tub for when the rains hit. The whole outdoor WC/shower/tub/sink deal is partitioned off by billowing curtains, so for singles sharing a space -- if you're the modest type-- this might cost you your peace of mind. However, I can assure you your privacy is assured if you take the time to tug the curtain partitions into place.

If you're the type who nitpicks on mold growing on walls, and taking a night-time shower and encountering a frog next to your shower platform, this resort experience is not for you. While the tiles outside are somewhat faded, and looks worn, it's the gentle wear and tear of the weather. The hotel has done its best to keep the tiles clean and it shows. Honestly, it makes the experience feel more homely and lived in.

Overall, a very well-maintained property. Beautiful in a zen way. Mosquitoes are quite aggressive in the evenings so be prepared with your own repellent. The hotel staff were very efficient. They immediately set up the electric repellent in our room, but be warned -- if you're in the pool at dusk, the mosquitoes will try for you even if you're swimming.

The hotel shoppe has some lovely (over-priced is a given) jewelry that's worth a mention, as well as the basics. Diapers, heaps of sunblock, swimming gear, a variety of kitsch by local artists.

Dinner is expensive but tasty. If you're not feeling up to a jaunt off the property, take the plunge and eat in. The cocktails are also worth a mention.

It's a complete experience in itself, so if you just want to relax in a bubble of your own, the Sala is the place to be. No drama, soothing decor, decadent villas and desserts, gorgeous landscaping and that beautiful sunset. Get your tan. Leave your cares behind.

If it's a party you're after, try Patong Beach further south.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZalinaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Signature ZalinaL, thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive, interesting and positive review of your stay in one of our pool villas. We are very fortunate to certainly be on the isolated and pristine Mai Khao beach the longest and most undeveloped beach in Phuket which forms part of the Sirinat National Park. Our complimentary bicycles are very popular to explore the local area, which we’re glad you took full advantage of. We shall most certainly share your complimentary review with our whole team here at SALA, especially our culinary team who really to deliver exquisite dishes at every meal period. You certainly sound like you had a wondrous stay enjoying your pool and the extensive grounds and décor with your husband and baby. Thank you again and we look forward to your return. Our very best regards The SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.3 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
23.7 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
894 reviews
10.8 km away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
676 reviews
0.9 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
30.2 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price range (per night): $94 - $603
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing