We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and harmony”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chateau de Mazeres

View of the swimming pool over the jacuzzi.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the swimming pool over the jacuzzi.
the overview of Chateau de Mazères The Gite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
View of the swimming pool over the jacuzzi.
the overview of Chateau de Mazères
The Gite
The entrance to our property
Our 2 Peacocks before they flew off  with view of the grange - the Gite is to the right.
Kitchen/Dinning room open plan viewed from the terrace.
Kitchen/Dinning room open plan viewed from the terrace.
Lounge with TV, DVD Player, Google Chrome Cast and wood stove viewed from the terrace.
Lounge with TV, DVD Player, Google Chrome Cast and wood stove.
Viewed from the lounge giving access to1st floor, also kitchen & downstairs utility room.
staircase
upstairs bathroom
Bedroom 3 with spare single bed
Bedroom 3 with spare single bed
Bedroom 2, children's bedroom sleep 3 - one on top and double below, en route to master bedroom.
Bedroom 1.
Bedroom 1.
Swimming pool with parasols and sun loungers
swimming pool electric security cover
some of the bikes to use
view from the South West
Full size Badminton court, Basket ball, Table Football, Darts and Jumping Stilts
Morning view towards the East
Magnificent Fortified church 11th Century
overview
Visible from our house, Chateau Montus's wines gently mature in oak barrels.
Local Vide Grenier (car boot sale) held in our Hamlet as well as our court.
During the Vide Gernier there is entertainment
View towards the swimming pool and pool house
Croquet Lawn (Tennis Court Size)
Just some of our animals
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Castelnau-Riviere-Basse, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Heidi B
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and harmony”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed in the gite for 3 days, and we regretted that we couldn't stay longer. Just looking at the map the place could seem a bit lonely, but instead it was the perfect place for a relaxing holiday. Lovely scenery and lovely hosts who will do all they can to make you feel at home. Access to the pool and jacuzzi was fantastic. If you like animals, you can enjoy watching horses and laying hens, and they also have cats and a friendly dog called Charlie. If you have a car with you, a nearby village is easily accessible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quietness and the nature
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2015
Thanks you for your nice comments, it was great to host you and your friends. Warmest regards Richard & Else
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle A
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Fantastic and peaceful”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were a group of 5 staying in the Gite at this wonderful place. Everything worked well, the rooms were very nice, the spacious garden was amazing, the swimming pool and the peaceful surrondings likewise. In the mornings the cock woke us up, just charming. The hosts took very well care of us, and we would absolutely like to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Thanks you Helle and gang, great to have had you visiting and welcome back anytime. Regards Richard and Else
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debdiana
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gite in La Belle France profonde!”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This fabulous Gite is situated within the grounds of the Chateau Mazere.If you like staying in a charming,peaceful place which oozes history,then this is for you.Our hosts Richard and Else were quite wonderful looking after our needs,Richard is especially knowledgeable about the surrounding country and also the Madiran wines for which the area is famous!
The Gite we stayed in is very spacious with a large sitting room leading on to an amazing modern kitchen diner.I say amazing because it is equipped with everything you may need for your stay.The two double bedrooms are enormous and there is a set of bunk beds in an adjoining corridor annexed to one of the bedrooms which is ideal for children or an overflow for guests.
We were able to use the swimming pool and also the drinks house next to the pool.There is a large private patio area outside the Gite with table and chairs for summer dining and your own barbecue..The highlight of our stay was going with Richard and his family to the nearby river where they take their horses for a swim!This is a magical place for any child to stay,they may even be allowed to help pick up the newly laid eggs from chickens that are roaming freely!
Book quickly to enjoy a fabulous holiday with the friendliest of hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the Gite and the friendliness of our hosts.
Liked least: We liked everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Dear Diana and Geoffrey, wonderful to have had you visiting our gite and to enjoy the area and our property. Looking forward to your return visit next year. Kind regards Richard & Else
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenWo...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful stay in beautiful location”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed with Richard and Else, Emma, Marcus and Charlie (the dog) for two weeks in August 2015. There were seven of us, although two came for just a week, and we enjoyed it as much as any holiday we have ever been on. The house was in excellent condition, although seven of us stretched it a bit. The setting was beautiful, only a few hundred yards from the Adour River, where, memorably, we swum with the hosts' horses. It was very well equipped and our family loved the pool, the badminton and the croquet in particular.

We had not visited the area before, but the proximity of the Pyrenees meant we could spend a wonderful day in the mountains very easily - the cable car to the top of the Pic du Midi de Bigorre was terrifying but the views extraordinary. There are also many local spots which have wonderful panoramic views of the Pyrenees - on a good day!

Richard and Else were terrific hosts and nothing seemed too much trouble. We would love to visit again, family circumstances permitting, but it will always remain one of our very best family holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, the hosts, the area, the pool, the badminton, the croquet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
We can truly say that the Wookey family are wonderfully positive, friendly and enthusiastic. We would love to have them back again, but not least to see if could have a rematch at badminton and win back our self esteem! A fun family, hopefully we see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William L
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peace”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a wonderful spot. Very peaceful countryside. Charming hospitable family in main house make one feel very welcoand who allow use of their lovely pool. This area makes the Pyrenees accessible, Pau is an hour away, and the French coast near Biarritz and San Sebastian just over the border in Spain not too far away by car. A great area also for cycling.
Certainly worth a return visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just the tranquility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Great family, welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing