We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu(Dhunikolhu Island)
USD 1,301
USD 1,241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
USD 117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 2,250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Soneva Fushi(Kunfunadhoo)
USD 4,052
USD 2,308
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Royal Island Resort & Spa(Horubadhoo Island)
USD 740
USD 215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 339/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Star Tree(Dharavandhoo)
USD 469
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 1,119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 1,198
USD 1,072
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amilla Fushi(Baa Atoll)
USD 2,343
USD 2,283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
400
47
13
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
47
13
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrab shackthrough luxury escapesdrinks packagelive bandocean pool villafishbeach clubsister islandbucket listfull moon partywater sportsspecialty restaurantssea planeparty islandmain restaurantocean sidehuge deck
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Greetings Finolhu,

Myself and my wife would like to thank you for your kindness and hospitality during our 7 nights stay. Being our first visit to Maldives, we were expecting too much and were quite difficult at times which was uncalled for.

We loved our stay, especially our ocean villa room 111. We made a few fish friends that came to our staircase every night at 11pm. 3 stings rays, 2 porchupine fish (which are totally our favourite now because they are so harmless and cute), a few colourful parrot fish, reef sharks and even a turtle came to say goodbye to us the night before we left.

The resort itself offers I think one of the best beaches due to the generous amounts of lovely white soft sand and the highlight of having a beautiful long sandbank. Which not only gives you an underrated private feeling when walking there but it also leads to Crab Shack Restaurant which is quite yummy. We even ventured out and snorkeled all around the sandbank which was great and it was our go to beach to hang out.

We went to snorkeling trips which have been a new favourite hobby for us. It's just amazing and relaxing. We even went night snorkeling. Just the 2 of us because nobody else signed up! Turned out to be very relaxing and we saw a massive turtle and beautiful colourful coral. Something thrilling about snorkeling at night. Everyone should try it.

Food was consistantly good at the buffet and we thought the bar was pretty amazing. Always having some sort of entertainment whether it was live music or performances. If your somebody who gets bored in the evening, you should give Finolhu a shot. It's lively when it matters most.

We would like to thank Micky and her team for guiding us to an awesome and safe snorkeling experience, Nguyen for his genuine kindness towards us, Amr for his big smile and presence, Nyaz for your overall time and professionalism and lastly our personal favourite Raffa for just being who he is. A great guy and he will be solely missed.

We look forward to the next chapter of Maldives and we may just see you all again.

Kind regards,

Andy and Christie

Room Tip: Overwater villa for sunset or sunrise views and the chance of seeing dolphins and other fish.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc R, Resort Manager at Finolhu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Andy L,

Wow! What a wonderful review. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending Finolhu to other travelers. Our goal is 100% customer satisfaction and it sounds like we achieved that goal with you. We want every experience to be “five stars”!

I will ensure that Michi, the HUB team, Nguyen, Niyaz and your personal favourite Raffa, will all get the well-deserved recognition.
It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With kind regards,
Marc Reader

“Experience the reward of loyalty with Maldives Aficionado programme. We have developed this loyalty programme to say thank you for your belief and in the hope to create many more special memories. Visit tsmic.mv/aficionado to sign up and for more information about the programme. Maldives Aficionado mobile application is now available in Apple Store and Google Play Store for download.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stayed in an overwater villa (lagoon side). Villa was spacious and modern, huge bathroom, 3 showers (2 outdoor). Large deck with couches and sun lounges with direct access to the lagoon. Overwater villas are a 10 minute walk away from the main pool/beach area. There are golf carts that you can catch but usually these are full and run every 20 minute. We had an all inclusive package, which I highly recommend as it is well worth the money. Baa Baa Diner had a good spread for breakfast and dinner, lunch selection was a bit disappointing. Alcohol list had a good selections of wines/sparkling wines and spirits as well as cocktails. In the evening there was live band and DJ entertaining the guests so it was not boring. Special mention to the spa, we had a couples 2.5 hour treatment that was amazing and so relaxing.
Overall I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Melb_Chick83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc R, Resort Manager at Finolhu, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Melb_Chick83,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that overall, your experience was positive. I will be sure to let our Cove Club team know how much of an impact they made on your experience.

However, I am very sorry to hear that our lunch selection from Baa Baa Main Diner did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concern has been passed on to our Food and Beverage management. We hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit to your Beach Club Haven Finolhu.

Warmest regards,
Marc Reader

“Experience the reward of loyalty with the Maldives Aficionado programme. We have developed this loyalty program to say thank you for your belief in TSMIC and in the hope to create many more special memories. Sign Up now and enjoy value-added benefits during your next visit to Finolhu/Amilla Fushi. Maldives Aficionado mobile application is now available in Apple Store and Google Play Store for download.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Had a perfect week at this resort: the villa (255) was very nice with a great sunset view. It had all the facilities you would expect, and a good degree of privacy. There was direct access to the ocean and reef, and the infinity pool was a nice alternative.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the food ranged from pretty good to excellent.

In summary, I loved the place and will definitely try to go back some day

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc R, Resort Manager at Finolhu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Michael B,

Groovy greetings.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and even more for leaving us such a wonderful review.
Our islanders will be pleased to learn of your high praise and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing what they are doing.

Thank you, once again, for your kind words.

We hope to see you here again in your Beach Club Haven Finolhu and please bring all your friends and family.
We will ensure they all enjoy the same quality of service as you have.

Sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Where to begin...so we got in late at the island (around 10pm) after a long wait in Male because we missed our connection due to the late arrival of our aircraft. All the tiredness disappeared as soon as we arrived at the resort to start our honeymoon. From the friendly service to the atmosphere and the sheer beauty of the place took all our frustrations away. I should also mention we were very well looked after by Finolhu staff from the time we landed in Male.

This place is the definition of paradise, we were lucky enough to be staying in the ocean pool villa, which has its own infinity pool overlooking the beautiful ocean, with complete privacy. The room itself is amazing with all the amenities possible. We were even fortunate enough to see dolphins swim past in plain sight from the room’s deck. There is direct access to the ocean from the room, so if you love snorkelling or simply want to enjoy the clear Maldivian water this will be heaven for you as it was for me.

There are 4 restaurants, of which we tried 3 and all have amazing varieties from fresh seafood to authentic Asian. The main one, where we mostly dined offered a different cuisine every day. Special shoutout to Shyam Chef, who noticed our Indian background and went the extra mile of preparing special delicacies for us. From the lamb biryani to chole bature, it made the stay there all the more special. All chefs there presented their dishes with extreme passion, and it is visible with all the extra weight we are carrying back ;)

The beauty of the resort would not be complete without the lovely staff that make this place come alive. I am terrible with names otherwise I would personally thank each and everyone. The personal touch they give makes your stay all the more memorable. My wife was coming down with a sore throat and the staff looked after her by making special honey and ginger tea to providing brandy in hot water.

The only thing I regret is staying here for 5 nights, it’s way too short to take in all the beauty the resort has to offer. I recommend a minimum of 10 nights.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Vishal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc R, Resort Manager at Finolhu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Vishal R,

Greetings from Finolhu.

I appreciate your positive feedback. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. I am sure our entire resort islanders enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Rest assured that I‘d pass your kind words along to the team and Chef Shyam, who specially helped to make your stay memorable.

We are incredibly grateful for giving us this proverbial pat on the back, you made our day! We will strive to deliver WOW experiences consistently, please do come again.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We have just returned from 7 nights at Finolhu and now we have a problem - NO holiday could ever live up to this!

I read all the reviews and watched the promo video hundreds of times before we went but nothing can prepare you for how amazing this place actually is. Yes it's expensive and yes it is worth it. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Our one disappointment was with Luxury Escapes who falsely advertised Sea Plane transfers in their promo video and which we were so excited for, but we had the normal domestic flight and boat trip. However it appears that is on them, not Finolhu.

You won't get bored especially if you love marine activities. There is great snorkelling about 50 metres out from the ocean rooms at the drop off. We saw many colourful fish, eagle rays and turtles.

There's nothing like swimming in the ocean right off your villa and then jumping in your own private pool. And three showers - two outdoor and one indoor!

We saw dolphins every day. Right out from our ocean pool villa (worth staying in!) or out from the restaurant or when we went out on a dive trip and the sunset cruise, right near the boat.

Every night at the buffet has a different theme and they were all great. We missed two of them when we had our dinners at the premium restaurants so an extra two nights would have been handy!

Massage was the best I've ever experienced.

Cocktails - amazing. Food - amazing. Seriously we haven't said the word, "amazing," so often in our lives.

The majority of staff were very friendly and helpful. A special thank you to Shaha and Olga at Baa Baa, Muni who took our cocktail making class and is an excellent cocktail maker, Damith also at the bar, Mully the photographer, Fawarz the dive master (sorry if I spelt your name wrong) and many more. Thank you also Marc for coming up to say hi to us on our last night.

Fish and Crab Shack is devine.

We also did the trip to the sister resort, Amilla. Worth checking out - it has a totally different vibe and was certainly luxurious but we preferred Finolhu for the vibe, funky style and atmosphere. Snorkelling the blue hole at Amilla is cool especially if you can dive to about 8-9 metres to the entrance of the hole.

At Finolhu, regular buggies help you get around without lots of walking. Yes, they are a little noisy on the boardwalk past the rooms but you get used to it and you won't complain when you're the one catching a lift.

I pity anyone who sees life in such a light that they could leave a bad review for this place.

Thank you so much Finolhu for ruining every other resort for us by being so amazing ;) . We are making it a serious goal to come back as soon as possible!

Tenille and Jamie, room 232 <3

Room Tip: Over water pool villa is a must
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tenille W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews