We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveller rating
446
244
40
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
244
40
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool vacation club mai khao beach turtle village kids club jw marriott master bedroom washing machine and dryer turtle mart buggy ride kin dee tesco lotus fully equipped kitchen sales presentation buggy service golf cart towel folding
Filter
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 756 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

BACKGROUND INFO:
* Family with 3 kids (2,3 and 5 year-olds) and 2 friends
* Stayed for 4 days and 3 nights (Sun till Wed)
* Checked in at 4pm
* Discounted rate using the voucher given during the MVCI presentation in Singapore
* Stayed in a 2-BR villa, located @ the 5th floor (which is the highest floor)
* Tried to upgrade to a room with plunge pool (which only the ground floor rooms have) but all were occupied

*TIP1: It's more fun & convenient to stay at the ground floor with plunge pool
*TIP2: If you can't get a room on the ground floor, get the highest floor
*TIP3: Get rooms located in Bulidings 1 & 2; they have the Pool view and closer to Turtle Village and all other amenities in the resort

Overall, the stay was really pleasant, from the quality of service, the facilities, activities, security.... etc., excluding the COST (in case you need to spend)

*TIP4: Get a copy of daily activities they have for one week, for kids, teens and adults
*TIP5: They have a lot of good facilities like:
a. kids recreation room (Wii, DVDs, 4 sets of TV, toys, books etc.) Good thing about this facility is that they have reliable/experienced staff who handle kids. They don't let the kids go out of the room without the parents. There were 3 to 5 staff with 7 to 10 kids inside (which is a reasonable ratio)
b. Fun Court (Basketball, volleyball, mini-football, table tennis, tennis (shared with JW/Anantara, giant checkers, billiards, gym, cycling... etc. all for free except for tennis
c. Massage by the poolside - relatively expensive in Thailand std (3000THB)
d. restaurants - relatively expensive in Thailand std (320THB to 500THB each main dish), outside resto may only cost for at most 150THB
e. Turtle Village (10 steps from the side gate, near bldng1) - with expensive resto's, Swensen's only serving desserts, Esprit, Triumphs, other stores selling expensive souvenirs (better go to Phuket town, you'll get 3pcs of the same item for the cost of only 1pc if you buy from stores in the village), and of course, Turtle Mart - where all items were marked up by at least 2 times the usual price outside. But it's complete, you can buy your cooking oil (if you intend to cook in the room) or bread and some snacks and rice.
TIP6:They provide the following items in your room for FREE:
a. bottled water, 3pcs of 1L mineral water per day, BUT you can ask for more for FREE
b. detergent soap (refillable anytime)
c. dishwashing soap (refillable anytime)
d. cookwares, kitchen utensils, microwave oven,
e. washing machine and dryer
f. rice cooker, bread toaster, electric kettle, blower
g. soaps, shampoo's and lotion. surprisingly, no toothpaste and toothbrush (anyway we have our own so we didn't bother to ask)

Daily ACTIVITIES:
1. Kids had their own itinerary, cooking, jewelry-making, slippers-making, painting, etc
2. Adults can have their own activities, like Pilates, yoga, gym, billiards, basketball, etc
3. Swimming Pool: Kids pool with slide and adult pool, both in direct sunlight (not covered at all)
4. Outdoor playground for kids (sand floor)
5. Morning and afternoon feeding session with Yaya, the baby elephant at the pool area
6. Walking to the beach and looking around JW beach resort (another Marriott resort facility, 5minute walk or buggy transfer from Mai Khao Beach resort)
7. Sunset experience by the beach
8. Massage at the beach (which is cheaper, only costs 500THB vs 3,000 at Marriott)

TIP7: If you're in a limited/tight budget but want to enjoy the luxury of this resort
a. bring your own food (canned goods, frozen, ready-mixed, etc)
b. Kin dee delivery (half the price as what you will spend in restos in this hotel, quality is okay, authentic Thai food)
c. Domestic calls are charged, delivery calls will be charged (i was charged 350THB for the delivery call to Kin Dee, which is only less than 10mins)
d. Go to Phuket town in Day1. While buying for souvenirs, buy groceries as well, and cook in the hotel.

THIS resort is highly recommended:

a. if you are travelling in a large group or family with kids (since all are 2-BR villa)
b. if you have been to Phuket before and do not intend to travel around other places in Phuket. This is an ISOLATED place, far from Phuket town and nightlife and will cost you 2000THB and 2hours of return travel if you go to those kinds of place.
c. if you want a quiet and relaxing environment

AND we meet all the 3 criteria. That's why I'm giving our holiday a perfect 10!

TIP8: If I stayed in this resort during my first travel to Phuket, I would definitely NOT enjoy! It's a waste of significant amount of money and time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights as part of time sharing with my friend and family. Booking process, great, welcome at the resort, excellent with early check-in accepted, room made available immediately. Only issue was with request for room with plunge pool attached to it. Though the room was available (as we found out later), we were given room with balcony on second floor. we had to dish out extra dollars to get the "upgrade". It was not mentioned in our vouchers.
Anyway..facilities are as expected, neat clean, properly arranged and serviced. Only issue is the beach, which is a bit away from property and not good. It is steep and sand coarse. But Marriott's couldn't have any better than selecting another location for their vacation club!!!
Will stay here or other Marriott properties in future for sure.

Room Tip: Without doubt, choose room on ground floor with attached plunge pool!!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hrishigads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We recently stayed at this location for the first time after getting a great deal. We stay in a 2BR unit with private plunge pool.

The resort and room were to Marriott standards. Our early arrival was warmly accepted with cool towels and juice. The room had three 1L bottles of water and there was free internet available in the units.

I agree with other contributors that it is best to go out and buy some food for your villa. It is much cheaper than the resort food. The breakfast buffet is almost US$30 per person which is expensive by Thai standards. The resort is quite a distance away from the major attractions, so some pre-planning is needed.

The fitness center had good equipment in it and the kids' club had plenty of video games/activities available for the little ones. The pool area is beautiful and expansive. I would agree that the baby elephant interaction twice daily was a hit! If you plan to do cooking classes, go offsite to a school down in Patong or Phuket City areas. The resort charges a hefty THB2,500 per person for a fixed menu. If you go elsewhere, prices start around THB1,000 and you get to shape the menu.

Be aware that you will probably be approached at check-in to do a timeshare presentation if you are already not an owner. For the 90 minute presentation, they will give you 20,000 Rewards points or THB4,000 to spend at the overpriced Turtle Village shops or on overpriced resort food. Keep in mind that these units start around US$17,000, but are much lower if you by from a reseller.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get a room with the private plunge pool.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetsForFunJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I visited recently with my wife and son. Our arrival was very late at night due to a late flight arrival, however the staff on duty were very good and attentive to our needs. We were shown to our villa and provided an overview of the services available and the villa.

We ventured to breakfast at the Delights cafe at the resort the next morning. Again the service was very good and the food tasty.

The pool is fantastic and big enough to enable me to find some swimming space without bumping into people. The pool is cleaned daily and is surrounded by lounges and day beds.

The pool side bar staff brought guests complimentary water, fruit and small drink samples. The recreation staff were brilliant in assisting my son by providing him towels, goggles and pool toys.

Of great interest to us was the twice daily visit to the pool area by a baby elephant. The handler encouraged guests to play with the elephant and was patient while we all took photos.

Our interaction with all the staff was brilliant. They would always welcome us with a big smile and were very helpful.

I have no complaints about our stay and recommend you all visit in future. The rooms are cleaned daily if you wish and restocked with towels, water, coffee and tea.

You can save some money by buying bread, milk etc from the Turtle Beach supermarket.

The only downside was the distance to Patong Beach, Phuket Fantasea and other activities. If you don't want to leave Mai Khao Beach, you wont be concerned. Otherwise, expect to travel 1 hour each way through maniac Thai traffic. The novelty wore off very quickly.

Room Tip: If you want your own pool ask for a ground floor villa.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyman003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I and my wife stayed in the 2 bedroom villa with pool over the weekend. It was raining a lot during our stay but we found this place perfect for our couple retreat.

Of course the taxi was expensive as it was fixed by a taxi group association or something. It cost 500thb to go to the airport 20 mins away. And 400thb per hour if you wanted to rent it to go to Patong or other towns.

The turtle beach beside it is a good place to eat and do some groceries if you don't want to eat in the hotel restaurants. Especially the Coffee club restaurant which had good and decent priced Thai and western meals.

I would recommend this plac for couple retreat and families too.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nsoliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews