We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chateau de Mazeres

View of the swimming pool over the jacuzzi.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the swimming pool over the jacuzzi.
the overview of Chateau de Mazères The Gite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
View of the swimming pool over the jacuzzi.
the overview of Chateau de Mazères
The Gite
The entrance to our property
Our 2 Peacocks before they flew off  with view of the grange - the Gite is to the right.
Kitchen/Dinning room open plan viewed from the terrace.
Kitchen/Dinning room open plan viewed from the terrace.
Lounge with TV, DVD Player, Google Chrome Cast and wood stove viewed from the terrace.
Lounge with TV, DVD Player, Google Chrome Cast and wood stove.
Viewed from the lounge giving access to1st floor, also kitchen & downstairs utility room.
staircase
upstairs bathroom
Bedroom 3 with spare single bed
Bedroom 3 with spare single bed
Bedroom 2, children's bedroom sleep 3 - one on top and double below, en route to master bedroom.
Bedroom 1.
Bedroom 1.
Swimming pool with parasols and sun loungers
swimming pool electric security cover
some of the bikes to use
view from the South West
Full size Badminton court, Basket ball, Table Football, Darts and Jumping Stilts
Morning view towards the East
Magnificent Fortified church 11th Century
overview
Visible from our house, Chateau Montus's wines gently mature in oak barrels.
Local Vide Grenier (car boot sale) held in our Hamlet as well as our court.
During the Vide Gernier there is entertainment
View towards the swimming pool and pool house
Croquet Lawn (Tennis Court Size)
Just some of our animals
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Castelnau-Riviere-Basse, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
StephenWo...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful stay in beautiful location”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed with Richard and Else, Emma, Marcus and Charlie (the dog) for two weeks in August 2015. There were seven of us, although two came for just a week, and we enjoyed it as much as any holiday we have ever been on. The house was in excellent condition, although seven of us stretched it a bit. The setting was beautiful, only a few hundred yards from the Adour River, where, memorably, we swum with the hosts' horses. It was very well equipped and our family loved the pool, the badminton and the croquet in particular.

We had not visited the area before, but the proximity of the Pyrenees meant we could spend a wonderful day in the mountains very easily - the cable car to the top of the Pic du Midi de Bigorre was terrifying but the views extraordinary. There are also many local spots which have wonderful panoramic views of the Pyrenees - on a good day!

Richard and Else were terrific hosts and nothing seemed too much trouble. We would love to visit again, family circumstances permitting, but it will always remain one of our very best family holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, the hosts, the area, the pool, the badminton, the croquet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
We can truly say that the Wookey family are wonderfully positive, friendly and enthusiastic. We would love to have them back again, but not least to see if could have a rematch at badminton and win back our self esteem! A fun family, hopefully we see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William L
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peace”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a wonderful spot. Very peaceful countryside. Charming hospitable family in main house make one feel very welcoand who allow use of their lovely pool. This area makes the Pyrenees accessible, Pau is an hour away, and the French coast near Biarritz and San Sebastian just over the border in Spain not too far away by car. A great area also for cycling.
Certainly worth a return visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just the tranquility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Great family, welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinBre...
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped Gite situated in a Beautiful property and surroundings”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The Owners (Richard and Else) were really friendly and helpful. Polite Children. The advice on the local area was excellent including some assistance choosing the best value /quality Madiran Wines. The location is quiet and the nearest shops are a bike ride away or a short car journey. Supermarkets are also a short drive and well stocked.

The Gite was well equipped with a nice BBQ area situated in the courtyard. There was also a well equipped sports and recreational area with Badminton, Table Football , Table tennis etc that kept the family well entertained when the weather was less good. Pool area was one of the best features. Really enjoyed the pizza oven ! Best Feature : Pool Area/Gym Worst: Beds maybe a little small and soft . Overall still excellent ! recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool Area
Liked least: bedding
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2015
Fabulous family, we enjoyed their stay and they most welcome back anytime. Beds are of a standard size (not king size, one is Danish made and the firmness is adjustable, the other is antique French and we will check the mattress) thank you for bringing this to our attention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“relaxing quiet week in the french countryside”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We spent a week at the Gite (Guardians house). The Gite itself is without exception the biggest and nicest holiday lets i think i have stayed in. It has everything you will need. Across the court yard is a large games room which is handy and we used a bit. The pool is very nice indeed. Unfortunately it wasn't as hot as it normally is when we were there but we still got to use it a fair bit, had we had hotter weather it would have been amazing in and around the pool.

Nice quiet area, nice places to eat and not expensive either. Richard is really knows about the local area and what is happening where, the whole family where so kind and great with us.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2015
Fabulous family enjoyed their stay and most welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camille D
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2018
Our guests were perfect. They and their children enjoyed our animals and our various facilities. They were a pleasure for us to host and they would be most welcome back anytime. Recommended to any other gite owners without reservations. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing