We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
17
5
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
5
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoonlight cottagewood firethe cottagesother guestsspa baththe great ocean roadmoonrisekoalashomestaycarportrelaxationbreadmaker
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I wanted a place that was away from everything, peaceful and relaxing and this is exactly what Moonlight cottage was. Such a quiet cottage with everything I needed for a few days stay. Warm and cosy and set in beautiful surroundings it was an ideal location if you are looking to get away from people for a while. Also located not too far from activities and a lovely drive along the Great Ocean Road. Don't be put off by the unmade road to get to the cottages. I was there in winter with a lot of rain and the road was fine for getting in and out each day. My dog loved it.

Room Tip: Small, peaceful, cosy and no wifi or phone service.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StephBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shasha79, Manager at Cape Otway Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thanks for your kind words Steph :)
So glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise away from everything!
Kind Regards, Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

OMG what a rip off, don,t go there unless you have a 4 wheel drive ,the last 6 kms took us 30 mins and was like driving on corregated iron. No phone reception at all even though we where told there was .What a death trap as there is only a dirt track in and out and if a fire went through there you would never be found and no way of escape.This place is a disaster waiting to happen.We had 2 nights booked and payed for but after seeing what a dangerous place it was we turned around and went home.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim0llie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

My Partner & our fur babies (Blue Heeler & Kelpie) stayed recently for the 3 night package. Upon arrival there is a long winding dirt/gravel road, that travels up & through the hills to your chosen cottage. This scenery is to die for! But wait until you get to the accommodations...
We stayed at the Grasstree Cottage. A small, quaint, cosy little building set high on the hill, with all mod cons (as listed on their web site). The Spa looks out into the bush & is very peaceful. The Breadmaker is a nice touch.
Upon arrival, we noticed that the Dog gate wasn't closing properly & luckily, we had a ockie strap to keep it closed. Once we entered the building, we were very happy :) BIG bed, fire place, full kitchen... However - the Dog beds we were promised were nothing more than a folded sheet on the floor (not big enough for 2 big dogs & not what I call Comfy Dog Beds & lucky we brought our own puppy blankets) in front of the fire place & NO PUPPY TREATS! This was a huge disappointment as their Dog Friendly Pride was why we chose these cottages!
Once night fell, the mozzies came out, but all of the citronella candles were out of wick & there was no bug spray - so a quick trip to Apollo Bay & we were set - but shouldn't have to do that at 6-7pm in the evening :(
We are sticklers for checking out places & open cupboards & doors & check under beds etc... This caused us to find copious amounts of dog fur (that didn't belong to our boys) on the floors in & under furniture! Our biggest discovery was a pair of either Ladies or (perhaps) toddler frilly knickers underneath our bed! I bit concerning!
All in all, our stay was just what we needed - Seclusion, no noise & relaxation! We will definitely come back & perhaps try the homestead - It looked AMAZING!
I have contacted Sharon about my issues & she very kindly offered a small refund of some of our accommodation fees & she will be having words with the cleaning staff :) So I leave you with... Stay there, enjoy the Bush setting that is sooooo close to the sea! Complete Tranquility!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love_2_Review666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We stayed in moonrise cottage for a 4 day weekend.
We didn’t see any other guests for the duration of our stay, it was lovely and quiet with beautiful parrots and other birds for company.
If you want to relax and be away from it all this is the place for you, especially with the patchy mobile coverage.
The cottage was well appointed and very clean.
The wood fire was set up ready to light, which we made good use of as the weather was quite cool and it added to the atmosphere.
We took our two pugs, who had a wonderful time.
The rules in terms of pets might seem full on but when you think about it pugs for example shed like crazy so making the effort to say put the woollen blankets away in the cupboard so they don’t get covered in fur was no drama and meant we had less stress to worry about with our dogs.
The provided dog bed didn’t really do it for my dogs but I can see that a large dog/s would be happy with it, so if your dogs are a little picky maybe just bring their bed from home.
The kitchen was well equipped, and we were able to prepare all our meals with no issue or needing anything additional.
The provided breakfast items, bread mix for the bread maker, cereal, juice, milk butter etc was great.
Thanks for providing a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nomes1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We had previously visited cape otway cottages and stayed in one of the cottages which was amazing... but this time we decided to go all out with the dunes homestead and we could not have been happier! Whether you feel like chilling on the couch with the cosy fire watching the clouds roll over the landscape or enjoy a beer on the deck at sunset with the faint sound of waves crashing in the background this place is truly a sanctuary and the perfect getaway if you are looking for pet friendly our 15 week old Great Dane gave his seal of approval bathing in the sunlight on the grass. The coffee machine was a nice touch and made spotting the native wildlife in the morning that bit more enjoyable

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews