We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property
Breaday Gill from the courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breaday Gill from the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Breaday Gill from the courtyard
One of the neighbours!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hackness, Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mini_cj
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed at Breaday Gill for 2 nights with my mum and sister, and we were all absolutely delighted with the stylish, yet extremely comfortable and cosy accommodation. Lorna and Chris, the owners, were genuinely warm and welcoming, and really had thought of everything (the kitchen was particularly well equipped). We'd arranged for a two-course, home-cooked meal to be ready for us on arrival, and this was excellent too.

Highly recommended - we'd love to return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal987
1 review
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay with family and it was perfect. A beautifully transformed steading with everything you could possibly need tucked away in stylish drawers and cupboards. The hosts were incredibly accommodating and made us feel very welcome. Didn't want to leave!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marzi1708
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Memorable Stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Breaday Gill for a week in September and we could not have had a more positive experience. The property has a superb location and the cottage is beautiful. From the wonderful design to the fine detail of the accessories, nothing has been left to chance. The hosts, Lorna and Chris, are marvelous - always there to help but never intrusive. At Breaday Gill Lorna and Chris have managed to put it all together in a unique way. We cannot recommend it enough and look forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to not like
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We truly enjoyed welcoming you as our guests at Breaday Gill and look forward to seeing you all at Silpho again soon.

With our best wishes

Lorna & Chris
Stylish Stays
Luxury Holidays
Yorkshire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastatic Luxury Cottage in an outstanding location”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had pleasure of being the first guests in this newly converted luxury cottage in August this year. The cottage is a single storey barn conversion located on on the same farm as the owners. The conversion had clearly been a real labour of love (done to the same specification as the owners own barn conversion) and really lived up to the luxury billing. So much care and attention to detail was evident - the interior design and furniture being the highlight ( we loved the dining table). We also loved the open-plan kitchen/dinner/living room arrangement. Both bedrooms (with very comfy beds!) have on-suite bathrooms - our seven year old loved his room and his own facilities. Bedrooms are on opposite ends of the barn in between the open plan area and offer plenty of privacy if you were staying as a group.

Location in the small hamlet of Silpho is perfect - only ten mins drive from Scarborough but in the middle of the North Yorks national park (best of both worlds). Great routes for running/walking/cycling right on your doorstep.

Chris & Lorna were great hosts, helpful at all times but not at all intrusive. They made some great suggestions on things to do in the area and we felt really welcomed and catered for.

We had a fantastic stay and would heartily recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to give such a complete review. We enjoyed welcoming you as our first guests and were delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at Breaday Gill.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

With our best wishes

Lorna & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing