We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rappel experience”

Cascada de Juan Curi
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in San Gil
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Went with my girlfriend and had a great time rappelling down the waterfall. The water was cold at the beginning, but after a little while and with all the excitement you can't care less about the cold water and everything is fine. The rappel is about 60m down and the surroundings are beautiful. The hike was easy if you are in good shape. I strongly recommend it.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Alejandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful waterfall"
in 7 reviews
"short hike"
in 4 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 4 reviews
"small pool"
in 3 reviews
"public bus"
in 2 reviews
"half day trip"
in 2 reviews
"natural pool"
in 3 reviews
"nice walk"
in 4 reviews
"entry fee"
in 3 reviews
"easy walk"
in 2 reviews
"cold water"
in 3 reviews
"take care"
in 2 reviews
"extreme sports"
in 2 reviews
"falls"
in 20 reviews
"ropes"
in 8 reviews
"rappel"
in 10 reviews
"climb"
in 8 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We went there from San Gil by bus (line to Charalá, No. 4 in the small terminal, every 30 mins, 45 mins to go, 5,000 COP pp). Entrance fee was 9,000 COP pp which is a little expensive but probably still okay. The walk from the entrance to the waterfall is about 20-30 minutes easy uphill. At the entrance there is a small shop where you have to pay. There were many chickens and even a peacock running around.

We arrived at the waterfall at noon and enjoyed the last rays of the sun which disappeared behind the mountains at about 1pm. It became quite chilly afterwards.

The water in the small pool was refreshing and the scenery really beautiful and nice. This place is good for a short trip in the morning. We spent about two hours at the park.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Chipioki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

The walk to the cascade is pretty nice (entry fee of 10.000 pesos) when you get to a small tienda you can walk at the right side and get to the top of the cascade (where people get down with a rope) otherwise you continue the path and get to the big pool down the cascade. The water is pretty cold but it is a very quiet and nice area.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Lenaanel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Easy to get to- take a local bus towards Charala from the terminalito and ask to get off at the Cascadas. (5000 COP) Entrance is 9000COP. A 25 minute walk uphill on a rock path, and as the warning sign says at the bottom, no high heels. It is a bit of a climb but there is quite a bit of shade. The falls are somewhat spectacular in the setting especially if you have not seen a waterfall before. You can swim in the pool below the falls with the water temperature about 20 Celcius. Some folks have rigged ropes to rappel down but it was not being used when I was there. There is a restaurant and shop at the enterence where you eat or buy drinks. So, something to do in an afternoon but not worth organizing your whole day to see the falls

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Kikoenmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

We arrived by public bus from San Gil at 10 am.....not the earliest but we could not believe we were alone in such a beautiful spot...so much that we swam naked in the cool and refreshing water after climbing up to the mid section and back again.....been to many waterfalls including Hawai'i and Nicaragua....really worth the 30 minute climb.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank christophekP6235QD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cascada de Juan Curi also viewed

San Gil, Santander Department
San Gil, Santander Department
 
Guadalupe, Santander Department
San Gil, Santander Department
 

Been to Cascada de Juan Curi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing