We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
529
181
45
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
181
45
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board photo shooting superior family room sister hotel next door school term time kids club indoor pool family holiday year old daughter the hotel was fully booked wonderful holiday main building evening entertainment beach bar excellent hotel living room young families
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

My wife, my 2 year-old son and I spent 7 nights at Iberostar Playa de Muro Village in June 2018 for a family holiday with plenty of sun, sand, sea and a silly over-excited toddler!

This hotel is a luxury offering but is also very family orientated and, in particular, appeals to families with younger kids and toddlers. It has clearly had a recent refurb and is now styled as a 'boutique' hotel to differentiate itself from its more conventionally styled 4-star neighbour (Hotel Playa de Muro - no village!) with which facilities are shared.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for travelling with younger children as there was so much for them to do and the whole ethos of the place was geared towards making sure little ones had a fantastic time and that parents could relax and enjoy the lovely surroundings too.

Playa de Muro Village is situated right on the beach in Acudia Bay - about 5 miles from Alcudia itself. The whole coastal strip between Alcudia and Muro is one built-up area but its not overly developed and was pretty relaxed (this might be somewhat different in high season). As I mentioned above its right next door to another Iberostar hotel and the two are part of the same 'campus' though strangely when our transfer dopped us at the wrong one they had no record of our booking and it took a while for it to dawn on them that we are probably booked in next door. You'd think that confusing the two hotels, which have almost identical names, and are next door to each other would be a semi-regular occurrence that they are well used to!

We found the location to be excellent as there are plenty of facilities within a very short walk and we spent so much time on the beach. The beach is fantastic with lovely fine white sand; the sea is very shallow a long way out and it was warm and calm - so great for little-ones to play in. The views around the bay and to the mountains in the distance in both directions were amazing - particularly in the evenings. The one negative about the beach is that it is a public beach so you have to pay extra to rent sun loungers and a parasol - which came to about 13 euros per day. Of course you could always use the loungers and parasols around the hotel pools for free but our little boy much preferred the beach.

We found the buses to be a reliable and quick way of getting to Alcudia and Port d'Alcudia and there is a bus-stop right outside the hotel.

We had a Family Room which was meant to be an upgrade from a 'Basic Family Room' but we never did work out what the difference was between the two. The room was a good size with seperate living area and balcony. Unfortunately, while being comfortable enough, we didn't feel that the room matched the luxury feel found elsewhere in the hotel. The lino floors were torn, the bath and shower were falling to bits (the shower was rubbish) and nothing was, well luxury really! The balcony furniture was cheap and uncomfortable and the hairdryer was useless. It just felt like the recent refurb meant that the rooms were given a lick of paint and not much else. It didn't ruin our stay or anything like that but we just thought it strange that such crucial part seems to have been overlooked - maybe we were just unlucky.

The facilities at Playa du Muro are first rate; there are several swimming pools, some lovely outdoor areas and a spa (with an indoor pool). We spent a lot of time round the pools which were wonderful and really designed with kids in mind.

We were half-board and found the food to be very high quality with lots of choice. The buffet was probably one of the best I've encountered with loads of choice and all very tasty. It was also very well staffed with tables cleared quickly. You could also have breakfast at the beach side restaurant which became more formal a la carte restaurant in the evenings. We tried this once but it was a taster menu so not really ideal for the boy - I enjoyed it though.

The staff were all great and helped us to relax and have a good time. However they weren't quite as personable as we have experienced at other, similar hotels. Professional and courteous but not quite as friendly maybe.

So, to conclude, despite some gripes about the room, we a lovely time here. It’s a great choice for young families and the facilities are fantastic. Just remember to bring your own hair dryer!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank JDMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa de Muro Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear guest,

We want you to know that the description of your stay with us at our hotel is very helpful and we thank you for providing your rating. Although your comments show that in most areas we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our detailed service, we have taken your feedback regarding the concerns you raise on board as we are aware that we can only improve on the basis of constant dialogue with our guests.

Again we want to thank you very much for sharing your review of our establishment and would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to one of our hotels soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Playa de Muro Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

WE are now staying in the hotel and a bit disappointed with the experience, I don’t believe we would practice it the other time, and the reasons are here:
1. starting from transfer which was booked through Iberostar partner service as advised. The flight was late, the transfer company agreed to wait, but when we arrived as 1 am, we had to stand for a long time next to the car, waiting for the driver awkwardly fix baby seats. Just a not - baby seats were booked and paid two months in advance, why not to greet the customer with them fixed? Is it better to make the customer stand for a long time and hold two kids in his hands while the driver is fixing it? The car itself is small and inconvenient.
2. the hotel itself is very small, not spacious.
3. the beach is not private, its a public beach and strangers and aliens book sunbeds on the beach.
4. the hotel is not child friendly, nothing in the rooms for kids (special seats or steps or anything)
5. the air-conditioning in a family room just above the head of the sleeping child which makes it impossible to use it.
6. to reach the reception you should go to another building and cross the road with a heavy traffic.

Overall the experience is bad, awful, never will come again.

Room Tip: family room is not child friendly, we did not like the room, no advice in this term
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality manager at Iberostar Playa de Muro Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018


Dear Maria,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sending us your feedback. We regret that you had some issues with your transfer and will take note of your observations to pass on. Furthermore, we are sorry you feel our five-star, Mediterranean style establishment with 190 rooms compact, however, it is a firm favourite with our guests due to its tranquillity. We are surprised to read that you do not find our hotel to be child-friendly, as it boasts many features for our younger visitors, separate pools, water games zone, star camp, children's menu and many more options at our neighbouring establishment and we hope that you have located our reception area in our hotel since writing to us and please do not hesitate to ask our wonderful team if you need any assistance and they will do their utmost to ensure that you and your family have an amazing stay with us and take some fantastic memories home because at Iberostar that is always our aim. Maria, we hope that you and your family will visit us in the future at one of our hotels and until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely,


Quality manager
Iberostar Playa de Muro Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We stayed here for five nights in July with our 4 and 7 year old boys. The accommodation is pretty basic, the kids slept on the sofas in the living area. They weren't pull out ones, just literally sofas but they didn't seem to care. The pool is fantastic and our two boys were in it for hours each day.
We didn't use the kids club but the two ladies working there looked like they did a great job as you regularly saw the kids out and about playing games. And our 4 year old adored the mini disco each night and the mascot who came out to dance.
We stayed half board and the food was surprisingly ok for a buffet. We tended to eat overlooking the beach rather than in the main buffet as it was a bit more interesting to look out to sea etc. I do agree with the previous reviewer that some of the food definitely got a bit too hot under the sun and plates though e.g. melting ice cream sat under the sun and things like yoghurts etc.
The beach was always very busy but beautiful.
Definitely recommend for families looking for a week of fun in the sun.

Room Tip: None of the rooms seemed to have sea views.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa de Muro Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear Denise,

We would like first and foremost to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday and also for taking the time to share your opinion. Every day is a new challenge for us based on our passion for providing our guests with an environment similar to a home from home. Our highly motivated and competent team ensures that our services, as well as our hotel's wealth of facilities, provide a holiday feeling of the very special kind for our guests.

Again we thank you for sharing this constructive feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Playa de Muro Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

This is a family hotel, so not recommended for couples or singles. I was there for 5 days in all inclusive. The stuff is nice but not everybody is well educated some of them were making not nice comments about the costumers, thinking that they would not understand Spanish. The dinner is fine, but the lunch I would not recommend it at all (all inclusive not a good idea) because the food is outside in the sun, the ice creams getting melted, and I got food poisoning (I was in all inclusive at the hotel, so everything I ate was from them) I could not eat anything in one day and have to stay at the room and asked for a doctor. They said that because nobody was sick, is not their fault, so I had to pay the doctor myself. If there is a problem they do not take responsibility, they offered me a better room next time (yes, like I would want to return to that) I just wanted that they pay the doctor, that's all. They promised to call me to fix it, and they never did.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lusayaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa de Muro Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write to us and share this review of your recent holiday at our beautiful, beachfront, five-star hotel, the perfect location for a relaxing holiday for all age groups. We sincerely regret that you were unwell during your time in our hospitality and would like to mention that our establishment adheres to all European health and safety guidelines, however, we have no further reports of digestive illness, therefore, we believe it was an isolated event. We are also sorry for the misunderstanding on your departure that we were going to contact you at a later date, as at the time we explained our position and did our utmost to satisfy you, we regret that our efforts were not to your satisfaction. Once more we thank you for choosing Iberostar and we trust that you had a pleasant journey home.

Best wishes,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Playa de Muro Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Have been returning for the past four years to cycle the island in April. THe hotel is very comfortable adn the staff is incredibly friendly and responsive. Short walks to many restaurants and cafes for afternoon coffee, beers or snacks. Beautiful grounds and easy access to the beach, though a bit chilly when I am there! The food selection is incredible, which is very important before and after riding 60-100 miles daily. Love this place and will be trying it out twice this year with an additional visit in September.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank K-nize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa de Muro Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear guest,

Your review of our hotel is very much appreciated. We are always very happy to receive confirmation that our guests have enjoyed a wonderful holiday and have left with happy memories.We would also like to express our gratitude to you for returning to visit us for four years running.

Our combination of both competent and friendly service is one of our main priorities and we are constantly working to provide our guests with a genuine experience. Again, we thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Playa de Muro Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews