We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool villas are lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

sister resort to Marriott's Phuket Beach Club therefore expect quality and comfort, have stayed there for a total of 4 weeks, 2 of those in the pool villas which are really good to have your own private pool.

Room Tip: High floors would have a distant sea view, lowest floor have plunge pool therefor ee aware if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 515 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Marriott, Phuket is made up of three sites; the main hotel site, with two timeshare apartment-style properties either side. The Mai Khao Beach timeshare site (MKB) lies further away from the beach than the Hotel and Marriott Beach Club sites. Nonetheless, the location of the whole Marriott Phuket site is second to none - secluded within a lush national park.


THE APARTMENTS

The MKB apartments are, in a word, luxurious. Each apartment has two guest rooms, living room, self-contained kitchen and laundry. Notably these apartments are incredibly clean.

The master bedroom, complete with king-sized bed, has a lavish ensuite with super-sized spa-tub and his/her separate vanity/wash stations and showers, plus complimentary robes that you could just about lose youself in! Sliding doors open out onto a generously sized deck with table that overlooks the pool area below - great for evenings.

The second guest room has TWO double beds and is adjoined to a second smaller bathroom ensuite.

Allowances are for six persons in an apartment and this is easily achieved - DO NOT come alone as these apartments are generous in size and are built for big occasions. Though my wife, son and I had great fun playing hide and seek, at the end of the day we rued the mistake of not inviting some friends along with us!

The self-contained kitchen and laundry facilities made this trip incredibly convenient. You do not need to spend exorbitant amounts of money in or around the hotel site. Moreover hiring a car, to go for a drive around the island, and to the local TESCO shopping mart, was both fun as well as culturally and financially savvy. STOCK UP if you choose this option.

THE FACILITIES

The MKB is built for families. Though the Kids Club at MKB is small and wanting when compared to the main hotels Kids Club, at least there are programs and people on hand throughout the day to take care of and entertain your children (if any). I would try and have your kids put into the main Kids Club at the main hotel, which is fantastic! And while this is going on...daily massage? Too right. Just head down to the beach area.

The Marriott site has three main pool areas. Though MKB guests are not permitted to enter the Main Hotel and Beach Club pools, this never seemed to be an issue. I'm guessing the policing and sheer idiocracy of it all, coupled with life in the tropics, sees this type of offending as superflurous to control. Enjoy yourself!

NEARBY SHOPS - Turtle Village

Turtle Village sits right next to the MKB. Its a small shopping complex built for the hotels in the nearby vicinity. The mart in Turtle Village is very expensive, as it is the only mart within a close range. Hire a car, go for a drive and on the way try to get to TESCO!
The Coffee Club is also pricey but serves good food.
Bill Bentleys has fine food and a great happy hour (4-7pm).

The Mai Khao Beach Club is really for families. It's a long way away from the typical Thailand hustle and bustle...which is exactly why we chose MKB. My family and I lead a busy lifestyle. The MKB gave us the rich rewards we were after - without the hassles and with all the bells and whistles of 5 star service that we were looking for.

Wishing yours is just as good.
Happy holidays.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seoulkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Went to Marriott Mai Khao Beach due to referral from a friend (Vacation Club). As per the previous reviews, I'm sure that readers would know that it is the timeshare package thing and we would have to attend a 90 mins presentation.

Overall service was excellent, though there wasn't any toothpaste in the rooms, we requested via room service and it was complementary. There were continuous supply of bottled water, which was good.

We had stay in the 2-bedroom villa which had a private pool, but then again it wasn't so "private" as there will be people walking by. As for the private pool, it wasn't appealing at all, as there were many (and i mean MANY) mosquitoes "camping" on the side walls waiting for the chance to suck the life out of you once you go to the pool area. Mosquitoes were everywhere.

Recreation for the resort was pretty good too; there were many activities for children and adults likewise, so the "theme" is really for relaxation.

Private taxis were available to take you to Patong area for a sum, and the ride takes about an hour (2 way will be 2 hours).

One thing is that the breakfast at the resort's in-house restaurant (can't remember name) sucked quite badly. On the last night, we managed to find a local thai cuisine named Kin Dee, which also provided free delivery to our hotel, at very good prices!

Overall the resort was pretty good, just that the location is the downside. If you are looking for some family fun, or just a place to rejuvenate out of the busy city-life, it should be okay. Everything purchasable in the resort is overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rukaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I am writing this review specifically to guide the interested tourist about the features of this Hotel.

First of all this is obviously an expensive Hotel, and there is no denying the fact that one would not expect it to be anything but utmost luxurious, given the price you pay.
But I believe it is the best deal out there, and completely worth your money in comparison to what you spend on other Hotels.

I am a Muslim and we went to Thailand as a family of four. We always had to book two rooms but Marriott Mai Khao is purposed for families and can accommodate upto 6 people per suite.
Secondly, since we are specific about food and require Halaal meals, the FULLY equipped Kitchen was very handy for us. It has everything you can imagine, from ice dispenser to a nice oven, every utensil and cutlery and even a mart to buy vegetables and grocery from within the Hotel premises. It's more than one could ask for.

The BEST thing about this Hotel is that if you stay in any of the Marriott properties, you have access to the facilities of all others. You can try the restaurants, tour the breath taking views, book spa appointments, and do much more. So its like 4 hotels for the price of one.
All have amazing views of the beach, fire displays, rooftop pools, bars and its SO peaceful with only a few people and no noise ot disturb you whatsoever.

We never felt the need to leave the premises because from shopping to restaurants, Marriott had it all.

Everything is huge. Goes without saying the suite is absolutely clean, the beds are super comfy and the views from suite are a treat as well. The pool was cool, and there is this very shallow part of it in which even the toddlers can take a dip!

And oh, dont forget the buggy ride to the beach. They have this great facility to drive you all over the premises so you dont have to walk alot.

If you have a family, this is the best Hotel out there. I DID miss Muslim showers for sanitation in the bathrooms, but that is the only thing I felt missing in this otherwise amazing Resort.

*** Do check out the pictures I am posting along. Just a few, I wont upload the ones of the other neighbouring properties which were equally amazing and you will have access to. ***

Room Tip: Room near the lobby (1000s) incase you dont enjoy walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliMahad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Arrived in the rainy season to the most luxurious 2 bedroom apartment. Travelled with another couple and was not only impressed by the cleanliness and decor but the quietness of the rooms. Unusual for timeshare - the rooms were serviced every day. If we had not already bought timeshare from Accor we would have bought from Marriott. They think of everything.
Kitchen has all you need a microwave/convection oven, hotplates, coffee dripolator and toaster and kettle etc.

If you like your bed hard this will delight you. For us a bit too hard. Plenty of pool areas and the grounds are delightful.

They have a resident baby elephant to entertain the kids and massage on the beach is 400 baht and excellent.

Room Tip: South side close to Turtle Village - Coffee Club does great meals and very reasonable.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank wiwiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.4 km away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.5 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
5.4 km away
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $293 - $1,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing