We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
451
247
41
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
247
41
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool vacation club mai khao beach turtle village kids club jw marriott master bedroom washing machine and dryer buggy service buggy ride turtle mart kin dee fully equipped kitchen tesco lotus sales presentation golf cart young kids
Filter
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed at Phuket beach Club last year and for part of our return visit this year but also had a week at the Marriott Mai Khao Resort. This resort is a short walk from the other resort both near the Turtle beach (small) Shopping complex. The Mai Khao is more arranged around families. We were 2 couples and we stayed in a villa with it own pool which we upgraded to on arrival. This was a great idea and we enjoyed having the privacy of our own pool but did manage also to spend some time around the main pools. I would not compare the 2 resorts as I feel they service 2 different groups of guests. You can use a few of the facilities at Phuket beach but are discouraged from using the pools and gym as Mai Khao has their own although in my opinion not as good. You get room service in both but we found the Mai Khao was not quite at the same standard as Phuket Beach. The apartments were of a similar standard and both very nice and roomy.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade an apartment with a pool is the way to go.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoAussieBabyBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The property offers a lot in terms of entertainment and activities for kids. That being said if you are a couple or honeymooner you're better off elsewhere.

The location is very far out and it costs a lot just to travel out to town, where all the action is. I paid 1400 baht to go to Patong beach via the hotel's shuttle bus. I don't mind paying but this ain't Japan or America. How can the transportation be so expensive. I constantly feel like I got ripped off by the transport options.

If you you envision yourself spending four full days out on pristine unspoilt beach then go ahead.

The F&B outlets are expensive and quality is only average. Now I am one to stump out several hundreds for good food but the meals taste so-so.

If you are a fan of Marriott, head to Marriott Courtyard where it's more exciting.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slytherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is a great place to stay away from the craziness in Phuket. We loved it. Great room, amenities and staff. Most timeshares don't do much by way of cleaning the room during your stay, these guys did it every day like a hotel! Three huge bottles of drinking water too! The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the bartender at the pool bar and the concierge. Only gripe: you had to pay to take out the bikes, but that's a small thing in the overall. We loved our stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteSkiMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had a wonderful three days at the Marriott Mai Khao beach on a timeshare recommendation from friends. You do have to sit through a 90mins (or what turned out to be 2hrs for us!) presentation which is 1 on 1. Obviously this is acceptable for the deal but still quite a tiring couple of hours.

The pool is delightful and even has a swim-up bar. We had no problems with sun beds - it was quite quiet, though I guess was outside of main school holiday times so there were just a few families there with smaller kids. We had what could only be described as a palatial 2-bed apartment which was absolute heaven. Wonderfully comfortable king size bed, enormous 2-person bath tub, powerful walk in shower and his and her sinks. The kitchen had everything you could need -we did self cater for a couple of lunches (there is a mini mart on site - pricey but without a car we had no other option) and flat screen TVs and DVDs in the lounge and main bedroom - plus a flat screen TV in the second bedroom.

All the staff are attentive without being over the top, extremely polite and helpful. We had cold face towels, fresh fruit and iced water brought to us by the pool each day and free pool towels too. There's a DVD library which we made use of (bizarrely held in the kids nursery area???) and a pool table, table tennis table etc.

The only thing I would say wasn't so great (apart from the inevitable timeshare preso) was the dining options and prices. There was one main restaurant (Zest) on site which we didn't visit as other people had commented the food wasn't great - especially for the price, which is western pricing - plus 10% service and 11% tax (on top of service) for everything. Bear this in mind! The little 'delights' cafe next to it (obviously same kitchen) was nice for a breakfast or lunch, but again quite pricey. The Coffee Shop in the Turtle Village does cheaper food but we made the mistake of obviously going too late in the day. It's open until 10pm and we arrived just after 9pm but at 9:30 the waitress came over with the bill and left it open on our table, which we found a bit distasteful. 5mins later she came over and asked if we could pay our bill now as they were closing. We weren't even half way through our dinner! We asked if we could at least finish our meal, which she didn't really want, but then felt extremely hurried and at that point I just wanted to get out of there - they were literally watching us waiting for us to pay up and get out! Needless to say, we didn't go back there.

I would however recommend, like others, the Kim Dee delivery service (visit Kim Dee Restaurant.com) which though took about an hour, was really fabulous food at very reasonable prices - and free delivery to the hotel for 500baht or more.

All in all a wonderfully relaxing retreat in fabulous surroundings. Watch the taxes/service so you know the real price of a meal but otherwise sit back and enjoy the sunshine!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and have a nice view out to sea. Haven't heard anything good about plunge pools on the ground floor - doesn't seem worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutAndAboutChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I have nothing but positives for this wonderful resort. It's definately 5 Star! This is a perfect get away to relax and rewind. The staff are all wonderful. The restaurants are extremly tasty. Everyone is there to help one have a wonderful time. The rooms are spacious with two bedrooms and two baths. I totally reccommend this property.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews