We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Unbelievable Experience!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mitchell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bonus Downs Farmstay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Bonus Downs is a truly unbelievable piece of living history. The Bonus Downs homestead has been lovingly restored by its owners Madonna and Lyle Connolly, who are incredibly passionate about this beautiful property. Their stories about how they restored the main home and Jackaroo quarters are truly inspirational. It is a real history lesson, learning about Bonus Downs's first settlers and also about the trials and tribulations that Madonna and Lyle, as the new settlers had to endure. We were lucky enough to find this beautiful Homestead/Farmstay many years ago and we instantly fell in love with it and also with Madonna and Lyle and we have returned many, many times. We love the fact that this is a working farm and we were lucky enough recently to witness them mustering their cattle and then weighing their wearers in readiness for sale. It was wonderful to see the relationship between them and their working dogs, they clearly have so much respect for their dogs and we were amazed to see how they work together as a team.
We travel with our van and Bonus Downs caters perfectly for caravaners. They have the most amazing Smoke House with cooking facilities, they have hot showers and toilets. If you want to visit this farm and you don't have a van, Madonna has accommodation in the cottage. Every time we visit Bonus Downs we learn something new about this property and also about life in the bush.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonusDownsFarmstay, Owner at Bonus Downs Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you for your kind words and Lyle and I just love shairing our passion and knowldege of our beloved Bonus Downs and yes our animals are our lifeblood along with our wonderful working dogs who are loved and cared for by all. Old Devil has become a big hit with everyone of late since his retirment here. We so look forward to your retrun to Bonus Downs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2016

Very hospitable hosts that have so much to share about the farms history and the difficulties faced by farmers , however , the owners poor treatment of their farm dogs , and info that dingoes/kangaroos on their property are shot with the dingo carcass hanging off the tree during our visit does not go well with comparable farms where sustainable farming practice is on display with an appreciation of the wildlife in the area which visitors can enjoy .
That is what a successful farm in 2016 looks like with visitors keen to return .

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

If you want to try out a real outback experience - approx. 600 km & 7 hours drive east of Brisbane - then try to visit Bonus Downs located in a remote area 40 km SE of Mitchell.
The place is run by Madonna and Lyle who bought it back in 1990 (after it had been uninhabited for years and totally run down). You can only say they have done a fantastic job restoring the property. You got tons of memorabilia and (if you like) you can have a guided tour of the property. Dinner and breakfast was served at the large dining table in the cottage.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jens-from-down-under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonusDownsFarmstay, Owner at Bonus Downs Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Thank you Jens and family we loved sharing bonus downs with you and hope you had a safe trip home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We camped for two nights at Bonus Downs and absolutely loved it. The history of the property is wonderful and our hosts Madonna and Lyle were lovely. They made us feel like family. I would highly recommend Bonus Downs to anyone be it campers or if you want to stay in the Jackaroos quarters.

A must see is the Ooline forest!! Well worth the drive as you step into an oasis of ancient trees that have been around for millions of years.

Even our dog made a friend for life in Devil the old Kelpie (I think).

Thanks Madonna and Lyle for a lovely few days. We will come back.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonusDownsFarmstay, Owner at Bonus Downs Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Thank you for your very kind words and Lyle and I also enjoyed the company of you and Kylie and Charlotte. Devil is becoming quite a hit with the tourists and loves all the attention. A bleak day here today and they are talking rain so do hope they are correct. Hope the remainder of your travels have been very memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We flew our 1949 Auster into Bonus Downs for an overnight stay on the 21/22 May 2016. I had experienced Bonus Downs and the lovely Lyle and Madonna in my role as Aide to the Queensland Governor so I knew what I was getting into and I knew it was always an experience I wanted my partner to see for himself. Now he can't stop talking about it! It was so lovely to see them again and catch up; but what was poignant was the resilience and tenacity of this great couple, their son, Grant and daughter, Gabrielle and their families - in keeping this wonderful place going and making the most of what they have - even during the difficult drought they have faced. You can read about it in the papers, you can hear what people tell you but if you don't experience it for yourself you will never know what you've missed out on if you don't get out to this great outback of ours and experience the generosity and spirit of such wonderful families like the Connolly's. So much to do and see at this wonderful place and such wonderful, gracious hosts in including visitors in all their farm has to offer - you'll be amazed! The history inside that house is absolutely incredible; the charm and pride at being careful custodians is so admirable. Go and visit; take some friends; contribute to their vision and dream - you won't go wrong! Phil and Kerri

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrilbeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonusDownsFarmstay, Owner at Bonus Downs Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Such lovely kind words and it is people like you and Phil that we love sharing Bonus Downs with,your company was so enjoyable and your understanding and appreciation of the outback is so appreciated. Can't wait until your next visit in your amazing plane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bonus Downs Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonus Downs Farmstay

Address: 4566 Mitchell-Bollon Road, Mitchell, Queensland 4465, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mitchell
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fall in love with the Queensland Outback at Bonus Downs Farmstay. We offer an outback historical and accommodation experience. Accommodation in Historical Jackaroo's quarters or BYO Swag in the Shearers Shed. Caravans, Camping, RVs all welcome. Take one of our tours where we share the past of the magnificent Bonus Downs homestead and Jackaroo's Quarters, join in our activities or simply relax. Whatever your interest, there is something for everyone at Bonus Downs. Situated 630 kms west of Brisbane (about 7 hours drive) it offers good old fashioned country hospitality in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bonus Downs Farmstay Mitchell, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing