We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Carla

Fabulous hotel on Mai Khao beach

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 May 2024
We stayed at the Renaissance Phuket Resort and Spa for 2 weeks in April and it was by far the best holiday we have ever been on. The hotel and the grounds are beautiful, and we liked how it was a nice size where all the amenities of the hotel were close by. The staff are fabulous and were amazing with my two young children. The breakfast was amazing and definitely the best breakfast we have had at a hotel, we liked how it wasn’t repetitive as you can sometimes find with some hotels. The only thing I would say about breakfast time is that the staff would sometimes give the larger tables to guests of 2/3 people just because they wanted a larger table for the amount of food they were planning on getting, when we were a group of 6, so there were times when we went down for breakfast and there were no larger tables available but the staff always did their best to accommodate for us. We also had a few meals at The Sandbox, the staff there are lovely, again amazing with my children and there was nothing to complain about terms of the food. The hotel is a bit of distance from the main areas but this didn’t really bother us as with having our two younger children we spent a lot of days around the pool and didn’t mind the taxi journeys if we wanted to go somewhere. There is also Turtle Village which we spent a lot of our time there with having the free shuttle bus from the hotel. The only negative thing I have to say about Turtle Village which I feel isn’t the hotels fault but Marriotts fault and I have tried to contact them about this issue but still haven’t heard anything back, is the elephants that are there. There were many times as a group that we left Turtle Village feeling quite sad because of how them elephants are treated. They are clearly distressed because if they aren’t being made to do tricks or having guests sat on them they’re stood swaying in one place tied up. I even saw one of the owners of the elephants riding one through the roads of Turtle Village which I feel isn’t safe for not only the elephant but the guests as well. Surely it would be nicer for guests to see the elephants being treated properly and I was quite shocked that such a massive establishment like the Marriott are allowing animals to be treated in this way? But other than that we had an amazing stay and would definitely come back in the future.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adthapong V, Other at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 8 May 2024
Warm greetings from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your words are great encouragement for us to continue to provide seamless services in all areas, especially our breakfast as we are very proud to present it as the best breakfast in Phuket! With your regards on the table assignment, I have shared your comment with our restaurant manager. We will continue to improve in such aspect to ensure we provide great service to all

At Renaissance Phuket, our team always looks into our guests needs and proactively provide them. Our restaurants provide wide range of choices so there are plenty of options for everybody, even the youngers ones. With our large Kid's World and Dino Pool, equipped with a slider, surely it is a paradise for children.

With the regards to the elephants you saw near the Turtle Village Community Mall, please note that they are not affiliated with any of our Marriott hotels in the area. They are not part of any of our recommended activities. We do not encourage our guests to participate in any activities provided there as we do not know who the owner of the elephants is, where they are from, and on how they are treated at their camp. However, please note that we have already raised concern to the Mai Khao Subdistrict Administrative Government to pay attention to this activity.

Again, thank you for sharing your comment and hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you travel to Phuket area. We will be more than happy to service you the best we can. Be sure to check our Marriott Bonvoy application or our website for special promotion we have throughout the year. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Adthapong V.
Resort Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$357
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$356
  • Hotels.com
    AU$357
  • Vio.com
    AU$357
1.2 km from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
AU$188
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$188
  • LeMeridien.com
    AU$186
  • Hotels.com
    AU$188
1.1 km from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$374
  • Expedia.com
    AU$410
  • Melia.com
    AU$350
  • Hotels.com
    AU$410
0.9 km from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$474
  • Priceline
    AU$504
  • Vio.com
    AU$435
  • Expedia.com
    AU$565
0.3 km from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$397
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$372
  • Priceline
    AU$1,096
  • AVANIHotels.com
1.4 km from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby exterior
AU$62
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$61
  • Vio.com
    AU$59
  • Expedia.com
    AU$105
3.1 km from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$96
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • StayForLong
    AU$143
  • Vio.com
    AU$74
  • Agoda.com
    AU$80
1.0 km from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$40
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$44
  • Agoda.com
    AU$34
  • Expedia.com
    AU$42
5.3 km from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$1,194
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,196
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$1,194
  • Trip.com
1.5 km from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    AU$59
  • Agoda.com
    AU$41
  • Trip.com
    AU$44
5.6 km from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mai Khao
Reviews (4,695)
Filter reviews
4,695 results
Traveller rating
3,746
724
148
46
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,746
724
148
46
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand box loca vore quan spa thai restaurant sandbox restaurant pool villa breakfast buffet turtle village kids pool mai khao beach eggs benedict thai boxing main pool free shuttle kids club executive chef spa treatments
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 4,695 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2024

I brought all of my friends to Renaissance Phuket since it was all their first time in Phuket. A big shoutout to all my Renaissance family especially Vasco, Lily, Sam, Bao for welcoming us warmly. We enjoyed our stay very much and definitely can't wait to come here again.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vegfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brad Edman, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Good morning from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the stay, and especially how impressed you were with Vasco, Khun Lily, Khun Sam and Khun Boa for taking such great care of you and your friends.
We look forwarding to welcoming you back to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa when your travels bring you back to Phuket. Thank you again for your review.
Brad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2024

Loved my stay at renaissance Phuket. The resort is beautiful and the villa is stunning. Amenities were super clean. BEST BUFFET BREAKFAST IVE EVER HAD. Hospitality is amazing. Big shout out to Vasco and Lily for making my friends and I feel super welcomed in Phuket. 10/10 would return

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viwern W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brad Edman, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Good afternoon from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Thank you for your review of the resort from your recent stay with us in one of our popular pool villas. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed Phuket’s best breakfast experience and that Vasco and Khun Lily took such great care of you.
We look forwarding to welcoming you back to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa when your travels bring you back to Phuket. Thank you again for your fantastic review.
Brad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024 via mobile

The Quan spa at renaissance was beautiful. My masseuse Meaw was so kind and attentive she made my experience so relaxing I ended up falling asleep the whole time.

Although the price is slightly more expensive than outside the hotel the high quality experience was definitely worth it!

Special thanks to Meaw! You are so nice and professional!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 56zarinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brad Edman, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2024

Good morning from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Thank you for your review of our Quan Spa, and for recognising Khun Maew for taking such great care of you during your treatment. We pride ourselves on service, quality products and a relaxing five star environment, and delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your experience.
We look forwarding to welcoming you back to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa for more relaxation at Quan Spa soon. Thank you again for your fantastic review.
Brad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024

They are good team . I like this restaurant I like the island. It was nice food on the deck. The Manager here was amazing he doing everything nice I like it.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Trek02645138915
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adthapong V, Other at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Greetings from Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to write us the comment. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us at one of our restaurants. I will be sure to share your comment with the team. We hope to welcome you again to dine with us. Feel free to connect with us directly for any inquiry you may have.

Warm Regards,
Adthapong V.
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2024

Travelled over the easter 2024 holidays.

The reservations staff were very responsive and accommodating of our requests.
The hotel itself is in a quiet area, and it's a drive out to shops and alternative F&B options.

Our room (lagoon view) was spacious, clean and comfortable. The resort has a pretty pool but this was perhaps a tad small for the size of the property (meaning the pool was always crowded), but the expansive gardens and beach helped spread the crowd out a little.

The beach in front of the property was great - soft albeit slightly coarse sand, but sadly it was red flags (jellyfish) during our stay so we barely had time in the sea. That said, we were able to enjoy stunning sunsets every evening.

F&B outlets Sand Box and Takieng offered good food but on-property dining options are limited to just these 2 restaurants. Guests will probably want to take the hotel's shuttle service or a taxi/grab car out to get to more food options.

Best feature of the stay was the great service. From the staff at the pool to the F&B outlets, everyone was super attentive, polite and friendly. The staff organised a little birthday surprise for my daughter - balloons and cake in the room when we checked in - and she was absolutely chuffed!

All in, we had a great time. Just be prepared to need to venture out for food.

Room tip: Beware of birds that will swoop in for food at the outdoor seating at breakfast!
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llynnch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adthapong V, Other at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments of your stay.

I am delighted to read that you and your family had an enjoyable holiday and that our secluded, yet convenient, location provided the perfect place for you to relax and unwind. We always take pride in delivering special touches and personalized services at every opportunity. It is wonderful to hear that our team catered to your each and every need to make your stay a relaxing holiday.

Again, thank you. We hope you choose to stay with us again during your next visit to Phuket. Feel free to connect with us directly.

Warmest Regards,
Adthapong V.
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews