We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge villa with plunge pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed at the Mai Khao Beach Resort for three nights in January this year as a stop-over from Chiang Mai to Penang.

We decided on this resort as we'd received an offer from Bangkok Airways for the three nights for US100 including transfers and we snapped it up... the only condition was that we sit through a pitch for the Vacation Club and that we qualified (income, etc).

On confirmation of our booking I emailed the resort and requested ground-floor accommodation with a plunge pool which they agreed upon with our payment of an additional US50 at check-in.

There was a big problem with no car to meet us at the airport so I phoned the resort and they said to stay put and that a car would be sent... not a good start.

Check-in went smoothly and we found ourselves ensconced in a huge apartment with two bedrooms (ensuites), a living/dining room with a large kitchen/bar, courtyard and, the wonderful plunge pool situated just outside the master bedroom.

Breakfast was included in the deal and there was a great selection... the pool bar was 'chummy' and, we ordered in with room service which was efficient.

We had a hire car delivered and picked-up at the resort and spent most of the time driving around Phuket seeing the sights and tasting the cuisine.

All-in-all it was an enjoyable interlude.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ivanhoe3079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 471 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

BACKGROUND INFO:
* Family with 3 kids (2,3 and 5 year-olds) and 2 friends
* Stayed for 4 days and 3 nights (Sun till Wed)
* Checked in at 4pm
* Discounted rate using the voucher given during the MVCI presentation in Singapore
* Stayed in a 2-BR villa, located @ the 5th floor (which is the highest floor)
* Tried to upgrade to a room with plunge pool (which only the ground floor rooms have) but all were occupied

*TIP1: It's more fun & convenient to stay at the ground floor with plunge pool
*TIP2: If you can't get a room on the ground floor, get the highest floor
*TIP3: Get rooms located in Bulidings 1 & 2; they have the Pool view and closer to Turtle Village and all other amenities in the resort

Overall, the stay was really pleasant, from the quality of service, the facilities, activities, security.... etc., excluding the COST (in case you need to spend)

*TIP4: Get a copy of daily activities they have for one week, for kids, teens and adults
*TIP5: They have a lot of good facilities like:
a. kids recreation room (Wii, DVDs, 4 sets of TV, toys, books etc.) Good thing about this facility is that they have reliable/experienced staff who handle kids. They don't let the kids go out of the room without the parents. There were 3 to 5 staff with 7 to 10 kids inside (which is a reasonable ratio)
b. Fun Court (Basketball, volleyball, mini-football, table tennis, tennis (shared with JW/Anantara, giant checkers, billiards, gym, cycling... etc. all for free except for tennis
c. Massage by the poolside - relatively expensive in Thailand std (3000THB)
d. restaurants - relatively expensive in Thailand std (320THB to 500THB each main dish), outside resto may only cost for at most 150THB
e. Turtle Village (10 steps from the side gate, near bldng1) - with expensive resto's, Swensen's only serving desserts, Esprit, Triumphs, other stores selling expensive souvenirs (better go to Phuket town, you'll get 3pcs of the same item for the cost of only 1pc if you buy from stores in the village), and of course, Turtle Mart - where all items were marked up by at least 2 times the usual price outside. But it's complete, you can buy your cooking oil (if you intend to cook in the room) or bread and some snacks and rice.
TIP6:They provide the following items in your room for FREE:
a. bottled water, 3pcs of 1L mineral water per day, BUT you can ask for more for FREE
b. detergent soap (refillable anytime)
c. dishwashing soap (refillable anytime)
d. cookwares, kitchen utensils, microwave oven,
e. washing machine and dryer
f. rice cooker, bread toaster, electric kettle, blower
g. soaps, shampoo's and lotion. surprisingly, no toothpaste and toothbrush (anyway we have our own so we didn't bother to ask)


Daily ACTIVITIES:
1. Kids had their own itinerary, cooking, jewelry-making, slippers-making, painting, etc
2. Adults can have their own activities, like Pilates, yoga, gym, billiards, basketball, etc
3. Swimming Pool: Kids pool with slide and adult pool, both in direct sunlight (not covered at all)
4. Outdoor playground for kids (sand floor)
5. Morning and afternoon feeding session with Yaya, the baby elephant at the pool area
6. Walking to the beach and looking around JW beach resort (another Marriott resort facility, 5minute walk or buggy transfer from Mai Khao Beach resort)
7. Sunset experience by the beach
8. Massage at the beach (which is cheaper, only costs 500THB vs 3,000 at Marriott)

TIP7: If you're in a limited/tight budget but want to enjoy the luxury of this resort
a. bring your own food (canned goods, frozen, ready-mixed, etc)
b. Kin dee delivery (half the price as what you will spend in restos in this hotel, quality is okay, authentic Thai food)
c. Domestic calls are charged, delivery calls will be charged (i was charged 350THB for the delivery call to Kin Dee, which is only less than 10mins)
d. Go to Phuket town in Day1. While buying for souvenirs, buy groceries as well, and cook in the hotel.

THIS resort is highly recommended:

a. if you are travelling in a large group or family with kids (since all are 2-BR villa)
b. if you have been to Phuket before and do not intend to travel around other places in Phuket. This is an ISOLATED place, far from Phuket town and nightlife and will cost you 2000THB and 2hours of return travel if you go to those kinds of place.
c. if you want a quiet and relaxing environment

AND we meet all the 3 criteria. That's why I'm giving our holiday a perfect 10!

TIP8: If I stayed in this resort during my first travel to Phuket, I would definitely NOT enjoy! It's a waste of significant amount of money and time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights as part of time sharing with my friend and family. Booking process, great, welcome at the resort, excellent with early check-in accepted, room made available immediately. Only issue was with request for room with plunge pool attached to it. Though the room was available (as we found out later), we were given room with balcony on second floor. we had to dish out extra dollars to get the "upgrade". It was not mentioned in our vouchers.
Anyway..facilities are as expected, neat clean, properly arranged and serviced. Only issue is the beach, which is a bit away from property and not good. It is steep and sand coarse. But Marriott's couldn't have any better than selecting another location for their vacation club!!!
Will stay here or other Marriott properties in future for sure.

Room Tip: Without doubt, choose room on ground floor with attached plunge pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hrishigads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We recently stayed at this location for the first time after getting a great deal. We stay in a 2BR unit with private plunge pool.

The resort and room were to Marriott standards. Our early arrival was warmly accepted with cool towels and juice. The room had three 1L bottles of water and there was free internet available in the units.

I agree with other contributors that it is best to go out and buy some food for your villa. It is much cheaper than the resort food. The breakfast buffet is almost US$30 per person which is expensive by Thai standards. The resort is quite a distance away from the major attractions, so some pre-planning is needed.

The fitness center had good equipment in it and the kids' club had plenty of video games/activities available for the little ones. The pool area is beautiful and expansive. I would agree that the baby elephant interaction twice daily was a hit! If you plan to do cooking classes, go offsite to a school down in Patong or Phuket City areas. The resort charges a hefty THB2,500 per person for a fixed menu. If you go elsewhere, prices start around THB1,000 and you get to shape the menu.

Be aware that you will probably be approached at check-in to do a timeshare presentation if you are already not an owner. For the 90 minute presentation, they will give you 20,000 Rewards points or THB4,000 to spend at the overpriced Turtle Village shops or on overpriced resort food. Keep in mind that these units start around US$17,000, but are much lower if you by from a reseller.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get a room with the private plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetsForFunJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I visited recently with my wife and son. Our arrival was very late at night due to a late flight arrival, however the staff on duty were very good and attentive to our needs. We were shown to our villa and provided an overview of the services available and the villa.

We ventured to breakfast at the Delights cafe at the resort the next morning. Again the service was very good and the food tasty.

The pool is fantastic and big enough to enable me to find some swimming space without bumping into people. The pool is cleaned daily and is surrounded by lounges and day beds.

The pool side bar staff brought guests complimentary water, fruit and small drink samples. The recreation staff were brilliant in assisting my son by providing him towels, goggles and pool toys.

Of great interest to us was the twice daily visit to the pool area by a baby elephant. The handler encouraged guests to play with the elephant and was patient while we all took photos.

Our interaction with all the staff was brilliant. They would always welcome us with a big smile and were very helpful.

I have no complaints about our stay and recommend you all visit in future. The rooms are cleaned daily if you wish and restocked with towels, water, coffee and tea.

You can save some money by buying bread, milk etc from the Turtle Beach supermarket.

The only downside was the distance to Patong Beach, Phuket Fantasea and other activities. If you don't want to leave Mai Khao Beach, you wont be concerned. Otherwise, expect to travel 1 hour each way through maniac Thai traffic. The novelty wore off very quickly.

Room Tip: If you want your own pool ask for a ground floor villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyman003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.4 km away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.5 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
5.4 km away
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $306 - $1,417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing