We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stanhope, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracy M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Recently returned from our third visit to Footway Cottage, this little gem has become a firm favourite with us every year. The cottage is immaculate, warm, and offers everything you need for your stay. The bedrooms are a good size, as is the bathroom and kitchen is well appointed. The whole place is spotlessly clean. Always.

The kids and dogs thoroughly enjoy their week. Lots of good dog walking in and around Stanhope, along the River Wear, and we always love a walk to the Dales Centre for lunch.

Beamish Museum is around 20/25 min drive away and is a MUST if your in the area, it’s always the highlight of our holiday and we visit 2 or 3 times during our stay. Bon Appetito in Wolsingham is 5 mins away by car and if like us you love Italian food you won’t be disappointed.

Footway Cottage is a delightful place to spend your holiday, cozy and comfortable to come back to in the evening and if your lucky with the weather, sit in the sun and watch the wildlife. It’s well and truly our home away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolaell
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have just returned from a trip in Footway cottage. We went on the polar express which was great. The cottage is home from home with everything you need and more. The owner Norma is great, friendly and makes your stay very welcoming. The views from the cottage was fantastic. Had a great stay in this very lovely cottage. Highly recommend it. We was 2 adults and 1 child.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2015
We couldn't be happier that you had such a great holiday, and thank you ever so much for sharing this lovely feedback with us. The comfortable cottage mixed with those views and of course the polar express sounds just perfect! We certainly hope to see you again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VAL B
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NEVER DISAPPOINTS”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from our second visit to Footway and it really is just a joy to stay there. The cottage is very comfortable, well equipped, cosy, in a lovely quiet area yet close to Stanhope and dog friendly which is very important to us. The owners Norma and David are lovely people and nothing is a trouble to them. We would highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was home from home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl38_13
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We once again stayed at Footway Cottage, it never disappoints, lovely relaxed break over New Year, great welcome pack, even a Xmas reindeer for our little girl! We shall return later on in the year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jouleshel...
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My mother and I spent a very pleasant week here in August. Wonderfully clean cottage with everything you could possibly need for a self catering stay. Great location and lots to do, owners even provide leaflets and typed out a list of recommended places. Area is beautiful and the neighbours are really friendly. We visited the town of Stanhope which has a co op and crafts plus some nice cafés. Alex Clark has a boutique there with beautiful gifts. Would certainly hope to stay again. Great cottage run by great people and a great base for exploring Northumberland and County Durham.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and comfortable quiet
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing