We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing (but pricey) Escape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing (but pricey) Escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The JW Marriott Phuket is a world-class hotel. The rooms, location, and amenities are second-to-none.

While the room rates are quite reasonable, the food and drink are expensive (and you really do not have many other options in the area). Definitely make sure breakfast is included in your rate - it is simply the best; fill up and you will not need to eat lunch. (Tip: I would not recommend the hotel's Andaman Grill - we paid $30 for an appetizer that was neither good nor filling. The Siam Deli had good food at fair prices.)

We loved the beach and swam in the ocean every day. It is secluded and extremely clean. There were flags warning of jellyfish sightings, but the hotel is simply being cautious. Do not miss out! (Tip: Bring extra tubes of sunscreen! It will run you $20+ at the hotel or the nearby Turtle Island grocery.)

The hotel is a ways away from the tacky and seedy nightlife of Patong Beach, and thank the Gods for that. There are convenient shuttle buses if you want to go to other places on the island, so do not let the hotel's location give you pause.

Overall, I highly recommend the JW Marriott Phuket!

Room Tip: If they are overbooked and try to put you in a "better room" at the nearby Turtle Island V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CareyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,758
    726
    171
    64
    30
See reviews for
1,512
1,209
113
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

this is my trip nr 4 to phuket. previously i stayed in the vacation club once in the jw twice. 2010 and now. 2011 i stayed in the renaissance, close to the jw marriott. in y opinion the jw has improved in comparison to my trip 2010. the hotel is not the newest but this time i have the feeling that they renovated a lot. i love the ressort and can suggest it to everybody.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raphstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

This resort is one of the beautiful and amazing place I have been.. Its Huge! Since I am a traveler. The lobby host are so nice, as soon as we arrived they welcome us with a flower necklace. Very accommodating staff and even though the staffs are Thai I'm amazed that they do speak English well.. The food and drinks of each restaurants are just perfect! The spa is awesome.. Very good massage therapist, the environment is clean.. I love how friendly the people in Thailand. They have this show in the afternoon at the lobby which is nice and entertaining. The room we got is very clean too and big and we got a free champagne at the room.. I believe it's a romantic place to stay for couples and a fun place to stay with family and friends... The beach is not so good for swimming though.. But overall it's a perfect resort to stay!

Stayed July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Traveler-BarbiePink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My parents and I own a time-share at this resort and come back every couple of years. We are able to swap our week for a number of other resorts around the world but I still enjoy my time here the best. The resort is large with plenty beautiful tropical gardens being tended to by quiet, friendly Thai people around the clock. The staff here are generally soft spoken and beautifully polite (they are Thai, after all). There are three large pools, including one for just adults. I love to lay out on the generous pool chairs and have the attendant bring me iced water and fresh fruit, without me even having to ask. The beach is beautiful, never crowded, and clean for Thailand but often the water is really for swimming as the swell and currents can be quite strong. My favourite things about here are definitely the range of activities, ranging from active to relaxing; the beach massage for 500Baht and the baby elephants who visit the resort every day and are amazing.

A couple of practical things:

Transport: Getting here from the airport is quickest and easiest by taxi, make sure you go to the approved counter just on the outside of the airport terminal and get a ticket. The trip should take 15-20min and cost around 500Baht. Getting to the town is quite a drive (40min) and I don't think it's doing more than once per trip. However, there is a massive supermarket called Tesco Lotus at Thalong, about 20min away. If you stay in the large, well equipped apartments then it's definitely worth a trip to buy groceries. There's a cheap and reasonably authentic food court there as well. The main road is very good quality so hiring a car is definitely worth it for a couple of days. The rates from reception seemed comparable with other websites. Keep in mind the traffic gets pretty ridiculous if you want to go into the main town or Patong beach.

Food: Yes, food is more expensive in the resort than elsewhere in the island. That isn't exactly hard when a plate of pad thai at the market costs about $3. I really don't think the food's that pricey, unless you go the upmarket restaurants (especially the Japanese). Some of it is hit and miss so my recommendation would be to stick to the Deli for most meals. The burger is pretty good and the asian dishes like fried rice and noodles are generally pretty nice. I think the one place where the food is usually delicious is the Thai restaurant in the resort - I think it's called Gingar or something. It's right on the beach and reasonably priced, considering the context. If you want some cheaper and more local food (but still be reasonably confident it won't give you food poisoning) then almost directly across the main road, (opp the turning to the Marriott), down the dirt track next to the convenience store there is lovely place called Kin-Dee. The chef used to work at the Marriott and has started her own restaurant in this suspended bamboo balcony overlooking the jungle and mangroves. If you want cheap and delicious local stuff, ask the staff to tell you where the local markets are for that day. Also, if you drive along the main road there are often roadside stalls. My absolute reccomendation is the local fried chicken or the noodle soup with beef ball or fish cakes. There are several hotels neighbouring the resort which you can eat at, as well. We tried the thai restaurant at the Renaissance last time (catch a buggy straight there from the Marriott lobby). Pretty tasty (but quite pricey). I thought the chicken wings were delicious and the decor is certainly lovely.

Overall, I know this hotel is not perfect, I've never been to a perfect hotel - but I just love the attention to detail in everything, the relaxed atmosphere and the beautiful architecture of the hotel and am already looking forward to the next time we go back.

Room Tip: In my opinion the 2 bedroom apartments are definitely the best value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I am sharing a great experience at the JW this week.

Location: The location is great and close(25 min), but not too close, to the airport in Phuket. Day trips are an easy 30-40 minute van ride and include access to island hoping, snorkel and diving trips to fantastic islands (phi phi, James Bond islands, etc). The beach is very beautiful and the JW offers great waterspouts, several included in room rate.

Resort: Beautiful. The grounds are meticulously maintained and are very lush with a wide variety of plants and landscaping details. Pool area is dramatic with many lounge chairs available - some would even be considered semi private depending upon which pool you go too. Hotel staff are very very friendly. If you read our review about our trip to Bali to contrast, there was a genuine nature to the staff at the JW that you do not find at all resorts around Asia.

Restaurants: The restaurants were very good and I would especially recommend the Thai restaurant with reservations at sunset - great Thai cuisine coupled with a georgous sunset in a very modern version of a Thai bungalow - delightful. Breakfast was very good and we enjoyed the tempanaki at the Japanese restaurant a great deal as well.

Kids: Our children, ages 5 and 7, enjoyed the activities offered at the children's pavilion (hair braiding, kids yoga, access to video games and other children). While it was a bit disorganized - the kids enjoyed the activities. By the way, a baby elephant arrives each day at to let the kids feed bananas or sit on its back.

Room: Spacious, very nice. In most resorts, rooms do not give you a sense of space, however we had a walkout patio on the first floor and were about a 15 second walk to the pool. The large tub and lounging area by the patio was lovely spot for an afternoon nap or to read a good book on a rainy afternoon.

Overall, really enjoyed our time and recommend for a quick long weekend or a base for the Thailand trip of a lifetime.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.2 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
21.0 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
24.5 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,003 reviews
14.7 km away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 94 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.3 km away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 231 Moo 3 | Talang, Phuket, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price range (per night): $139 - $402
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, the resort comprises 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Expedia APAC so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing